We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

And that's about it.

We stayed in the new annex which was very average. It had clearly been built and fitted for as little as possible. While completely devoid of any character, it was nice and new when we stayed. In a few years I think the lack of spending now will likely show.

Parking, sure they tell you that you can park for free at a lot on the edge of town; what they don't tell you is that the lot is quite a ways from the hotel and completely gridlocked all day. We just paid to park in a lot a couple of blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcfrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    465
    77
    12
    8
See reviews for
327
737
80
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

My Father, Uncle and I stayed in the annex to the rear of the hotel during our battlefield tour and our room was brand new with an excellent shower and very comfortable beds.
We also ate in the restaurant which was the best value we had on our trip.
The location is superb for the D-Day beaches, the town and the tapestry.
Would highly recommend.
Free parking at the weekend is a bonus too!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bungee-Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheep Ranch,, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I were on a tour when he was suddenly hospitalized for a week in Bayeux, France. My tour hotel was a long and expensive taxi ride to the hospital so I moved to the Hotel Reine Mathilde which is just around the corner from the hospital. The tour went on without us, and I was alone to solve all the problems. The staff were very kind and assured me I could stay as long as 3 weeks, if necessary. It was cozy and comfortable and food terrific in restaurant. They also arranged a taxi ride so we could see the Normandy beaches after my husband got out of hospital to rest, as well as a taxi ride back to Paris so we could catch our flight home at the end of the tour (that we missed). I was so grateful for the wonderful stay in Bayeux in spite of the stressful circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel certainly had a small town charm, with our top floor accommodations overlooking the little river that runs through Bayeux. We got what we were looking for: convenient location for exploring the D Day beaches, accessible parking, a comfortable bed and space for rest. Pluses: very friendly, helpful staff (shout out goes to Guillerme) and restaurant downstairs serving tasty meals.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YouDoTheDishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

At the front desk, we were met by Guillume who helped us through our 3 day stay. His sense of humor kept us in stitches and his advice was invaluable. Every morning Dauphine's smile got our day off to a fun start. Rooms, food, location, etc were all very good, but these two made our stay truly enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our recent trip to France took a downward turn when my husband ended up with a 3 day hospital stay and I ended up in a cast and on crutches. This sweet little hotel was perfectly located very much "in town" with a view of the cathedral. The staff were extremely attentive to me and my difficulties, everyone from the owners to the restaurant/bar staff were knowledgeable and accommodating. The hotel has small, extremely clean rooms with wonderfully comfortable linens. The restaurant has wonderful food beginning with breakfast and ending with late drinks and dessert. It seems that locals use the restaurant, Le Garde Manger, as well as hotel guests. Our 5 day stay required 3 room changes (all handled by the staff) because we didn't know exactly when we could leave. The only reason that the rating is "only" very good, is that the last room (#8, I believe) is over the kitchen and the noise and smells are a negative. Also the furnishings of this room are "tired" when compared to the other rooms we were in. Would I stay there again? Absolutely! Would I recommend this to friends? Absolutely! A word about Bayeux - it's a little gem. A must see while in Normandie - the cathedral and the Bayeux Tapestry are worth the stop alone. It's a friendly town with good restaurants and shopping that are easily accessible by foot.

Room Tip: Ask for street side rooms - view of the cathedral. Street side noise, but it settles down early eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a wonderful "apartment" for our stay; very clean, the king bed was perfect, especially after a long day of traveling. It is located within an easy 10 minute or so walk from the train station with light luggage. Most of the Normandy tour companies pick up directly behind the hotel, also very convenient. The restaurant food and service was excellent and very reasonable as well. Free WiFi is available in a limited area around the hotel office. This is certainly the place we would recommend for anyone staying in Bayeux.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Property: Hotel Reine Mathilde
Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reine Mathilde 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing