We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, old, well kept property and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice, old, well kept property and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for one night with my wife on a 2 week vacation to France. Came to Bayeux as a base of operations for seeing the D-Day beaches via a guided tour, but foudn the town very charming as well.

Location - 5 stars: Right where it needs to be, on the main drive through the town. Nearby everything that you'd want (the cathedral is right across the street, restaurants all in easy walking distance, free public parking lot 5-10 minute walk). Additionaly, the area where you depart for the D-Day tours is a one minute walk, so it's very convenient.

Property - 4 stars: Have a restaurant open most of the day, which is very helpful since a lot of the cafes and restaurants were closed at different hours (either a break in the middle of the afternoon or closed on certain days). The food is pretty good at the restaurant as well, and the breakfast there was included but was pretty unremarkable in terms of options (cereal, some bakery items, yogurt). Also have an outdoor seating area as part of the restaurant which is nice, sits right along a small stream that runs through the town. The hotel itself is very charming and well appointed.

Rooms - 3 stars: Room was small but adequate. Not a room you'll want to spend a ton of time in, and though oldd was kept up well. Solid, not spectacular.

Staff - 4 stars: The staff were excellent and did everything we asked. They were friendly, helpful in booking our Normandy beach tours, and also doubled as the wait staff in the restaurant. The staff made the dual roles work though, as I wasn't waiting for assistance very long, they are attentive to both the check in desk and restaurant. Overall, made it a pleasant experience.

Other notables: There is a free public parking lot nearby, but be aware that it does fill up which means you have to look elsewhere to park. Get there early if you want a spot, noticed a lot of travelers coming in late morning or around noon and they couldn't find parking.

Overall, I really enjoyed Bayeux and this hotel helped foster that feeling. I'd highly recommend this place to others that want to stay at an affordable hotel with convenience of a restaurant so you can eat or have drinks, and in good walking distance of everything. If you are looking for the biggest and fanciest rooms, this one is not for you, but there is so much to see in Bayeux that i wouldn't recommend basing your reservations off of that fact. You should only be in the room to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Bobby P,

thank you for your detailed comment about our hotel. Bayeux is a lovely place to go and we are well located.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    441
    76
    11
    8
See reviews for
313
698
76
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

A brilliant place to base ourselves for our 4 day DDay trip.
We had room 23.... In a little annexe; a converted barn/outhouse. Really well done, comfy beds...room for us and the 3 kids in a family room. Warm ,modern.... Just brilliant. Exactly what we needed.
Friendly welcoming staff, a great little restaurant serving Nutella crepes... Job done!
Brilliantly located, beautiful spacious part of the town... A stone's throw from the tapestry and the cathedral.

Room Tip: Room 23 great family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassatunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Sassatunta,

Thank you for your welcoming comment about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in room 14 and found it to be very good with easy access to all areas, very friendly English speaking staff and excellent restaurant. I would have liked tea/coffee facilities in the room. We stayed in the annex last year and this stay was equally good.

Room Tip: There are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Patrick B,

Thank you for your nice review. Our rooms have been renovated and they are comfy and nice. Also it is true our hotel is well located, near everything.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthill, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent one nite at Reine Mathelide. The room was small, but well appointed, Modern decor with nice bathroom. Our room was on the main street but the traffic dissipated by 7pm and the room was quiet. Breakfast was simple but the food was fresh. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our only complaint was a saggy bed mattress.
Bayeux is a lovely town, easy walking, great shopping, good restaurants.
I would recommend this hotel. The convenience of Bayeux to the D-Day sites is excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear of the hotel face a canal and are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Liz W ,

Thank you for having taken time to write some words about our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the room. We do our best to be helpful and we are glad you appreciated our help.
We would be pleased to see you again,

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in June 2013. We were very pleased with our stay, and would have stayed longer if itinerary would have allowed us to!

Pros:
1) Modern decor, design, and amenities.
2) Comfortable bed.
3) Decent Shower.
4) Great Location (this hotel and Bayeux in general for D-Day sightseeing).
5) Excellent and helpful staff.

Cons:
No cons major enough to mention.

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay, We were particularly thankful for one of the staff who called the our next hotel to inform them that we would be arriving late in the evening. I wanted to tip him, but he very graciously declined the tip. We were very pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Brian H

Thank you for your review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay here. We always do our best to please our clients. It is true our hotel is near famous places to visit, our room have also been renovated which make them comfy and modern.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I spent 8 wonderful nights at this quaint little hotel in Bayeux just a short drive from all of the Landing beaches of the D-Day Normandie Invasion. It was very convenient and the people were so very nice and accommodating. I had my little dog with me and it was so pleasant. The restaurant attached to the hotel was excellent and had a good choice of meals. I looked forward each morning to the buffet breakfast to get my day started. The rooms were well kept and were exactly what I needed. I highly recommend this hotel. the proximity to all of Normandie is so convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Stuart G ,

Thank you for your welcoming review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here; in this quaint hotel located not far from the Landing Beaches, next to the Tapestry and to the Cathedrale. we are also pleased you loved our buffet composed of lots of things (eggs, croissants, bread, ...)

Merci

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, using it as a base for visiting the Normandy beaches and museums. Bayeux is a beautiful small town, very walkable, very friendly. We had room 14 on the top floor of the main building, with a door overlooking the canal. The room was comfortable and clean, although a bit small as there wasn't much space for opening up your luggage. Remember there is no elevator, so pack as light as you can. We were usually able to find a spot in the parking lot across the street, where you can park free from 5 pm until 9 am. The staff is very helpful and spoke excellent English. Others rave about the dining room, and it is fine for breakfast (hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cheese, fruit, croissants). But there are many better options for dinner.

Room Tip: Room 14 is on the top floor, is quiet and overlooks the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear ShowMeSomething,

Thanks a lot for your comment. In fact our location is perfect, near to everything. We are glad you enjoyed our open buffet, with croissants, breads, coffee, milk, and so on. It is true that there is no elevator but all the team is at the client's service to hold his luggage.


Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Property: Hotel Reine Mathilde
Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reine Mathilde 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing