We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

2 of us lodged here in Sept 2013 for 2 nights, as our 2nd stay from Paris. I had done the booking myself via email with the very efficient hotel's contact, Patricia. we had a car and the location was a bit hard to locate through the center of town. our arrival was graciously acknowledged with Patricia. it was nice to finally meet the face of the emails that incurred while making the lodging plans.
we stayed in room 10 on the ground floor. the room was narrow, which left little room to move around. the room had 1 queen/king bed and a single bed, desk, closet, shower/sink n separate toilet area. the walls were thin, as the folks next to us and above us could be heard late into the evening:(
the breakfast was hardy, offering eggs, bacon, toast, boiled tomatoes(yum!), potatoes, pastries, yogurts, cheeses, juices, fruits, beverages. get there before or after those folks taking the D-Day area tours, as your breakfast can be pretty noisy!
one thing that i thought was really neat, was the 24-7 offerings of beverages in the lobby from juices/sodas/beer/wines, for an honor- donation to the piggy-bank of $2!
they do have laundry services and excellent suggestions for dining in the town. take note: in France most town restaurants are closed on Sunday, but on the one Sunday night we were in town, we found a great little restaurant that was open, specializing in the french "galette" (crepe) by the Tapestry Museum, called Le Moulin de la Galette.....excellent!
back to the hotel......the location is on a quiet street and pleasant area to walk to town.
mostly Americans were there during our stay, interested in the D-Day tours.
summary: good place to stay for 2 or 3 nights if you're in the area and moving to another location.

Room Tip: for quiet, a top floor room at the end would be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doubletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear doubletrip, thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at our Hotel. We are delighted to see your comments about our perfect amenities, and we are extremely thankful to read that our team was able to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for posting your review; we look forward to your return visit! Kind regards from Hotel Le Bayeux Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    444
    145
    39
    14
See reviews for
427
469
78
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Service is excellent. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and very quiet. Staff is warm and helpful. Location is great. They offer self service coffee, cold drinks, wine and other such amenities for a nominal price based on the honor system. Breakfast for 10 euro is a fair price. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanneL176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear JeanneL176 Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards from the staff of Hotel Le Bayeux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Our decision to stay was based on the positive reviews and a reasonable price. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The service was very good: prior to our stay, I had an email query that was responded to promptly, and once we were there the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was basic but clean and quiet, and the bed was comfortable. We didn't take have breakfast, although I would recommend taking advantage of the breakfast if doing a tour that starts early (before 8:30) as breakfast options that early in Bayeux center seemed a bit scarce.

The location was good, in short walking distance to the cathedral, restaurants, tapestry museum and the tour meeting point at Place du Quebec.

Overall a great stay, I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear David P Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay at Hotel Le Bayeux. Thank you so much for recommending us - this is the best publicity we can get. Your Hotel Le Bayeux Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and loved this hotel.

It is a five minute walk to the Tapestry museum (highly recommended), parking is on-site for 10 euros, hot breakfast was 10 euros (including eggs, bacon, oat-cakes, fresh fruit, cheese, yogurt and a variety of juices and hot drinks) and was an easy drive to Utah beach (30 minutes) Omaha (15 minutes) and the Mulberry at Arromanches (10 minutes). We also hit Mont St. Michel (90 minutes). Rooms are small but very cozy (we were on the ground floor) with a good sized shower/sink and separate toilet. Nice and quiet and lovely duvets to sleep under. Staff was fantastic - very welcoming and extremely knowledgeable and willing to share information in Italian, English, French and German! It was also an easy walk to the cathedral, numerous restaurants and the downtown. Also, right up the street is a pharmacy (if you need anything) and a small grocery but the nice suprise was it was a 2 minute walk from the only store authorized to sell embroidery kits of the Bayeux Tapestry. My wife bought several kits and the store owner was wonderful.

In addition, behind the front desk is a lending library of books (in mulitple languages) and DVDs on the region, D-Day, the Tapestry, etc. that you can borrow. This helped immensely when buying souvenirs as I already had scoped out which books I wanted to purchase.

The staff did an excellent job cleaning our rooms and were unobtrusive and very friendly.

This is our third trip to Bayeux and the second hotel we stayed in (the Lion d'Or was the other).

The one small thing that would make this a four-star would be a full-service restaurant but then I'm sure the price would have been much higher. The owners are very understanding and encourage the use of the breakfast room (which was quite large with about 8 4-person tables) for food that you bring or order in for lunch/dinner. They offer to order pizzas for delivery if you've had too long a slog on the beaches that day.

A charming hotel, convivial atmosphere and excellent location for a very reasonable price. Waking up to the sound of the cathedral bells, toodling upstairs for a large, hot breakfast and then walking to a museum with a near-century-old embroidery followed by a hearty dinner. What's not to like?

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and there is a floor above. We occassionally heard people walking above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriteWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear WriteWong,
First of all I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Bayeux. Thank you also for your comments about location, comfort, cleaning and service, as well as the breakfast in the morning, very important for us. Finally, thank you for your mention about the front desk staff. We really hope there'll be another chance to have you all here soon. Kind regards from the Hotel Le Bayeux Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

a typical french family owned hotel in the centre of Bayeux. We received the personal attention of the staff, that is often missing when staying in a hotel that belongs to a chain. Their breakfast is outstanding considering the French average. We surely recommend this place to people staying in Bayeux. , It's also a good starting point for travellers who are interested to visit the "Overlord" beaches in normandy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Paul P, thank you for taking your time to write this nice review about Hotel Le Bayeux. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially for mentioning our great staff and our Breakast.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards from Hotel Le Bayeux Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Property lived up to its reputation and I would recommend. Patricia and other gentleman at frontdesk were so caring and attentive (ie: Patricia brought a doc I had printed up to my room). Didn't take advantage of the breakfast but after going out for breakfast it is worth considering. Room was quiet and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagleone558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Eagleone558, Thank you for your review and for your recommendations. I am very pleased to know that you liked the hotel, location and staff. Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards, The Hotel Le Bayeux Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Brilliant experience all around. Helpful, friendly staff, relatively spacious rooms, and a full buffet breakfast for 10 euros (including eggs and bacon which is tough to find in France, and absolutely essential if you have a gluten allergy and cannot consume the many "pain"-based foods France has to offer). They also have private parking for 10 euros if you've rented a car, but there is usually enough street parking that you can park for free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikitapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Travellover482013,
Your compliments of the Hotel Le Bayeux are greatly appreciated.
We work diligently to offer the best service and a GREAT stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff and our SPECIAL BREAKFAST. Merci.... Hotel Le Bayeux Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Property: Hotel Le Bayeux
Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing