We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B in a historic building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Logis Les Remparts - Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in the Bourbesneur suite, which had lovely furnishings and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast at the dining table in the adjacent shop was typically French, with a selection of breads, assorted jams and apple juice from the shop as well as yogurt. Plenty of coffee too. The location is perfect, on peaceful Place Charles de Gaulle where we picnicked on bread and cheese from the Saturday market and calvados from Francois' shop. Easy walking distance to the many excellent sites in Bayeux.

I was a bit concerned because of several complaints I had read on this site about various aspects of the stay, but we found no difficulties at all. Good wi-fi connection in an 18th century building with two-foot-thick walls--come on, what do you expect? Just sit near the door and it is fine. Signs asking not to slam doors in a family home or a request not to eat in a room filled with antiques do not seem unreasonable. But if these are not to your liking, you are probably better off in the Holiday Inn down the road.

Also, Christele's hospitality was excellent. I emailed earlier in the day to let her know of a later than planned arrival and it was no problem. When unexpected circumstances required that we stay longer, Christele was able to accommodate one additional night and helped us to find the B&B we stayed in the second additional night. She also helped navigate phone calls for other arrangements that my primitive French couldn't handle. We greatly appreciated her help.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Logis Les Remparts - Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while we toured around Bayeux. The B&B is an old but very well kept building. Decor was very charming, beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, and Christele was a marvelous host!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Spent three nights here in mid April while touring the Normandy area and Mont. St. Michel, the owners were welcoming and warm. When they created this B&B they did not destroy all of the old world charm. The door and locking system are a step back in history, the stone stairs leading to the second floor are interesting there are lots of interesting details in this very old building. Teh room was comfortable and quite nice.Overall a great experience, in a very interesting town. The B&B is centrally located in Bayeux, easy to walk to several restaurants and the Cathedral. Easy to park your rental car..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayak126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while touring the Normandy beach memorials. Bayeux is a terrific home-base as you are a short drive to the major memorial sights in the area. The B&B is centrally located in the town, overlooking Charles de Gaulle park and a short walk to the cathedral, tapestry and restaurants. Francois met us upon arrival and helped to carry our luggage up the marble staircase, Rooms are huge and beautifully decorated. Breakfast is an additional cost, but an economical choice when compared to similar offerings in town. Stephanie's coffee will help you start your day, and croissants, breads, cereal, yogurt and fantastic apple juice/jelly are also provided. The adjoining calvados/cider cellar is beautifully appointed, and the offerings are delicious--spring for the smooth 12-year calvados--you won't regret the choice!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, all good choices.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotter428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here as a base for the Normandy beaches and Mont Saint-Michel. What a delightful, charming place! We were met by Christele and her husband Francois with a smile and warm welcome. We were shown to the top room, in the attic, which was brightly decorated and nice and light with the windows. It was huge, with some nice furniture, and comfortable bed. Wifi was a bit patchy, but otherwise fine. Breakfast was great and parking free and plentiful.

It's located on the edge of a big park just on the edge of the old town, so really conveniently located to walk to restaurants and sights like the Bayeux Tapestry. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank empress_joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in the Bojacasse room for 3 nights, which was just beautiful. The proprietors were incredibly friendly and helpful (spoke excellent English), but did not have an overbearing presence either. The location was an easy walking distance to town attractions, but was still slightly off the beaten path, which meant very little noise from traffic or people - a definite plus! One of our favorite experiences was the traditional French breakfast. The apple juice from the family business was a special treat, and the breads/pastries were fantastic as well. The intimate atmosphere was also lovely. This was a wonderful B&B at a very reasonable price, and I would love to return again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KATIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed for four nights in October, 2013. A very convenient location for someone traveling without a car. The room was spacious, nicely furnished, and quiet. Comfortable bed but I think it had some sort of plastic covering on the mattress -- I woke up every night too hot and feeling like I was laying on an electric blanket. The pillows were not very comfortable and I should have said something as I'm sure the accommodating hosts would have remedied that. Very nice bathroom and shower. I'd like to return to this area and I would happily stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.4 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Les Remparts - Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Les Remparts - Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 rue Bourbesneur, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: £79 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the historic, old-world square, Place Charles de Gaulle, you will find this charming Bed & Breakfast : Logis Les Remparts. In the heart of the medieval city of Bayeux, the Logis des Remparts guest rooms have the charming decor of a house of character. Although constructed during medieval times, most of the home underwent remodelling during the Eighteenth Century.The house faces the celebrated Place Charles de Gaulle where the General first spoke to the population upon liberated French soil, 14 June 1944. At the Logis Les Remparts, you are at the heart of the old city, in a residential area, close to the Bayeux Tapestry, the Notre-Dame Cathedral, Old Bayeux, and more. Christele and Francois Lecornu offer you three comfortable guest rooms in which to relax in between the numerous activities offered to you by the capital of Bessin. Not far away, you will find everything you need to restore you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Logis Les Remparts - Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Les Remparts - Hotel Bayeux
Logis Les Remparts - b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing