We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable 3-Day Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Reine Mathilde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
FL
2 reviews
“Enjoyable 3-Day Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our room had a view of the cathedral and was a short walk to Tapestry museum and a free parking lot. Desk personnel were welcoming and helpful. D-Day tour van meeting place virtually in the back yard.
Restaurant was good for either casual dinner or just enjoying drinks in the late afternoon sun.
We learned later in our trip that the difference between a two-star and 3-star rating may be simply whether there is an elevator or not. So if climbing is not an issue, this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jmg3316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear jmg3316,

Thank you so much for your welcoming comment about our hotel. We were glad you enjoyed your stay here. Some rooms are on the floor so if there is a problem with accessibility this is not a problem. Inded, our hotel is well located: The Cathedrale of Bayeux is just in front of it and the famous Tapestry of Bayeux is just behind it . We are glad you enjoyed our nice and warm restaurant.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    435
    76
    11
    8
See reviews for
308
688
74
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was a good location, near the Tapestry, but also easy
access to go to the D Day beaches. The staff were friendly & helpful. The room was
big enough, bed was comfy, had a nice shower & the added bonus of a heated
towel bar for washing out your small items at night. Especially since we were gone
for a month. We decided to pay for the breakfast each morning & we were glad we
did. You could cook your own eggs in boiling water & they had quite an assortment
of pastries, cereals, yogurt, fruit, juices, etc. & for my brother & sister-in-law who
are coffee addicts they could have their 4-5 cups of coffee & be happy. The price
was very reasonable also & we had parking right in front of the hotel.,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Carla H,

thank you for your pleasant comment about our stay.We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. In fact the breakfast is a buffet so you can have unlimited food. The rooms have been renovated so they are comfy.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

So we stayed for 1 night only... yeah not much for bayeux. Anyway, this is a 2 star hotel but we stayed in a brand new room in the annex building.

The room was great, clean and comfortable. Bed quality great and had all the features you need from a hotel.

Staff very friendly and it had a good restaurant where you can have a nice beet or dinner.

We had breakfast which was very varied.

I really enjoyed my stay and it was excellent value for money!

Would stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guscherni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear guscherni,

thank you for your nice comment about our hotel. We are glad you spent a good time in Bayeux and in our Hotel. Our restaurant is appreciated and our breakfast too for the varied food.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 and it was the best, close to everything, the front desk was really warm and inviting people, we did some d day tours and the drop off and pick up point is a hop skip and a jump away, their food was great, we ate there a few times, even got pizza brought up to our room in the evening after we had missed our supper hour after tour, the main street is so close also. lovely, lovely town to visit!!Loved the whole atmosphere of the town of Bayeux!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelley052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear shelley052,

thank you for your lovely comment about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Bayeux is a lovely town to visit as you say, lots of places to visit.and since we are well located then it is convenient.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel during our recent trip to Normandy. The location of the hotel is fantastic, within walking distance to the Bayeux Tapestry and Notre Dame Cathedral. The Memorial Museum is not too far away as well. There are many nice eateries nearby. The hotel restaurant is decent. My family of four stayed in their studio apartment, located right at the back of the main building. The apartment is clean and nice. The size is good for the four of us. The double bed is very comfortable. In comparison, the two single sofa beds are rather uncomfortable. They will be better if there are additional padded bedcovers or alike. Overall, a nice stay and good base for exploring the D-Day beaches.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cheroiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear cheryl l,

Thank you for your comment about our Hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.Indeed we are not far away from The Mémorial and other places to visit such as the Cathedrale of Bayeux, the well-know Tapestry of Bayeux and so on.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just the ideal location for touring Bayeux's picturesque downtown area; steps away to the Cathedral and the Tapestry Museum. Also, the D-Day beaches are a pleasant drive less than an hour away. Ample offsite parking within a five minute walk. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and modern (ours had a nice view of the water canal in the back); the bathroom was updated and included all toiletries/hair dryer. Did not have any food but noticed restaurant and patio area was busy throughout the day. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Adam C,

Thank you for your comment about our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Indeed we are next to Cathedrale Of Bayeux, the Tapestry of Bayeux and the beaches are not far away. We are also next to parkings which is convenient.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This homey, comfortable hotel in the heart of Bayeux was perfect for a recent family visit. The rooms are small but adequate, and we didn't spend much time in them anyway. The staff is very welcoming, helpful, and speak English. The location is fantastic for D Day sightseeing as well as medieval sites like the Bayeux Tapestry and Cathedral. The town is lovely and easily walkable.
The rooms were reasonably priced and the restaurant was very good for dinner. The breakfast was just so so for the price, but it was convenient. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, if stairs are an issue, choose a room closer to the ground floor. No a/c, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueOlson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear SueOlson57,

Thank you for your comment about out trip. It was a pleasure to welcome you.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Property: Hotel Reine Mathilde
Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reine Mathilde 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing