We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at Hotel Le Bayeux and were quite pleased with it. Because they had overbooked we were given an apartment up the street from the main hotel. It was quite large with a double bed, a kitchen and huge bathroom. Nothing too exciting about the décor but it was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were wonderful, especially Clementine and Patricia who both spoke excellent English. We would recommend this hotel and will stay there again when we return to Normandy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 513leslieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

My mate and I stayed in this wonderful establishment for 3 nights
The breakfasts were great before a big day touring and the staff were wonderful nothing was to hard
The hotel is very central to the town and plenty of restaurants close by
Great value for money and even better an honesty bar in the foyer with a great choice of beer and wine
Overall u have to stay at this hotel at least once to appreciate French hospitality at its best
Bravo and Merci' we even got waved off in our taxi with the Aussie flag can't beat that

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pete r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear pete r, We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Le Bayeux.

Many Thanks
The Hotel Le Bayeux Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Le Bayeux in September and we really enjoyed the experience. The staff is great, Vito was helpful before we arrived and during our stay. It is perfect for visiting this charming town. We visited all over Europe, this was a highlight. The proximity to Normandy tours and the Mont St. Michel tour pickup are excellent.We highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, convenient to the lobby and just up a few stairs to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A first glance, from the street, this hotel is small and very European. The moment you walk into the small and cozy foyer and meet the owner and staff you know your going to enjoy your stay. The owner speaks very little English but that does not stop her from welcoming you and making you feel at home. Vito was working the front desk who is Italian but speaks several languages and couldn't have been more help during our stay. He took all the time we needed to explain everything and we really got to enjoy his personality and humour. We asked what the hotel rules where as we wanted to sit in the restaurant or the front lobby and have our happy hour with our friends. Vito said "there is only one rule at this hotel....that are no rules". (don't worry the hotel is non smoking) During our stay the staff would put deck furniture out in driveway/parking lot near the front enterance as the weather was very nice during our stay. We enjoyed having our happy hour outside and enjoyed watching the staff welcome new guests.
The hotel is in a great location being very close to the train station (10 min walk) and very close to shopping, restaurants and sight seeing. We had hired a tour company for a couple of days to tour the beaches and again the hotel was in a great location to be picked up and taken on the beach tours.
If you are expecting a high end North American style hotel than this hotel is not for you. If you want clean, confortable, friendly and an enjoyable hotel than we highly recommend this hotel.
We were travelling with two other couples and we all agreed that we could have stayed at a more expensive North American style hotel BUT we won't have had as much fun.

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor which had a skylight window which can open and let in fresh air. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brown28049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

there is only one rule at this hotel............ HELP GUESTS TO HAVE A PERFECT TIME AT HOTEL LE BAEYUX AND ALL THE NORMANDY AREA......
By the way, We are very glad to hear such a nice words;

Best regards from the staff of Hotel le Bayeux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is a terriffic example of the beauty and quaintness which is the Northeren French countryside. If you're touring to see Bayeux it is excellent. If you are touring to see the WWII history sites, it is even better as it is central to everything. You can arrange guided tours of any size or do a self guided tour on your own which is what we did. Everything you want to see is an easy drive from Bayeux. Hotel Bayeux added to the entire experience. You will not find a friendlier hotel. The hotel staff from the owner to the front desk were very dedicated to making sure our stay was memorable.

Room Tip: For 2 people, make sure you request a "double"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Kerry F thank you for your kind review and for your recommendations. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our location, room, cleaning and breakfast.
We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.
I have shared your kind words with our staff. We hope you come back again very soon. Always at your service, The Hotel Le Bayeux Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Hotel Le Bayeux is the perfect location for exploring the Normandy Coast and all the WW 2 D Day sites. The staff was very helpful with choosing restaurants in Bayeux and also suggested a nice visit to a Calvados prodution farm near Omaha beach. The rooms were clean and the morning breakfast was fresh and well done. They have a convenient parking lot next to the hotel as we were on a driving trip, this was importaqnt. I would recommend this hotel to any Americans on this type of journey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear JOHN M, Thank you for your review and for your recommendations to other travelers. Your compliments of our service, breakfast and staff are very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your return. Kind regards, The Hotel Le Bayeux Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Front desk was helpful with parking and room was good for the price. Good central location. All in a good experience. We enjoyed the coffee, espresso machine at breakfast. Room was basic, but comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johningram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: £43 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing