We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch location”
Review of Brasserie Le Maupassant - CLOSED

Brasserie Le Maupassant
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great lunch location”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife and I stopped here for lunch. The sandwiches were good, in fact, they made mine fresh. The staff was friendly and helpful and were very tolerant of our limited French. Had we been in Bayeux longer, we would have gone back for lunch and tried it for breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiverBob_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little breakfast spot”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were staying at Lion d'Or and wanted to find an inexpensive but good breakfast. We stumbled on this little gem. The breakfast was standard French food, coffee with steamed milk, crusty French baguette, jam, orange juice and a fresh croissant. The woman running the cafe was very nice and efficient. Total cost was just under 7 Euros, very fair. We will be back again in the morning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missroselyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon, uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheerful and Friendly”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

One of the cheaper places we found in The Bayeux , but there was a good selection and well priced clearly displayed specials. The food was good but what really made the establishment was the friendly staff who helped us with our questionable French and chipped in with their own questionable English; all this with smiles and laughter. A good stop-off for a reasonably priced lunch with lovely service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipstickley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“nice crepes”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

service slow for so little food. sat outside in town center. crepes good but not the best I have had. just a snack for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A good spot for breakfast”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The buffet at the Lion D'Or where my college-grad son and I were staying was overpriced and ordinary, so we set out one morning looking for breakfast. Le Maupassant isn't anything special, but the service is excellent and the food is tasty and priced right. We particularly enjoyed the ham & egg omelets and of course, the croissants (usually fresh from a local patisserie).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillCross214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Le Maupassant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing