We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Le Bayeux has friendly staff, clean rooms, and is conveinent to the Normandy sites”
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Hotel Le Bayeux has friendly staff, clean rooms, and is conveinent to the Normandy sites”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

For people looking for a cheap AND clean AND convenient place to stay: 4 Stars
1. The price of this hotel is equal to that of any hostel in Bayeux, but the quality is closer to that of a Best Western.
2. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Wireless internet and breakfast are available.
3. Staff is EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. Any need or question you have they can help you with.
4. Super conveinent to Normandy sites whether with a car, scooter, or bicycle.
5. Rick Steves suggests Hotel Le Bayeux.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormandyRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    469
    156
    44
    15
See reviews for
469
486
82
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
quantico
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We arrived with a group of 30. Very warm welcome and fantastic helpful manager. Rooms are clean and convenient. The hotel is right in the middle of the town, close to everything.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnoQuantico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This was one of the few hotels open in January and the proprietress was very accommodating to our schedule changes, helpful with local information and with literature about the landing beaches. Rooms were basic but clean and well suited in every respect. The only other guests at the hotel missed their train out, came back late on a snowy night, and the proprietress came back from her diner and offered them several rooms for the price of one.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We arrived late afternoon without a reservation. Wewanted to stay 2 nights but they were booked the 2nd night. They were very helpful, and made a phone call and found us a room in a hotel in St. Mare Eglise. The room was small but very clean. We would have loved to stay there 2 nights. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchtraveler049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We stayed in the hotel for four nights. It was OK for the price, the rooms were clean and warm, plenty of hot water, and we slept well.

Unfortunately the lady running the hotel seemed to be rather bad tempered and made us feel like naughty schoolchidlren. For example:

- she insisted we paid on arrival (although this might be normal in France)
- she refused to take a card and would only take cash (despite a Visa sign present)
- we were put in a room with 'twin' beds, despite being married, and I had to ask for a 'double'
- when we bought some food for some tours we were going on, she would bark at us (in French) 'no food in the bedrooms' and it took some frantic basic French to ensure her we were not going to eat in the rooms. This happened twice. I can understand hot food but what's wrong with having a biscuit?
- she would snarl at us as we went in and out - except for when we finally left, when we got a cheery 'au revoir'

So although the rooms and facilities were fine, we would not go there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knevols1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Good to have free WIFI...Owner very helpful...Sure helps to speak French...Very helpful booking tours as they are small companies with minivans.
Too bad about the skylight windows.Regular windows would be nicer.
Good location Rooms average ,but clean

Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank littlescotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2009

The people at Le Bayeux were incredibly helpful to me and my group of travelers! We arrived on a Monday night about 11:00 PM. My daughter and I had just spent all the afternoon before in Paris, including a visit to the US Embassy, because I had accidentally left our passports on a tourist shop counter in Heidelberg. We were also scheduled tp fly out of Paris for the US (home) 2 days later----which did not leave much time to get replacement passports! Well, when we arrived at Le Bayeux we told the hotel owners/managers of our predicament and the fact that we would be forced to go back to Paris, as early the next morning as we could get a train, to sit through the process of getting new passports; we would return to Bayeux later that day but we had to take care of the passport issue first. (The rest of the group was to stay and do the planned Normandy tour.) Anyway, the hotel owners immediately jumped on the internet, ordered our train tickets for the next morning, and said that they would have a car wairing to drive us to the train station. I was relieved to some degree and we all went to bed. The next morning, not only did the hotel personnel take us to the train station in their own car (no cab), the lady gave me an English newspaper to read on our 2-hour ride! When we arrived at the station, she went in with us, talked to the clerk there, got our tickets, and handed them to us! I'm not saying that they paid for our tickets (we paid for the tix of course), but the hotel people did everything else possible that they could do for us to help us and make us feel at home.
As for general info on Le Bayeux, the accomodations at Le Bayeux reminded me of the beach house I used to stay in when I was little; it was very nice and homey. The location was great---right in the middle of the village. I walked 5 minutes (when I finally returned from Paris that afternoon with our passports) from the hotel to see the famous Bayeux Tapestry and if I had more time I could have easily walked to many more sites and quaint places in Bayeux. My daughter and I actually walked from the train station to the hotel upon our return from Paris that day---only about an 8 minute walk. I definitely want to go back to Bayeux one day and I will definitely stay at Le Bayeux again! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMHCraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Property: Hotel Le Bayeux
Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing