We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect wine bar”

Le Volet qui Penche
Ranked #6 of 98 Restaurants in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Apres 20h00 uniquement sur reservation Le midi: plat du jour 9,70 euros avec un verre de vin(10 cl) offert. Le soir : un menu unique qui change tous les jours, (entree, plat du jour, dessert) 18,00 euros
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Perfect wine bar”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

What a wonderful place to learn more about French wines.Pierre-Henri, the owner, was thoughtful and helpful in directing us to the wine right for us. The wines are reasonable and selection good. For dinner there is a choice of one pre-fixed menu, with or without wine pairing, and charcuterie. The setting is relaxed, informal and friendly. We stopped back the next afternoon for just a glass of wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ewlibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    156
    43
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice little spot with excellent wine choices and an owner that will steer you in the right direction.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a wine store that serves charcuterie as well as one choice of prix fix meal. While this would normally turn me off in this case it was a great experience.
The entree was a herring salad which they happily served to me sans herring, the main was coq au vin which while it wasn't the classic preparation was very delicious, fresh and homemade and the dessert was a delicious tart. The owner is a lovely man that will listen to what kinds of wine you like and then steer you to a bottle or two to choose from. We scored big time with a Grand Cru Burgundy which would probably couldn't afford to buy at a restaurant at home. They have a delightful British waitress who couldn't have been nicer. Overall a find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feener65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent wine bar - and they serve food too”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is the place to go to enjoy good wine, reasonably priced and with local fare served with it. One bottle we ordered was slightly off, it was removed and replaced with no fuss at all. The prices are written on the bottles, the markup is extraordinarily modest, particulary for the better wines. And the food is perfectly ok. A very nice long evening at a very reasonable cost.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tobben_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
1 review
“The Jewel of Bayeux”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was the unexpected surprise during our stay. Pierre-Henri is the best. The food was great and the wine better. A must try when there; make reservations and order early or you might miss the fresh fare for the day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burien, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lucky us!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We visited this restaurant in June and it was a memorable experience. I had researched some restaurants in Bayeux and jotted little notes about them in case we found the time to seek them out after a busy day. After a little mis-direction we found the little place and the gentlemen inside said he wasn't open for 15 min or so. We stood there deciding whether to keep walking and he popped right back out and said "the chef is ready, so come on in". Our party of 6 had a nice big table and he (owner) explained that it would be a fixed menu with wine and asked if that was ok. Yes! It was a nice relaxed atmosphere and we enjoyed speaking with the waitress and host. The food and wine pairings were wonderful and the evening was a special treat for our family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BTownBackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Volet qui Penche also viewed

 

Been to Le Volet qui Penche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing