We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Petit Matin
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$730
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Bayeux(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$161
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$138
US$134
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Lion d'Or(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Campanile De Bayeux(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Reine Mathilde(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
233
19
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
19
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquicheb bplace charles de gaullerecommend lechocolate moussebonbonsde merbon bonhappy guestsproviding suggestionsstreet parking in frontd day beachesrooms are spaciousbeautiful househome madecobblestone streetsseparate entrance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We should have written this review 9 months ago, but better late than never..... And we have complete confidence that Pascal and Antoine would uphold the wonderful qualities that make this one of the most enjoyable B&Bs one could stay at.

First a little about your reviewers :) We are a couple in our early 40s, and have travelled extensively through work and business. Also, we typically don't stay at B&Bs. This is because they can be variable in quality. In a smaller place like Bayeux, however, hotels are spotty and overpriced. So, we researched here, and so glad we did.

We stayed in late May 2013.


PROS:

- LOCATION - This is situated overlooking a wonderful large park. A 5-20 minute walk to the town centre, depending on how many times you stop to read, take photos, and appreciate this lovely town. It probably took us 1-hour our first walk :)

Also, there is easy on-street parking right in front.

- BUILDING & ROOM - This is a lovely building with a beautiful foyer and staircase leading to the second storey where the guest rooms are.

We stayed in the "Gris Souris". A fantastic choice. At the end of the hall.
- VERY large - There is plenty of room to out you luggage. You will probably not find a larger guest room in France ;)
- Very, very tasteful, modern decoration blended with old world styles, spacious and bright (high ceilings) and large windows to both the backyard and the front(street and park - which are quiet)
- again large bathroom. How often do you get that in Europe! Strong, warm shower.
- good wifi in room

- BREAKFAST - was not extravagant, but it very good and got you filled, if you wanted that.

- HOSPITALITY - Pascal was a perfect host, getting is settled with a few tips for our stay. He didn't overchat, but instead provided some perfect, lovely conversations. He didn't speak much English, as I recall, but that may have been that my wife speaks French so we stuck with that.

- VALUE - Very, very good. Much better than any hotel in Bayeux and you get more.


CONS:

Nothing really worth criticizing.

Because of the large, spaciousness of the room and our time of year, the room was a little on the chilly side, but that is seeking perfection.

SUMMARY: Absolutely the perfect choice for a stay in Bayeaux, with the charm and comforts at a very reasonable price. Recommended without hesitation.

GlobalTime

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GlobalTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This review is long overdue. We vacationed in Normandy in September 2013 fulfilling a life long goal to visit the World War II memorials and landing beaches. We spent one night at Le Petit Matin. We found the room to be extemely comfortable and the breakfast wonderful. The owners have taken pains to restore this house to its current grandure. Pascal was very welcoming and provided a wonderful dining recommendation. We particularly like that we could walk to all the sites in Bayeux. The Cathedral is breathtaking. We hope that we will be able to return to Bayeux in the future and would definitely stay at Le Petit Matin again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a really lovely 2 day stay in Bayeux just prior to Christmas. The warmth and hospitality of our host, Pascal, more than made up for the grey and damp December drizzle. The B&B was superbly situated for walking into the town centre, yet quiet enough for us to feel peaceful and relaxed. There are plenty of reasonably priced bistros and eating places only 5 minutes by foot. Parking was free outside the door, so this was an added bonus for a good central location. There are many tourist attractions to see, not least of all the tapestry and the lace and china museums. The 11th century Cathedral is well worth a visit.The Petit Martin is old and beautiful preserved, and all the décor is very tastefully maintained. Our en suite room was huge, all beautiful wood floors pale blues and whites for the walls, and lovely drapes and antique furniture, all in keeping with period. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The continental breakfast was a feast, with plenty of fresh fruits and delicious coffee, lots of choice. It's only a 20 minutes' drive from Caen, so we hope to be able to return again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front, but it was still peaceful. All 5 rooms were similarly decorated and furnished in the charming character of the house.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Le Petit Matin is a beautiful guesthouse which is conveniently located in Bayeux and is across from Charles De Gaulle Square. It has been redone and decorated with a beautiful style. The rooms are very large with seating and private bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable, chandeliers everywhere, additional seating available, and bathrooms are very clean and modern.
The city centre is 5 minutes away so you can walk to restaurants, cathedral. It is a good base to see WWII sites.
The breakfast was French fare and beautifully presented by Pascal, who must be a gourmet cook. He made special cakes or tarts for us to sample as well.
We highly recommend this guesthouse and will stay there again if we are in that area of France.

Room Tip: Rooms all have good views of square or garden in back of house.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Le Petit Matin met all our expectations and more: Ideally located so we could walk to all the sites in Bayeux, it is a tastefully furnished and beautifully decorated townhouse. Our bedroom was large and comfortable with a modern, spotless bathroom. The continental breakfast was really good with lots of little extras: homemade jams, creme caramels, fresh fruit, local cheese and ham etc.
Our hosts were charming and very helpful re. the places we wanted to visit and eat, but also unobtrusive. They recommended that we eat at L'Angle St.Laurent and made our booking for us and we were not disappointed. Overall it was one of the best B&bs we have stayed in and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessalawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews