We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dodo et Tartines
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Le Lion d'Or(Bayeux)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
20
5
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
5
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstartinesfirst morningfew minutes walksitting roombreadb byogurtisabellaprivacymuseumtour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My fiancé and I had a most enjoyable stay with Isabelle in charming Bayeux. The B&B is very centrally located, just a few minutes walk from the station, tapestry museum, and cathedral. The house itself is very nicely decorated and is devoid of the stereotypical bed and breakfast kitsch you find at other places- it is very much Isabelle's home. Our room was very nice and had a good mattress, the only downside was no sink in the room like you see in many older homes. The breakfasts that she provided were excellent, some of the best on our trip; with homemade yogurt, fresh pastries, a myriad of spreads and a few homemade treats (which we smelled wafting from the kitchen the night before).

Isabelle herself is a very funny woman, with a rather sardonic wit. Unlike some people in the hospitality industry, she doesn't put on a show and is delightfully frank at all times. She is however, not well versed in English. My fiancé, who is fluent, did most of the conversing. So if you have no knowledge of French and don't feel comfortable, you may want to consider other options. But for me, much of the fun of travel is being out of your comfort zone. If we return to Bayeux- we will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevojay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Isabelle and Henri-Jacques are the very friendly and charming hosts of a delightful, family oriented place in the heart of Bayeux. They have a variety of rooms, some are geared specifically to cater for young children, and our stay there ( though without children!) was very comfortable and extremely good value. It's like staying at a family friend's house. The breakfasts are excellent (some organic and home-made "fait-maison" items), the house is charming, their kids are gorgeous and the location is excellent. They were very patient with our fledgling french and we had a lot of fun talking with them.

They provided all the necessaries and went out of their way assisting us with laundry, info and tips to make our vacation smoothly.

Great location in a quiet corner yet very close to restaurants and central Bayeux.

I will fondly remember Bayeux in part due to the nice time spent at Dodo et Tartines. I'd certainly recommend it, especially if you have a small child or if you'd like a taste of french family life.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We came into town without reservations on a long weekend so we were stuck without any options as this was the last place available according to the TI Centre. The owners have a guesthouse across the street from their home/B&B which is where we stayed. We arranged that we would join them for breakfast at 8am. When we arrived in the morning, we were introduced to a French family and Italian couple who were staying there. I greeted the Italian couple in their language, but the hostess scolded me and said “No! We only speak French here.” We felt very unwelcomed by her from the time we arrived (although her husband seemed kinder), and I'm sure the Italians felt uncomfortable too. She didn't offer us anything that the others were eating, so we had bread and jam for breakfast that day. The next morning we went over for breakfast again at 8am but no one answered the door and all lights were off. An hour later, she came banging on our door and yelled at us for being late for breakfast. We explained what happened but she continued to blame us for keeping her waiting. We didn’t bother eating breakfast that day as we didn’t feel welcome into her house at this point. Her rudeness was incredibly off-putting and unfortunately left us with a bad memory of our time there.

Pros: Comfortable lodging, free street parking, close to downtown
Cons: The hostess' poor treatment of guests!

NO, we would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Scholarjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle R, Propriétaire at Dodo et Tartines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016
Google Translation

En fait, la question est juste de savoir sonner à une porte... et oui, dans les vielles maisons de pierre, frapper à la porte n'est pas entendu à l'intérieur, il faut sonner !! Pas grave, ce sera pour la prochaine fois...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The friendly welcome, very pleasant accommodations and delicious breakfast at Dodo et Tartines made our stay in September 2012 relaxing, memorable and enjoyable. The walk to the train station was easy. Michael & Maryann OBrien from Vancouver WA USA

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Booked overnight stay (July 9, 2012) in June 2012 for full day Normandy tour following day. Had to "double book" in Paris to keep Paris accommodation so $$$ were a concern.

Normandy tour guide recommended Dodo et Tartines. Went on line and was slightly concerned about "oldness" of accommodations, very reasonable (low) pricing compared to others in the area, and "what were we getting ourselves into?"

The owner picked us up at train station (5 min drive away) and returned us to train station following evening.

Both owners (husband & wife) were welcoming and accommodating. Room, bathroom, and sitting room (third floor) were clean and well cared for. The B&B while old truly provided an authentic experience for the Bayeux area. Breakfast was amazing (healthy and tasty) and shared with owners and another young gentleman from Poland (who stays there on every business trip).

The B&B is literally in the middle of the wonderful little town making it easy to access shops and restaurants. Owners made excellent recommendations for dinner both evenings.

We truly had no regrets and have fond memories of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaJS197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews