We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Nearby Hotels
US$733
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Lion d'Or(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Le Bayeux(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mogador(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Campanile De Bayeux(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,529)
Filter reviews
1,529 results
Traveller rating
931
495
81
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
931
495
81
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattached restaurantle garde mangerthe main hotelpost officebayeux tapestryannex buildingtrain stationfree lotd day beachestop floorfree parkingnormandy beachesmeeting pointno elevatorthe hotel staffflights of stairsstreet noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
807 - 812 of 1,529 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed one night in Bayeux prior to our Normandy beach tour. We liked everything about the hotel and our Comfort Room including the price (~120 euros/night). We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner and were able to sit outside on the patio during a perfect September evening before retiring to our room for the night.

Our room was on the top floor, which made getting luggage up the flights of stairs a little bit of an effort, but certainly not worth complaining about. As the name suggests, the room was comfortable. As it was on the top floor the ceiling was angled with the roof line and had windows (or sky lights) to allow views of the sky and the surrounding buildings.

We were out the door relatively early the next morning (7:30) to get breakfast at one of the local bakeries (the hotel serves a breakfast in the restaurant, but we wanted to walk around since we ate dinner there the night before). Then we boarded the bus for our Normandy tour with Overlord Tours (highly recommended).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMIgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Reine Mathilde is a small hotel centrally located in the heart of Bayeux. Location, in fact, is one of its strongest selling points. The hotel is located diagonally across from the rear of the cathedral, less than a five minute walk away from the church's main entrance. You can tour the cathedral in the day time, and then step over after dinner and see it all lighted up at night. The museum for the Bayeux Tapestry is only a short walk away as well. The hotel has a very nice restaurant which serves lunch and dinner, but if you need a little variety, Plenty of eating options are located nearby.

The rooms are a little spartan, but we found ours to be very comfortable and clean, with nice bedding, and a very nice bathroom with modern plumbing. Ours had a shower. We didn't have any problems, but if you do, the owner is on the premises just about all the time. He and the rest of his staff came across as very pleasant, helpful people.

There are a couple of caveats. First is the parking. It's limited. We were able to find on-street parking right by the hotel, but this meant putting enough money in at the end of your day to cover you till they stop checking the meters at night, and then getting back out there before they begin the next morning. There is free and paid parking reasonably nearby, but if you aren't packed lightly, those could be a problem. The second, caveat is very simple and very common: there is no lift. Just remember that. Third, the hotel is not air conditioned. This was not a bother for us in autumn, but during hot weather it might be a problem. The rooms on the back side of the hotel are over a small drainage canal. Mosquitoes could be an issue if you needed to keep your window open.

Our experience there was great. The place was quiet. Breakfast and the other meals were all good. At the right time of year, we would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very noisy especially in the morning as it was right on the street, could hear people using toilet, no tea or coffee making facility, room too congested and it didn't appear as shown on the internet. Better restaurants outside. The only good thing was that the concierge spoke English. Do not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel was a perfect place for our family of four (twin 10 year olds) which we used as the jumping off point for visiting the Bayeux Tapestries, WWII landing beaches, Mont St Michel and Deauville/Honfleur area. Staff very welcoming and kind. Breakfast buffet had something for everyone. The rooms were clean, simple and comfortable We appreciated having Rooms 16 and 17 which were at the top of the original building sharing a landing (we travel light and don't mind using stairs - if you have lots of heavy suitcases or need lifts then Rooms 16 and 17 are not for you). We appreciated the functionality of the hotel and it worked super well for our family.

Room Tip: The hotel directed us to the Parking next to the Parc d'Ornano where you can park for free. It is an easy walk to the hotel and if you walk through the park you see a lovely water mill too.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Based on TA reviews my girlfriend and I chose Hotel Reine Mathilde as our base for our four day side-trip to Normandy from Paris. We were extremely happy with our choice. Our reasonably-priced room was in the "new"annex (in fact a very old building newly refurbished) and was perfectly equipped for our needs. Staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay. For instance we had read on TA that it was basically impossible to arrange car-hire in Bayeux and that we would have to travel to Caen to do so. However the woman ( Daphne? -apologies if incorrect) at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful and arranged for us to hire a car -and an automatic at that (hard to hire in Europe)- from the Total gas station on the outskirts of town ( charming owner, highly recommend him, overcomes any language barriers with his magnificent gestures!).

The hotel isn't the George V but doesn't pretend to be. It's a friendly, welcoming, reasonably priced and spotlessly clean establishment and the perfect base for touring Normandy and the D-Day beaches in particular. Continental breakfast was basic but fine for us, nice strong coffee, juice and the bread and cheese was naturally delicious. Also a nice spot on the terrace for a refreshing evening glass of Norman cider before a stroll and dinner in a nearby restaurant or a lunchtime snack such as a simple, well made croque Monsieur sandwich ( mine was very tasty).

The location of this hotel can't be beaten as it is steps from the tapestry museum and a short stroll from the cathedral. It is 50 yards from Bayeux's charming Main Street and restaurants such as the outstanding La Rapiere. Parking is free in Bayeux after 7pm and very cheap during the day so no issue there for us.

I would definitely stay at the Hotel Reine Mathilde again when in the Bayeux area and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azeuro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews