We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, welcoming accommodation in the heart of Bayeux.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Logis Les Remparts - Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stylish, welcoming accommodation in the heart of Bayeux.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at Logis Les Remparts for 5 nights in August 2014, using it as a base to explore Normandy. It was booked solely on the strength of the Tripadvisor visitor reviews. We were not disappointed!

I can honestly say that Madame Le Cornu has done an excellent job in creating charming accommodation which is superbly located for exploring Bayeux and the Normandy coast, site of the D-Day landings. The rooms are tastefully decorated and sympathetic to the age of the property, creating a sense of warmth for the guest.

Our two room suite was the perfect place to relax after a day exploring the Calvados region. It overlooked Place Charles de Gaulle, a grassy park lined with trees and containing a beautiful central fountain (which actually worked, unlike most fountains in the UK!).

Free parking is available on the roads surrounding the park and you are never more than 2 minutes walk from the B&B if you park in this area. We never had any real problem finding a space, even in high season.

In regards to location, the Logis Les Remparts is located approximately 2 minutes walk from Notre Dame de Bayeux (Cathedral) and the same from the main shopping street/market. Even the supermarket is only a 10 minute walk. For those of you with pets, there is an English speaking vet located approximately 10 minutes walk away who is able to administer the necessary treatments for the EU Pet Passport.

To help orient guests, the proprietors have created a detailed visitors guide, giving the locations of nearby attractions and amenities. We found this to be most useful.

Some reviews have suggested that the customer service is questionable. I would disagree with that view. Often, people stay in Bed and Breakfast accommodation expecting the service to be comparable to a hotel. In a B&B, you are of course in most cases, sharing a family home and as such, the proprietors have commitments of their own which reduces the time which can be spent on the demands of guests. This needs to be taken into account when selecting a B&B over a hotel for your holiday accommodation.

It is true that the proprietors have positioned signage in the rooms to warn against certain actions. According to other reviews, some people took offence to these, however, they are polite requests and pertain to certain actions which would be detrimental to the property as a whole. Again, it must be remembered that this is a family home and lacks the commercial facilities of a hotel. Besides, a request to leave the bathroom door open to air the room after showering for example, is hardly unreasonable, it simply prevents damage to the decor.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay, we felt welcome and would happily book accommodation there again.

It is worth noting that Monsieur Le Cornu is a well regarded Fermier, in the most traditional sense. The property contains a small boutique retail outlet in which Monsieur Le Cornu offers his traditionally made organic Cidre and Calvados, made from apples taken from the family orchard in Normandy. You simply will not find a better example of Calvados or Cidre anywhere in Normandy, believe me, I tried!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    32
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We (group of 3) stayed here June 11 and 12. It is in an excellent location near the cathedral. The room was clean and neat and reasonably priced. Christele and Francois are warm, inviting and very helpful. At the time we were there France's transportation system was disrupted by strikes. Christele and Francois helped us find alternative transportation and kept our trip very nearly to our original itinerary. I will stay here again when I return to Normandy and am happy to recommend it to anyone going to Bayeux.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimball R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
460 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was a lovely bed and breakfast in a good position. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean but the bed was a little hard for our taste. We actually ended up sleeping on top of the quilt on the second night which made a big difference. The owners are lovely people who are very
happy to share information about Bayeux. This bed and breakfast is very good value for the price and I hope the owners can find a solution to make the beds more comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed in the B&B for 4 nights for the 70th Anniversary of D-Day. Great location to see sights of Normandy especially if you want to see the American, Canadian and British sides. All major attractions are less than 40 minutes aways. B&B is about 5 mins walk from Bayeux cathedral, so very central. Room was clean and looked more like an authentic french room. There was 3 in our party so we got the triple room which would be enough room for a family as it has two seperate rooms. Breakfast wasn't included in our booking but food was good and you ate in the cider shop next door. They don't have guest parking but you can park in the square in front of the B&B. Even with the Queen visiting Bayeux on 6th June and parts of the town closed off we still managed to get parking easy enough. Special mention to Christèle, our hostess who made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here a while back and we were extremely pleased. I was just reminiscing and looks this place up as we may be going back to this area and would definitely stay here again. I read a few of the reviews that were less than favorable and want to remind others that when traveling to another country, customs are different and attitudes are different from the "American way." For us, this is part of the experience of the trip. Logis les Ramparts was quite charming and the owners very accommodating and friendly. The location was ideal for any outing - either by foot or car. Hope to stay there again sometime!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank like2cnewplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Logis les Remparts and would highly recommend it. Christele and Francois were there when we arrived and helped us carry our luggage up the windy staircase to our lovely room at the very top. It was a very large, comfortable room with many nice touches. The B&B is located on a quiet street with plenty of parking but located within easy walking distance of restaurants and the sights. If you are catching a tour to Normandy the area where the buses gather is a 15 minute walk-very convenient. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the shop next store(not included) but convenient and a good value. Christele speaks beautiful English and was very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. You will not go wrong staying at this B&B.

Room Tip: Request a lower room if you are not comfortable with a lot of winding stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MavenDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at this charming guest house that is ideally located in the heart of the town. The owners were welcoming and provided a very nice breakfast (for an extra charge) which featured delicious apple juice and jellies from their shop next door. We stayed in the large, prettily decorated Bajocasse room which was equipped with a binder containing recommendations for visitors to Bayeux. The bed was comfortable and we slept very soundly. The hosts were accommodating without being intrusive. I recommend it highly to anyone looking for comfortable and reasonably priced lodging in this lovely town.

Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo and soap for the shower as these are not provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Les Remparts - Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Les Remparts - Bed and Breakfast

Property: Logis Les Remparts - Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4 rue Bourbesneur, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the historic, old-world square, Place Charles de Gaulle, you will find this charming Bed & Breakfast : Logis Les Remparts. In the heart of the medieval city of Bayeux, the Logis des Remparts guest rooms have the charming decor of a house of character. Although constructed during medieval times, most of the home underwent remodelling during the Eighteenth Century.The house faces the celebrated Place Charles de Gaulle where the General first spoke to the population upon liberated French soil, 14 June 1944. At the Logis Les Remparts, you are at the heart of the old city, in a residential area, close to the Bayeux Tapestry, the Notre-Dame Cathedral, Old Bayeux, and more. Christele and Francois Lecornu offer you three comfortable guest rooms in which to relax in between the numerous activities offered to you by the capital of Bessin. Not far away, you will find everything you need to restore you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Logis Les Remparts - Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Les Remparts - b&b
Logis Les Remparts - Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing