We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly renovated, spacious rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Newly renovated, spacious rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I recently just got back from a month long trip in Europe. I stayed in Bayeux for 4 nights at the beginning of my trip and after coming from a cramped, minimalist room in Paris, this room was quite the opposite (and about half the price). We booked a room for 3 people and stayed in the secondary portion of the hotel across the bridge. It was quiet, very clean, and even came equipped with a towel warmer. Not to mention the bathroom was one of the biggest I have ever seen! (including all my other trips in North America).

We ate at their restaurant for almost every single meal as it was really convenient, had a homey-comfort vibe, the staff were great and attentive, and the food was always good--I think I had a crepe every single day, best I have had!

Bayeux was definitely one of the highlights of my trip and staying at this hotel played a definite role in creating a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Amanda K,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad you were pleased in our Hotel Reine Mathilde and also glad you loved our crepes!

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    441
    76
    11
    8
See reviews for
313
698
76
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is conveniently located in the village and is a good base for touring Normandy.
The rooms are small, a bit cramped, bathrooms extremely small, but the staff was very courteous and helpful.
A good breakfast was served each morning. A restaurant and bar are attached and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twebb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear twebb51,

Thank you for your comment. Yes our hotel is a good start to tour Normandy since it is located near the Cathedrale, the Tapestry of Bayeux.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night prior to a tour of the Normandy area. The hotel is very quaint and spotless, just like the town. The staff was very accommodating, both in the lead up to our stay and during it. When we arrived, they were kind enough to upgrade us at no charge from the room we booked to a suite in an outbuilding, which had been reserved but cancelled at the last minute. Our only regret is that we arrived in Bayeux and at the Hotel Reine Mathilde late in the evening and left early in the morning. If we ever find our way to the Normandy area again, and we hope to, we will spend several days at this hotel to explore Bayeux and its environs and to get to know the hotel and its staff a bit better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjbesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Google Translation
Cher cjbesq,

Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire. C'est avec plaisir que nous vous accueillerons lors de votre prochaine visite en Normandie. Au plaisir de vous revoir,

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is absolutely fabulous: I have stayed here twice. Once I was part of. A group of 14, two years ago, and stayed again in May of 2014. The hotel is spotless and staff are very hard working Over a two year period there have been changes that appear to be a concerted attempt to continuously improve this hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location with walking easy to town and the presence of the Notre Dame cathedral making for a lovely site! The value for $ is incredible and I recommend this place highly. This will be a memory of one of our best hotel stays after 12 or more trips to Europe

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Google Translation
Cher John D,

Merci pour votre commentaire laissé sur TripAdvisor. Nous avons été enchanté de vous accueillir dans notre Hôtel Reine Mathilde. Au plaisir de vous revoir,

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Knew we would have a good stay when Guillaume was so helpful on the phone with our reservation. Parked in the lot just behind the hotel off Place de Quebec. We had a lovely, large room in the annex with a sitting area and a big bathroom. The annex is behind the main hotel (just seconds away) and before you get to the parking lot. The room and restaurant were scrupulously clean. The room was quiet, the bed was big and comfy and we slept well.

We loved our dinner at the restaurant in large part because of Julien and Guillaume who cheerfully served us and kept us laughing throughout our wonderful meal. This is apple country, so try the cider and Calvados. We heartily recommend the Hotel Reine Mathilde.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXBluebonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Google Translation
Chère TXBluebonnet

Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire. Nous sommes ravis de voir que vous avez passé un bon séjour dans notre Hôtel Reine Mathilde. Au plaisir de vous revoir,

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Riene Mathilde for one night in April. We booked two rooms, a comfort room for my husband and I and a standard twin for our teen daughters. The comfort room was located in the annex in the back of the hotel. The room was clean, spacious and modern. The queen size bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern and had a large walk in shower. This room could be used as a family room if you had a younger child as it had a daybed in it. The twin room was in the main hotel, and although on the smaller side, it was also clean, comfortable and updated with modern decor and a modern bathroom with a shower. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were very good. Breakfast was the usual european fare of eggs, yogurts, pastries, fruit. The location of the hotel is excellent, right near the cathedral, tapestry and the meeting place for D-Day tours.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maniatisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Google Translation
Chère Maniatisa,

Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et nous avons été ravis de vous accueillir dans notre Hôtel Reine Mathilde. Au plaisir de vous revoir,

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent choice for American or European travelers. Among the staff there are several who speak English and other languages. The staff were clearly committed to our satisfaction, the room was spacious (for France), and the location is perfect. We slept like babies; no problems with bells as others have described. Excellent value, too.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Google Translation
Chère Katie M

Merci pour votre commentaire, nous avons été enchantés de vous accueillir à l'Hôtel Reine Mathilde. A bientôt,

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Property: Hotel Reine Mathilde
Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reine Mathilde 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing