We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay”
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Good Stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Front desk was helpful with parking and room was good for the price. Good central location. All in a good experience. We enjoyed the coffee, espresso machine at breakfast. Room was basic, but comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johningram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    437
    144
    38
    14
See reviews for
419
465
76
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel, and were very pleased. The location is perfect for those planning to go to the Normandy area, and who like to be close to the things to visit in Bayeux such as the Tapestries. Rooms are large with one queen bed and also bunk beds for children. Baths are very efficient and had hair dryiers, showers, etc. The staff at the hotel is very accommodating, eager to assist one with any questions about the sites to see in the area, and couldn't be more pleasant. The manager and owner are both on duty most of the time, and are very helpful with touring information.The buffet breakfast was the best of our trip to France. We had a car while there, and enjoyed driving around the beautiful French countryside. Since we were going to Normandy, this was the best place to stay as it's not far from the D Day beaches. Highly recommend. Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same - very large with one window that looked out over green fields...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hello newroads, Thanks for taking time to post your review of our hotel. We do appreciate all the great comments about the hotel and our location. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff and OUR BREAKFAST. I have shared your kind words with them.I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again. The Hotel Le Bayeux Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel has many strong points- extremely friendly and helpful English-speaking staff, convenient location to Bayeux sights, easy on-street parking, clean rooms, and many options on the breakfast buffet.

We typically stay in more interesting and/or upscale boutique hotels. The room was spotless but very, very basic. Although we were a little sorry that we hadn't stayed someplace a bit more charming or elegant, we do give this hotel high marks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAVoyager1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked the Hotel Le Bayeux rather late in our planning, after we decided to stay in Bayeux vs. Caen. We were not disappointed. Excellent location, within walking distance of most major sights in Bayeux, including the cathedral and tapestry museum. Very clean and roomy. The toilet was in a small separate room/closet from the shower and sink, but no problems. The beds were comfortable. The manager spoke very good English and was very helpful in securing a tour of the Normandie beaches. Moreover, the entire staff was very helpful in providing directions and support in English. The hotel appeared to cater to Americans and we met many in the lobby, where people sat and shared a story or a drink. The hotel had a bar area where help-yourself drinks of various types were available for a small fee. The hotel also offered breakfast daily for 10 euros each, but we opted to go out on the streets to find our breakfast. Due to the hotel's great location, there are many restaurants and coffee houses nearby. Would highly recommend the Le Bayeux for anyone visiting Normandie.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We visited Le Bayeux in June 2013 and stayed here for eight nights. The only delay in posting this review is that I mistakenly thought I had already done so.

Plus points:
Good, quiet yet very convenient location, easy parking nearby (June) despite being close to the famous tapestry.
Very friendly and helpful welcome and reception staff
Honesty box system for in hotel drinks and snacks - better and more sociable than the usual tiny minibar.
Large comfortable bed.
Small desk and chairs.
Clean and hospitable.
Adequate if small bathroom.
Pleasant breakfast room with good, basic choices.

Negative points:
Small room, only a couple of feet clearance from end of bed to wall.
Long corridor outside with noisy, echoing door closures at times.
Vinyl not carpetted bedroom floor magnifies and echoes exterior noise

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ath75t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear ath75t, thank you for choosing The Hotel Le Bayeuxal for your recent stay in Normandy. We are sorry to hear that you felt a little disturbed by theexterior noise, we really apologize for the inconvenience. Hoping to have the opportunity to host you soon again. Kind regards Your Hotel Le Bayeux Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Although we've rated this hotel as average, it was high average - clean, well-positioned to the city center, moderately priced. It's a quality budget hotel with IKEA-esque furniture (although beds were comfortable). The windows have sheer curtains, so be mindful if lights are on at night (most of the hotel rooms appear to be ground-level). The front desk staff were very friendly and provided helpful recommendations for making the most of our time in Bayeux. The hotel breakfast in Bayeux was good, including eggs and bacon in addition to the standard pastry/cheese option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ContinentalWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel was clean and within walking distance of the town. They don't provide top sheets and they do not have air conditioning or fans. Couldn't sleep. I also had booked through Priceline and ended up with the worst room (#22 next to the morning breakfast nook). It was noisy real early in the morning. I will find a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 22 or in the summer. I was here the end of September and it was hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Irene P, thank you for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in Normandy. We are sorry to hear that you felt a little disturbed by the noise during breakfast and we apologize for the inconvenience. We would be delighted to welcome you back soon again and will assure you that next time the service will be perfect! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Property: Hotel Le Bayeux
Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing