We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B in the heart of the Town”
Review of Villa Aggarthi B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Aggarthi B&B
Ranked #16 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B in the heart of the Town”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Although it was a little hard to find at first we arrived a few hours late. Our hosts provided us with excellent care and attention.

It's not a striking looking place from the outside but has a nice garden just inside the gate and most importantly is very clean.

We found our hosts very eager to help us and we would recommend this place to any other traveller visiting this area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    39
    10
    7
    13
See reviews for
23
75
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had planned to stay in Beyeux a couple days in September, so made a reservation last March as we were trying to firm up our agenda. But despite terms saying "FREE cancellation before August 11", and "$0 due now" and“no deposit is required”, the Inn charged us anyway. We noticed the error quickly, but weren't concerned since we planned to visit anyway.

Our schedule changed a few days later, but when contacting the Inn, were told that they wouldn't provide the refund (that was erroneously charged in the first place), because they would lose the credit card fees they had paid (which wouldn't have occurred if they had adhered to their own "no deposit" terms). In additional communiques, they continued to make excuses about why they wouldn't provide a refund - excuses ranging from "we are a small operation" to "death in the family", etc. Along the way, we considered staying there ONEnight, but she tried to put us in on oversize closet that met HER needs rather than OURS.

While we could have gotten a full credit card refund through VISA, we asked Expedia to step in to get the Inn to meet their own refund terms, but the Inn still refused. Expedia refunded the deposit to us, but I have no idea if they ever got it back from the Inn.

While the Inn MAY be a nice place to stay, I would personally avoid dealing with them unless you know for certain that you won't cancel or change, and/or be sure to go through an agent that can assert themselves to protect your interests, as the Inn obviously won't do it own their own.

All the above is based on (1) the Inn charging the CC initially despite specific terms that they wouldn't, and (2) not adhering to their own refund policy. Caution is advised.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a last-minute booking for us, as we had one extra day in Normandy. The setting is charming, with a garden and quaint rooms with comfy beds and linens. While it is somewhat basic (as others have mentioned, bring your own soap and shampoo), we were very pleased. We especially loved getting "briefed" by Miriam, the owner, who gave us very helpful information, including maps with notes, to help us find all the things we wanted to see.

One side note - don't bother trying to find this place with your GPS, but it is very easy to find. Only a block or two (can't remember exactly) from the tapestry museum, and if you are coming up from the town, it is a cute red door with a small sign, on the left side of the street. Once you find it and park, the location is perfect - you can walk to everything in the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

my husband and i visited bayeux in may2014. we booked aggarthi after seeing all of the positive reviews online, and were very pleased with what we saw! our train was late, so despite arriving at almost midnight, the host-son was there to greet us to show us our room, give us maps, and ask what we would like for breakfast. the room was HUGE for european standards, and the breakfast was fantastic (and included!). the location right around the corner from the meeting point for the normandy tour we booked (overlord tours) - a 3 minute walk. i highly recommend this adorable b&b for anyone staying in bayeux.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I decided on a last minute weekend trip to Normandie and needed a place to stay in Bayeux. We loved the location of Villa Aggarthi, just a half block from the Tapestry museum. Our room had twin beds that were very comfortable and a huge bathroom. The courtyard and garden were lovely, as were the owner and her son. The breakfast was okay; coffee and tea, pastries, sliced processed cheese, bottled orange juice, watermelon , and thin crepes without filling . We chatted with other guests and the charming owner, alas with a loud TV blaring CNN on Sunday morning.
A few amenities in the bathroom would have been nice such as newer, fluffy towels, a bar of soap, extra toilet paper. We liked having a small refrigerator a d not lot in our room but we weren't aware at the time of reservations.
The price of our stay was reasonable .
All in all , our experience was a good one.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosehips58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Location was the only positive!! Guest quarters came equipped with clean sheets and comfy bed along with hair in shower, crumbs on floor and trash in can from previous guest. Interior was ghastly scented with kitty cat urine and exterior courtyard was disgustingly scattered with animal feces. 6 cats currently reside here! Owner was initially engaging with pre-planning emails and directions to tourist sights. Her pleasant attitude quickly changed when there was confusion and misunderstanding about cash payment. The internet company (Expedia) where the room was reserved made no mention about cash payment to the owner. Our confirmation indicated the room was paid on our credit card at time of reservation. My mistake for not checking with credit card prior to travel. But, rather than a simple explanation and clarification, the owner flipped out. She lashed out yelling at us, calling us names, accusing us of trying to cheat her. It was unbelievable how she switched. She mentioned "It's always the Americans"!! So, obviously this has been an issue for other guests. Breakfast was okay, but not worth everything else we dealt with. So many nice places at similar price in Bayeux. Do yourself a favor, choose another hotel or B & B. I'd never stay here again and definately would not recommend this kitty cat hotel operated by a lunatic lady.

Room Tip: Spiral staircase to upper level rooms difficult to climb with luggage. One room on street level wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My housemate and I stayed here in early October, and found the location ideal for walking around Bayeux and seeing all the attractions - D-Day museum, cathedral and tapestry museum.

Owner was helpful - provided maps, suggestions for places to eat and additional things to see.

Found the price a bit more than we paid for similar B&Bs in the Loire, but then it is definitely a tourist town. We had a large twin room and huge bathroom, so space wise it was perfect for two people and lots of luggage. We also had a car, and off street parking was available at no extra charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
1.0 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Aggarthi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Aggarthi B&B

Property: Villa Aggarthi B&B
Address: 13 rue Saint Exupere, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Aggarthi B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Aggarthi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Aggarthi Hotel Bayeux
Villa Aggarthi Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing