We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb choice for Bayeux and the Normandy Beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clos de Bellefontaine
Ranked #6 of 31 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Carole & Jerome Mallet were the most welcoming and accommodating of hosts. After an initial visit years ago, we returned for 3 comfortable and delightful nights early in May. Everything about Clos de Bellefontaine was ideal. Carole's attention to detail and good taste was evident in her decor and in her breakfasts, which were not only delicious, but also varied in composition, presented most attractively, and more than ample for even the biggest appetites. Our large room was neat & clean, comfortable, quiet, well-equipped, and spacious, and it offered views of their pleasant garden. The location within Bayeux was convenient to restaurants, shops, the post office, banks, and the town's important sights, and the parking at Clos de Bellefontaine was convenient and secure. Carole & Jerome have a sense of history, and they are especially welcoming to Americans; they also make kind efforts to communicate in English when their guests are not sufficiently fluent in French. They also have abundant information on the area's sights and can help guests to plan their visits. Clos de Bellefontaine is excellent value; my wife & I believe that we could not have asked for better arrangements. It is a superb choice for accommodations in Bayeux and in the area of the Normandy beaches.

Room Tip: On the first [French} floor, Elegance requires the climbing of only one flight of stairs. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had 3 night with Carole and Jerome and recommend their B&B highly. The gardens are lovely and the location is ideal. Would definitely stay here again. Carole also provided restaurant recommendations which was very helpful

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomountaineers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The owners helped us to make the most of our 4-day visit in Normandy!
We enjoyed wonderful breakfasts and the 'elegance' of the bedroom/accomodation!
It was ideal to have a parking place for the car.
We would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband, 12 year old son and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a 2 week visit in April to London and Paris. We shared the first floor room (2nd story US) which was extremely spacious and had plenty of room for a third bed for our son. Their are 3 large windows in the room for fresh air and the room looks out onto a beautiful backyard garden. It was incredibly relaxing and peaceful to wake up every morning to the sound of chirping birds and and look out the window at the garden in bloom. The bathroom is small but funtional and fresh towels were provided daily. The breakfast was delicious with wonderful bread, fruit and homemade jam and always a freshly baked treat. Carole is an extremely efficient, thoughtful and kind hostess. On May 1st, Labor Day, she put a bouqet of Lily of the Valley at my place setting and explained to us the symbolism and significance of the holiday. She served as our concierge on a daily basis and left out maps marking places we should see, and she made dinner recommendations (always excellent) and reservations. Additionally, the B&B portion of the house includes a large downstairs living room which has a tv and dvd - we watched The Longest Day prior to our visit to the WWII sites. There are only 2 bedrooms in the B&B, which allows for much privacy as well as individual attention. Overall, we had a delightful stay and it was a welcome break from the huge, noisy Intercontinental Grand Hotel in Paris we had come from. Bayeau is a charming and very historical town and it is a short easy walk to all of the sites and restaurants, even in the rain. Clos de Bellefontaine offers a quiet, clean, convenient, and charming accomodation with great attention to detail provided by Carole. We all had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saldors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in April 2014. The house is wonderful - so much attention to detail - with a large, charming garden. Location is very convenient for the town - a few minutes walk away from the Tapisserie and the restaurants and shops of Bayeux. Wonderful breakfasts. Carole was extremely helpful - advice on where to eat, and how to make the best of our stay. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble. We would wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful B & B

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights in early April 2014. We used it as a convenient base to explore Bayeux & the Normandy landing beaches. We opted for the "Elegance" room which lived up to its name. A comfortable king size bed in a large room with double aspect windows. Carole was an excellent hostess and provided maps, books & directions for all the places we wished to visit during our stay. The house is only a short walk from the main part of Bayeux where there is a wide selection of cafe & restaurants. Carole recommended some which we sampled & were not disappointed. Breakfast was superb with an excellent choice and always a surprise dish each day.
As we travelled by car it was ideal to have safe off street parking in the house grounds.
Would definitely recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This accommodation was superb, it was better than a five star hotel, the bedroom was lovely, a very comfortable bed, ensuring a good nights sleep. The bathroom was immaculate, with clean towels every day. Carol was a hostess par excellence, she made sure we had everything we needed and advised us of places to see. The house and gardens were lovely, the thoughtful touches in the large sitting room, with refreshments available at any time. Carol provided a good breakfast with delicious home made jam. I would highly recommend this place, it was a 5 minute walk from the station and a 10 minute walk to the centre of Bayeux. Thank you Carol for a great stay, Merci Bien

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Damigny
Chateau de Damigny
#1 of 2 in Saint-Martin-des-Entrees
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clos de Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos de Bellefontaine

Address: 6 rue de Bellefontaine | (Face au No13), 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: £112 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short distance from the historical center of Bayeux, this large 19th century house which was restored by Carole and Jerome MALLET is an ideal place for a spellbinding stopover in the Bessin region.Comfortable and spacious, two large rooms furnished with care and attention to detail are waiting for their guests to arrive. - walled park & century old trees- private parking & terrace facing south- equipped for babies... and always with smile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Clos de Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clos De Bellefontaine Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing