We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in beautiful Bayeux”
Review of Hotel Mogador

Hotel Mogador
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mogador
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in beautiful Bayeux”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We found recommendations for this hotel on tripadvisor, and were not disappointed. The hotel was as advertised -- a good value in a great location. This was our first time in Bayeux, and we found it very easy to locate the hotel; the street signage is good, and our GPS led us right to the hotel. The owners were friendly, and did offer advice on how to get around. We were in Bayeux to visit the D-Day beaches and other sites, and to see Mont St. Michel. Bayeux is a wonderful "home base" for this, and the Hotel Mogador is not a bad place to stay. The breakfast was standard French fare (and not all that great) (breakfast at a local cafe was much better); the bed was fine, the room clean, the bathroom bare-bones but clean, and there was Wifi, but it was episodic and slow. The best part? The Saturday farmers' market in the plaza right outside the hotel was fabulous! There is ample free parking about a block away, plenty of restaurants in the city (all within walking distance). The cathedral is one of the loveliest ones we've seen in our travels. I can recommend the Hotel Mogador without any qualms. (Next time, I'm not sure we would stay there, simply because we might want to check out another hotel, but we would certainly consider it.) Good value for the price.

Room Tip: I would request a room in the back if I returned; the rooms on the plaza are lit throughout the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elinorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    40
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
36
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at this 2-star hotel for 11 nights in June 2013. The room was a bit dated, but very clean and the owners were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well situated, with free (and safe) parking nearby. Very well situated for visiting the D-Day landing beaches, museums and military cemeteries as well as the other tourist sites (e.g. Bayeux itself, Caen). We even went to Mont St. Michel from here (about 1 hour 25 minutes away). The breakfasts were good and gave us a good start for our days. The only negative we have is that the wifi was on the slow side. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ottawa_travellers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and were very impressed with the personal attention provided by the owners. They own and operate this small hotel and do make you feel comfortable. We got the recommendation for this hotel from the Rick Steves guidebooks and were happy with the price and locale. Fancy, it was not - but we were not there for fancy. We were gone all day and only back in the room to sleep. The bathroom had been updated and included a bathtub - a definite plus.

The breakfasts were standard - croissants, bread, juice, cereal, fruit and cheese.

Saturdays bring a farmer's market right across the street - don't miss this as there are wonderful assortments of animals, cheese, meat, flowers, bread - this market will be a memorable part of your stay in Bayeux.

From the hotel you can walk to Notre Dame, the Bayeux Tapestry, and all places within the town - recommend walking to the Normandy Museum though, especially on cold April days - Normandy coastline is definitely breezy, so bring a jacket or warm sweater!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here after experiencing the overwhelming hustle and bustle of Paris. The owners are exceptionally friendly and speak English and French very well. I enjoy speaking French and they are very patient and willing to speak with me whereas so many people simply switch to English on me.

The rooms are very nice for the price. At 60 Euros per night we got a charming double room with two comfy beds, a TV, and WiFi. The hotel is situated right in the middle of town and there is plenty of parking for anyone with a car. If you need a tour or any service booked, the front desk is always more than happy to do it for you.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. If you're looking for an affordable place to stay in the very charming town of Bayeux, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bcoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We recently stayed there to visit the World War 2 sites at the beaches of Normandy. This is a very nice place to use as a base for that, but it's also in a beautiful city as well.

The hotel itself is well marked by signs to help you find the place. The building appears fairly old, but it's quaint. The rooms are somewhat sizeable by European standards. The rooms seems fairly clean, but everything in it is starting to show age. And the pillows are a little odd, since our double bed just had one, very long pillow rather than two pillows. But other than any of that, the hotel was more than adequate, and the price is great. The hotel staff was also very friendly and were able to point us in the right direction as far as sightseeing went.

I'd reccomend this place and I'd definitely go back. It's more than adequate, especially if you're just sleeping there. If you're looking for a glitzy hotel, then you need to keep on looking.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dude714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Sept 2010 - My husband and I stayed at Hotel Mogador for two nights - Sept 9 & 10 and found it to be a super value -- a hotel that truly stands out from the crowd with personal service, very clean accommodations and a lovely "Petit Dejeuner" in the morning. The owners Daniel and Joelle Mencaroni are very helpful, gracious and you can tell this hotel is run with loving care by them. Daniel speaks English. The rooms are basic, clean and quiet. The only change I would make is to add Wifi as there is no internet connection. The hotel is about a five minute walk to the beautiful Bayeux Cathedral as well as to the Bayeux Tapestries. We also used this as a base to explore the D-Day beaches along the Normandy Coast. On Saturday mornings the delightful "farmers market" is in the "Place" just outside the door with booths of wonderful cheeses, fruits, salami and meats -- all the great food that France is famous for. Reserve ahead -- this hotel is popular!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redhead21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Location: central, you can park your car in front of the hotel for free, if there's no place, there's a large car park across the street (nights free)
Hotel: quiet, basic but clean, owner is extremely pleasant, we hadn't booked and we asked to see the room, just to make sure it was clean. Good and filling French breakfast: croissants, baguette, jam, coffe/tea, juice.
No lift

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Saint-Patrice
Le Saint-Patrice
#11 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.4 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mogador

Property: Hotel Mogador
Address: 20 rue Alain Chartier, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mogador Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing