We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, very friendly, if just a little basic.”
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We visited Le Bayeux in June 2013 and stayed here for eight nights. The only delay in posting this review is that I mistakenly thought I had already done so.

Plus points:
Good, quiet yet very convenient location, easy parking nearby (June) despite being close to the famous tapestry.
Very friendly and helpful welcome and reception staff
Honesty box system for in hotel drinks and snacks - better and more sociable than the usual tiny minibar.
Large comfortable bed.
Small desk and chairs.
Clean and hospitable.
Adequate if small bathroom.
Pleasant breakfast room with good, basic choices.

Negative points:
Small room, only a couple of feet clearance from end of bed to wall.
Long corridor outside with noisy, echoing door closures at times.
Vinyl not carpetted bedroom floor magnifies and echoes exterior noise

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ath75t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear ath75t, thank you for choosing The Hotel Le Bayeuxal for your recent stay in Normandy. We are sorry to hear that you felt a little disturbed by theexterior noise, we really apologize for the inconvenience. Hoping to have the opportunity to host you soon again. Kind regards Your Hotel Le Bayeux Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Although we've rated this hotel as average, it was high average - clean, well-positioned to the city center, moderately priced. It's a quality budget hotel with IKEA-esque furniture (although beds were comfortable). The windows have sheer curtains, so be mindful if lights are on at night (most of the hotel rooms appear to be ground-level). The front desk staff were very friendly and provided helpful recommendations for making the most of our time in Bayeux. The hotel breakfast in Bayeux was good, including eggs and bacon in addition to the standard pastry/cheese option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ContinentalWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel was clean and within walking distance of the town. They don't provide top sheets and they do not have air conditioning or fans. Couldn't sleep. I also had booked through Priceline and ended up with the worst room (#22 next to the morning breakfast nook). It was noisy real early in the morning. I will find a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 22 or in the summer. I was here the end of September and it was hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Irene P, thank you for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in Normandy. We are sorry to hear that you felt a little disturbed by the noise during breakfast and we apologize for the inconvenience. We would be delighted to welcome you back soon again and will assure you that next time the service will be perfect! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I cannot rate the hotel itself because we never actually stayed there. We did have confirmed reservations for a September 2013 visit. The reservations were made in March 2013. The hotel cancelled our reservations in early August. We were placed in a very awkward position and wound up staying just outside of the town center...requiring a substantial walk to everything.

Bottom line: Nice people (they tried to help find reservations elsewhere); really bad form cancelling on short notice.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank silverspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Excellent location, within walking distance of the Bayeux Tapestry, War Museum, the Cathedral and many restaurants for dinners. Rooms were excellent and very clean. We arrived early afternoon and were greeted as if we were long lost friends returning for a second visit. breakfasts are basic, but plentiful. Scrambled eggs every morning could do with a change occasionally, but was filling and there was plenty of it. The staff were great and very helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage, downstairs rooms are far better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Excellent Location and very clean hotel realistically priced, good location for the Tapestry and the War Museum, the location presents a moving experience for anyone with the history of the Normandy Landings at the forefront of the visit

Room Tip: Excellent location and realistically priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We arrived at the hotel very tired and received a very warm welcome. Rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was the best we had on our trip as they provided American type food and plenty of it. The hotel has a computer and wifi. The location is great for going to the beaches and also very close to the main street in town. Very charming town!

Room Tip: We asked for twin beds to give us a little more room. Very pleased with the beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: £44 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing