We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean but felt like a dorm room”
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“clean but felt like a dorm room”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had a hard time reserving an hotel room bc of the 70th anniversary of D-Day. (we were there about 10 days later). When I got to the hotel and saw the room, I felt as if I was back in a college dorm - the walls are thin, the rooms are somewhat bare... However, the people were very friendly and made up for the lack of "luxury". Breakfast is served upstairs - as a self serve buffet, and quite nice too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amimastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    469
    156
    44
    15
See reviews for
469
486
82
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two night on our way home from our holidays in France in order to explore the Normandy beaches. We couldn't have asked to stay in a better place. Believe all you read about the breakfast.. All pastries made fresh that morning and enough choice and food to keep you going until dinner... And that's saying something with three kids! The family room was perfect for us, the kids had a bunk and single bed and then there was a partition between them and us. Good size room too. The location is perfect... One street away from the Cathedral and short driving distance to the beaches. The staff though were the real attraction of this hotel. You won't get anywhere where they are as friendly and helpful. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed two nights in a lovely family room with five beds accommodating two adults and three children. Our girls love animal toys so were very impressed to find a large tiger on one of their beds! Staff were very welcoming and helpful, breakfast was comprehensive and delicious, and the hotel is ideally placed - a short walk from the tapestry, the cathedral and the British war cemetery

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here in early August. Bayeux is a perfect base from which to see the surrounding Normandy area: the WWII memorials and beaches, Mont Saint-Michel, the Bayeux Tapestry, etc.

The hotel was reasonably priced. Parking was available at the hotel for 10 Euro per day, though they were quick to tell you that there was a free car park across the street. We never had a problem parking there. The staff was extremely helpful, and the breakfast had a good selection and there was something for everyone there.

Everything in Bayeux was an easy walk from the hotel as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a three star hotel that we chose from a small list suggested to us by our travel agent. We looked it up on Trip Advisor and it seemed like a pleasant place to stay. We were not disappointed.
The hotel is not large, but this should be seen as a good thing. It has a nice, family atmosphere.
The rooms are comfortable, if a little on the small side, but have a separate toilet and a separate bathroom with a shower stall rather than a shower over the bath.
They offer breakfast at Euro10.00 per person and we can recommend it. There is quite a good range of hot and/or cold food at a buffet and plenty of it.
Location is excellent - a short walk from the railway station and handy to the Bayeux Tapestry and the cathedral - and also to the shopping area which is very old and photogenic. There is even an old, undershot waterwheel rumbling away.
Finally, I should mention that we found the staff to be very helpful. Many of them are either very fluent in English or know sufficient to help smooth the way.
We enjoyed the experience very much and if we wanted to visit the area again, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are able, choose a room at the far end of the passage from the entry area. Very sunny in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platypus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayeux, France
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you are looking for a nice cosy hotel well located in Bayeux, this is the place to go! Mrs Bajum is a very nice lady who knows how to feel each guest at home. You are 2mn away from the Cathedral and town center, without the noise....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel in August with 2 teenagers. Vito met us at the check in and he was extremely friendly. He put us in a large room that had 1 queen bed and 2 single beds. That worked well as our teenage boys prefer their own bed. Rooms were very clean. Vito was fantastic and willing to offer any assistance he could either with the hotel or with our travel plans. I highly recommend this hotel in Bayeux.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Property: Hotel Le Bayeux
Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing