We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 and it was the best, close to everything, the front desk was really warm and inviting people, we did some d day tours and the drop off and pick up point is a hop skip and a jump away, their food was great, we ate there a few times, even got pizza brought up to our room in the evening after we had missed our supper hour after tour, the main street is so close also. lovely, lovely town to visit!!Loved the whole atmosphere of the town of Bayeux!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelley052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear shelley052,

thank you for your lovely comment about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Bayeux is a lovely town to visit as you say, lots of places to visit.and since we are well located then it is convenient.

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel during our recent trip to Normandy. The location of the hotel is fantastic, within walking distance to the Bayeux Tapestry and Notre Dame Cathedral. The Memorial Museum is not too far away as well. There are many nice eateries nearby. The hotel restaurant is decent. My family of four stayed in their studio apartment, located right at the back of the main building. The apartment is clean and nice. The size is good for the four of us. The double bed is very comfortable. In comparison, the two single sofa beds are rather uncomfortable. They will be better if there are additional padded bedcovers or alike. Overall, a nice stay and good base for exploring the D-Day beaches.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank cheroiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear cheryl l,

Thank you for your comment about our Hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.Indeed we are not far away from The Mémorial and other places to visit such as the Cathedrale of Bayeux, the well-know Tapestry of Bayeux and so on.

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just the ideal location for touring Bayeux's picturesque downtown area; steps away to the Cathedral and the Tapestry Museum. Also, the D-Day beaches are a pleasant drive less than an hour away. Ample offsite parking within a five minute walk. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and modern (ours had a nice view of the water canal in the back); the bathroom was updated and included all toiletries/hair dryer. Did not have any food but noticed restaurant and patio area was busy throughout the day. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Adam C,

Thank you for your comment about our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Indeed we are next to Cathedrale Of Bayeux, the Tapestry of Bayeux and the beaches are not far away. We are also next to parkings which is convenient.

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This homey, comfortable hotel in the heart of Bayeux was perfect for a recent family visit. The rooms are small but adequate, and we didn't spend much time in them anyway. The staff is very welcoming, helpful, and speak English. The location is fantastic for D Day sightseeing as well as medieval sites like the Bayeux Tapestry and Cathedral. The town is lovely and easily walkable.
The rooms were reasonably priced and the restaurant was very good for dinner. The breakfast was just so so for the price, but it was convenient. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, if stairs are an issue, choose a room closer to the ground floor. No a/c, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueOlson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear SueOlson57,

Thank you for your comment about out trip. It was a pleasure to welcome you.

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is fine, clean, well appointed and worked for our stay in Bayeux. Bed was comfy, bathroom is clean and works (bring your own amenities!) and overall no complaints. No lifts so if that is an issue pack light or ask for a lower room. We drove from Brugges, Belgium which was fun and parking wasn't an issue. Probably wouldn't drive again as there is a great train station in Bayeux that is much easier! Cont. Breakfast was cheap but just ok. Fruit, cereal, croissants... Got us started however. We ate dinner there one night, be careful as Bayeux closes down in Sundays, and it was good. English pretty good at hotel desk but our waitress for dinner and breakfast didn't seem to speak it well or understand! There is a laundry mat a block away which we used!

Room Tip: No lifts, we had a comfort room with a double bed ( Room 22) which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolingGal949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear GolingGal949 ,

Thank you for your nice comment about our Hotel. It is true the train station is not far away from here and we also have parkings near our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Normandy is an area very important for its history and connections to millions of people. In my case, my father was attached to the First Army for D-Day, so my visit here was part vacation, part mission. The Hotel Reine Mathilde not only well supported my visit, but went out if it's way to make the visit enjoyable and comfortable. From reservation to correspondence to reception, the advance communication was impressive and friendly. Even more so was my arrival, the quality of room and the excellent restaurant. The rooms were tidy, welcoming, and very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless, and the shower an oasis for the weary traveler. The breakfast buffet was the best I have seen, and the wait staff, though always very efficient and busy, never failed to take the time to help and make one feel welcome. One waitress took a special interest in my visit and I appreciated her cheerful and encouraging service. The restaurant was not only busy for guests, but drew others from around other places. The Reine Mathilde is the kind of hotel one hopes to find and I appreciate the posts on Trip Advisor that helped me find it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear John M,

Thank you for you lovely comment about our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Hotel was clean and quaint. The staff was helpful and very courteous. The breakfast offered was good, not what I (as an American) am used to, but the food was good and the staff very helpful. This hotel is centrally located in Bayeaux and is easy to get out and walk around this community. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are traveling to this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skusnierek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear skusnierek,

Thank you for your comment. Yes our Hotel is well located at the centre of Bayeux. Thank you for recommending our hotel.

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: £46 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reine Mathilde 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing