We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best part of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

If you are going to Normandy stay in the town of Bayeux and at the Hotel Le Bayeux. This hotel is centrally located minutes from the train station, near the Cathedral & The Bayeux Tapestries. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are spacious. The breakfast was very good & plentiful. The person at the reception desk was very helpful. She gave us directions and restaurant suggestions which were great. She called the company for our tour to make sure we were picked up at the hotel. Helped me with printing our boarding passes and called a taxi for us to the train station I can't thank her enough. This hotel & town was the best part of our trip to France I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    426
    142
    38
    14
See reviews for
405
444
75
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel Le Bayeux and excellent hotel. Very quaint and quite. The breakfast that is served in the morning is very good and has a wide variety to choose from. We can not say enough about the staff at the hotel. They are so friendly and helpful. The restaurants in the area are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Le Bayeux is obviously in a great central location just two minutes walk from the cathedral. I've only given it average marks however after our frosty greeting from the manageress who told us to move our bikes having just arrived after cycling all day for a three night stay! Other reasons are the lack of tea making facilities in the room although a help yourself is available in the lobby for 2 euros a cup (honesty box!), and the chaotic breakfast arrangement which realistically can cope with about 6 people at a time - nice breakfast though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PnAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We recently spent 3 days in Bayeux for a tour of the Normandy beaches. The Hotel Le Bayeux was a great place to stay. Quiet, comfortable and walking distance to the shuttles. The staff was friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was larger than most we've had in Europe. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Be aware that, like many small villages in France, most restaurants are closed on Sundays, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had 3 nights at this lovely little hotel while we explored Normandie. The innkeeper, Vito, spoke excellent English and was very welcoming and accommodating. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were not fancy but comfortable, clean, and roomy. The water closets were separate from the shower room (within each room), which was nice. The showers were very nice and the beds comfortable. The breakfasts were very good - eggs, bacon, cheeses, bread, pastries, melon - you could not ask for better choices! Every evening, we would have our own wine hour with wine and cheese we purchased. The staff was very gracious and allowed us to use the breakfast room and brought us wine glasses! It was very pleasant. I would stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We found Bayeux to be a good home base for us as we explored the Normandy area.

From arrival to departure, the staff at Hotel Le Bayeux were friendly and helpful. While the rooms are smaller than we are accustomed to finding in America, we found ours to be typical of what we've found in other European stays. Everything we needed, or expected, from a hotel stay was provided.

Our thanks to the staff of Hotel Le Bayeux for making our stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trophy Club, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I and another couple spent two nights at the Hotel Le Bayeux as home base for a guided tour to the Normandy battlefields. We found the hotel (and the town) to be very charming and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for touring the town and enjoying the nearby restaurants, as well as visiting the Normandy sites. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating and we would highly recommend the Le Bayeux

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjd1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Property: Hotel Le Bayeux
Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing