We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After a full day of tour the D-Day beaches this hotel was a comfortable and friendly place for our overnight stay. We had a family room with our two boys aged 10 & 12 which gave us some extra room. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast in the morning was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

I agree with most of the other reviews. Nice location, reasonable price and decent breakfast. The room was small, but in line with most European hotels. The staff was great. I was having a terrible time trying to book a D-Day sights excursion on my own, but Vito at the desk was able to work some magic and book a nice tour for us. That alone made Hotel Bayeux a winner in my book.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tkemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent greeting on arrival. Very friendly and informative employees.
Our room was huge and very peaceful - the first good nights sleep in 9 days.
Breakfast was excellent - self-service with lots of choice.
One minor improvement would be to install a power-shower.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel is excellently located in the center of old Bayeux. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean. Our room was quite small (for 3 beds). The mattresses were not very comfortable. Breakfast was nice. In summary, the hotel's assets are it's location, cleanliness and friendly staff.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank blue72jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location, is clean and very functional. The hotel staff, especially Vito is wonderful. They were extremely helpful with suggestions for seeing the local sites, plus train and car rental info. We would stay again. If you are looking for a fancy resort type hotel, not sure this town/place for you. If you are looking for a clean/comfortable place to stay in a quaint medieval town with plenty of good restaurants, fun sites to visit and convenient to the WWII beaches/museums, this place is perfect!! Thanks all at the Hotel Le Bayeux for making us feel so welcome!!

All the sites in Bayeux are in walking distance. There are also tours of the ww II beaches leaving from walking distance. At the excellent suggestion of Vito, we did rent a car for 1 day to go back to some of the WW II sites and visit to Mont St. Michel. We stayed 4 nights, had plenty to do and had a great stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirl-926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Quaint old building a few easy blocks from shops and cafés. Rail station is walkable if traveling light.. 10 min walk. Breakfast was very good; quaint dining area. Although room very clean, we were disappointed that our room had been remodeled in "modern" materials that were now very dated and out of character with the building and was not air conditioned. Room was divided into two sleeping areas and bath with separate WC...would have been perfect for a family. Staff very attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhub101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a triple for ourselves and our 6+ ft son, so were limited in choice in the town. The good: very friendly staff, wide selection at breakfast, close to center of town. The bad: a very cramped room, a toilet with a sliding seat that wasn't fixed despite our asking, just packets of liquid soap rather than soap and shampoo. Again, while the staff were friendly, I would not recommend this hotel, at least in our experience with the triple room.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank DaveTUSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: £38 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing