We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres romantique weekend”
Review of Le Petit Matin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Petit Matin
Ranked #4 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a really lovely 2 day stay in Bayeux just prior to Christmas. The warmth and hospitality of our host, Pascal, more than made up for the grey and damp December drizzle. The B&B was superbly situated for walking into the town centre, yet quiet enough for us to feel peaceful and relaxed. There are plenty of reasonably priced bistros and eating places only 5 minutes by foot. Parking was free outside the door, so this was an added bonus for a good central location. There are many tourist attractions to see, not least of all the tapestry and the lace and china museums. The 11th century Cathedral is well worth a visit.The Petit Martin is old and beautiful preserved, and all the décor is very tastefully maintained. Our en suite room was huge, all beautiful wood floors pale blues and whites for the walls, and lovely drapes and antique furniture, all in keeping with period. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The continental breakfast was a feast, with plenty of fresh fruits and delicious coffee, lots of choice. It's only a 20 minutes' drive from Caen, so we hope to be able to return again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front, but it was still peaceful. All 5 rooms were similarly decorated and furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Le Petit Matin is a beautiful guesthouse which is conveniently located in Bayeux and is across from Charles De Gaulle Square. It has been redone and decorated with a beautiful style. The rooms are very large with seating and private bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable, chandeliers everywhere, additional seating available, and bathrooms are very clean and modern.
The city centre is 5 minutes away so you can walk to restaurants, cathedral. It is a good base to see WWII sites.
The breakfast was French fare and beautifully presented by Pascal, who must be a gourmet cook. He made special cakes or tarts for us to sample as well.
We highly recommend this guesthouse and will stay there again if we are in that area of France.

Room Tip: Rooms all have good views of square or garden in back of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Le Petit Matin met all our expectations and more: Ideally located so we could walk to all the sites in Bayeux, it is a tastefully furnished and beautifully decorated townhouse. Our bedroom was large and comfortable with a modern, spotless bathroom. The continental breakfast was really good with lots of little extras: homemade jams, creme caramels, fresh fruit, local cheese and ham etc.
Our hosts were charming and very helpful re. the places we wanted to visit and eat, but also unobtrusive. They recommended that we eat at L'Angle St.Laurent and made our booking for us and we were not disappointed. Overall it was one of the best B&bs we have stayed in and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessalawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have to dissent from the 5-star raves and agree somewhat with the review of
MBA60302 posted June 9, 2013. From the other reviews you expect total luxury, comfort and boundless service. This was not the case. The room we had on the first floor looking out onto the garden was large, but bare and spare. The floors had no rugs and were cold. There was no decor to speak of, and minimal furniture. We were here on a cool week in June. Pascal told us the heat would come up that night. It never did, on any of the 3 nights we were there. We had the same issues with the door key and latch as the other reviewer, and agree that the shower was barely functional. There was only one tiny bar of soap in the bathroom, for 2 people. The towels were few and thin, the bath was clean but charmless. We were told to make our own beds. In other words very few amenities other than a clean room. Others have loved the breakfasts. While Pascal tries, we found them uninspiring. Pascal did have good restaurant recommendations, and the price is inexpensive. But this is not the sort of transporting experience that a 5 review implies. For that experience, try the Maison du Parc in Honfleur, which is everything Le Petit Matin is not.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BronxSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Le Petit Matin was one of the very nicest B & B's we stayed in on our 30 night trip. Parking in front on the park; a beautiful home, breakfast room, and yard and garden. We were on the first floor in a large room with a deck and lounge chairs. A very relaxing and peaceful stay. The breakfast was excellent and all guests sat a large table making for enjoyable conversation. The hosts were very helpful with places to eat and things to do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Pascal and Antoine have created a wonderful B & B in a charming house in central Bayeux. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a very large bathroom. Breakfast was the perfect European-style with wonderful ham, the amzing local Camembert, croissants, etc. The location is excellent for exploring the lovely town of Bayeux and as a central location in Normandy. I can't recommend Le Petit Matin enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddiesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent three nights at Le Petit Matin as part of our visit to see the D-day landing sites. While there we spent part of two afternoons in the back garden and were served fresh crepes to accompany the wine we drank while we were swapping garden tips with Antoine. It really was like a family visit. Others have mentioned the great recommendations for eating and sightseeing and that was true for us also. If you come to Bayeux, stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Matin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Matin

Address: 9 Rue des Terres Place Charles de Gaull, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: £84 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our House This is the second adventure for our Bed and Breakfast 'Le Petit Matin' in this beautiful town of Bayeux. Originally located on 'rue Quincangrogne' for 8 years, we decided to move to our new home that offers more spacious and comfortable guest rooms. Located in the heart of the historic town of Bayeux, on the 'Place Charles de Gaulle' planted with 150 lime trees and classified a 'Natural Monument' in 1932, 'Le Petit Matin' welcomes you warmly. For us, morning is an important time of the day (hence the name of our bed and breakfast!), Too often sacrificed. We therefore wanted to ensure our guests experienced a truly memorable moment, full of tranquillity and authenticity, around a hearty breakfast in the beautiful and completely renovated building dating back to the late 17th and 18th centuries. The house is located next to the old Bayeux porcelain factory which has been run by three successive families (Langlois, Gosse and Morlent). We offer four guest rooms; each carefully decorated and personalized on the 1st floor of our house. We have attached particular importance to comfort, decoration and to our garden. Dates available on August, September and October directly on our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Petit Matin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Petit Matin Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing