We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay in Bayeux”
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A short stay in Bayeux”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Helpful and child friendly staff at Hotel Le Bayeux ensured our family of 5 were comfortable and visited the significant sights of the town. Location is excellent. The breakfast is decent and well priced. Overall we were made to feel very welcome, enjoyed the local knowledge, stories and would recommend Hotel Le Bayeux.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Tracey W,

Thank you for your review and for your recommendations to other travelers. Your compliments of our service, breakfast and staff are very much appreciated.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards, the Hotel Le Bayeux Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    452
    149
    40
    15
See reviews for
444
474
80
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

In a great position but it's really a bargain basement hotel. Lino floors, extremely thin walls and very very basic. If you want cheap and cheerful this is it. If you want comfort and quality then try elsewhere. Bit fawlty towers in an endearing way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Adrian,
thank you for your review.
we want apologize for the service quality! We would be delighted to welcome you back soon again and will assure you that next time the service will be perfect!

Kind regards, the Hotel Le Bayeux Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our family of six stayed at Hotel Le Bayeux. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were picked up at the hotel for our tour of the Normandy Beaches. It was a fabulous experience. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mullican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Mullican,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for the high score. I'm glad you had a very good stay at our property. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff.

We really hope to see you again.

With best regards, The Hotel Le Byaeux Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This charming hotel was fantastic and beautifully French! We had our three children with us (16, 13, 10), and we were able to stay in the large room all together, which saved us a considerable amount of money. The breakfast is very good, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were there three days, and I wish we had spent a week. Bayeux and surrounding areas are such a pleasure, and the location of the hotel, combined with the rich heritage of the area, made it a truly memorable stay.
Highest recommendation!

Room Tip: If traveling with children, they have at least one room that sleeps 5. You may be able to all stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPO1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest ,
Your compliments of the Hotel Le Bayeux are greatly appreciated.
We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest.

IT IS NICE TO KNOW WHEN THIS SUCCEEDED.

Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards, The Hotel Le Bayeux Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My family and I booked a triple room. The hotel appeared unassuming but when we entered, we were delighted by the service rendered by everyone, and found the rooms to be cheerful, pleasant and clean. The location was also great as we were within walking distance to the town centre (great food and many interesting shops). The staff were patient and kind. For example, I requested for a brush to remove the mud from my shoes after touring the beaches. The kind lady at the reception took the trouble to set aside her work and to attend to my request. We had many other small encounters which affirmed the positive comments from the hotel's many guests. We had a great 3 day 2 night stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Geoff_Lim,
Truly appreciate your review; it is so pleasing to read that our location, your Triple room, OUR AMAZING STAFF and the comfort met all expectations. Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.
Yours Hotel Le Bayeux Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Madame Bajum and her staff are wonderful. English is well spoken and staff are well informed and helpful.
Location is fantastic and is very handy for the tapestry and cathederal. Access by car is great as it is just off the ring road, free parking is available within 400m of the hotel if you don't want to pay for it.
We had booked a family room for us and our 2 teenage children. The room was large and well appointed. Madame Bajum insisted that we move our 2 teenage children to a spare room for the duration of our stay as they were to big to be in a shared room with their parents. This was a fantastic offer from the owner and greatly enhanced our stay at La Bayeux.
The Breakfast was exceptional value and was well recieved by all of us before a busy day of sightseeing.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel to everyone and can honestly say that the level of personal service we recieved here was the best we had on our trip.

Room Tip: Family room was large and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Steve,
thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at Hotel Le Bayeux.
Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay, especially the very central location – only a few steps from the Cathedral and the tapestry .

Thank you for your kind words regarding our GREAT STAFF;

Thank you so much for recommending us to your friends - this is the best publicity we can get. We wish you a joyful christmas season.

Your Hotel Le Bayeux Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This little gem of a hotel, is central to visiting Normandy/Omaha Beach. Not only did this wonderful staff cater to our every circumstance (like arriving to the hotel from Paris at 1:30 a.m., and finding a personal note directing us to our room)...but they let us eat breakfast past hours, to let us sleep in a little longer. Our daughter had traveled here a few weeks earlier with her study abroad university...and said the hotel staff had treated them just as kindly when they stayed there, as we were treated on this visit! We wished we could stay at this property another night. Thank you, Hotel Le Bayeux...for helping our visit to the Normandy area be a wonderful one. We are grateful for your kindness!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda8849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajumMireille, Manager at Hotel Le Bayeux, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Brenda8849,
thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Hotel Le Bayeux. We are delighted to see your comments about our central location, and we are extremely thankful to read that our team was able to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for posting your review; we look forward to your return visit!
Kind regards from Hotel Le Bayeux Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Property: Hotel Le Bayeux
Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing