We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet spot in Bayeux”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Sainte Croix
Ranked #8 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet spot in Bayeux”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Hotel de Sainte Croix is a charming 18th century shuttered French town house off a large town square in Bayeux; the square features a Farmer's Market Saturday's and parking the remainder of the week. The B&B is full of character. Our room on the first floor was spacious and light filled with a galley kitchen, modern shower, en suite, and a view to the square.

Each day Florence prepares a tasty breakfast with lovely baked goods; she is gracious, helpful, well-informed and full of useful tips.

The B and B is within easy walking distance of the centre of Bayeux with its lovely cathedral, the Tapestry, D-Day museum and a great range of restaurants (ask Florence.) Convenient too for trips to Caen, St. Malo, Le Mont St Michel, the D day beaches, Pegasus Bridge and the host of museums and other D day attractions. A great stay in a sweet small town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msnform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    32
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
151
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This B and B lived up in every way to the glowing praises previously received on TripAdvisor. Our room was on the second floor and was both spacious and charming, with modern shower and en suite and a nice outlook across the square. The whole building is 18th century, a lovely shuttered French town house full of character and with a lovely wooden staircase, though its character meant that the building felt less 'modern' inside than some. The Breakfast Room was equally charming with antique effects and furniture in keeping with the character of the house.

Florence was a charming and helpful (and well-informed) hostess. She prepared the most wonderful and tasty breakfasts, different each day, with some excellent cooking and gave us some useful tips on interesting things for us to do during our stay.

The B and B is within easy walking distance of the centre of Bayeux with its lovely cathedral, the Tapestry, the other historic and more recent features of the town and a great range of restaurants to choose from. It is convenient too for Caen, St. Malo, Le Mont St Michel, the D day beaches, Pegasus Bridge and the host of museums and other attractions to commemorate D day. Coupled with some lovely friendly local shops, and a Carrefour nearby, we could easily have spent a lot longer here than the four days we had.

It would be difficult to overstate the attractiveness of this B and B - we found it truly excellent. We would however agree with the problem of not being able to have the windows open at night because of the noise of the motor scooters and other vehicles passing by, but in part that may be because we are not used to night noise in our own home environment. Otherwise it would be hard to fault the B and B for the cost and we would highly recommend the Hotel St Croix.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan649010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This B&B was such a lucky find. I traveled to the Normandy beaches with my dad and we planned to "wing it" as far as lodgings. It was just after dusk and we were getting a little concerned. We stopped in front of Hotel de Sainte Croix to check it out. It is located in a sort of town square near a great restaurant. Two English speakers were entering at the time and gave it a good review, so we rang up to Florence. She was a wonderfully gracious hostess, giving us the necessary local information and some tips based on what we wanted to do and how much time we had. I remembered my French by practicing with her, but she also seemed to understand some English. I believe we stayed two nights. The room was charming and spacious, and perfectly clean and organized. Breakfast was held at a family style table with other guests and was ample and delicious. She rented us a GPS for about 25 Euro, which was fairly easy to use (and when it wasn't, it brought us lots of laughs.) My dad and I made this trip in 2009. Florence asked if I'd write a review on Trip Advisor. I agreed, then misplaced her card and I couldn't remember the name of her B&B. I just now came across it. Our experience was so top-notch that I still wanted to write this review. Don't hesitate to stay with her. She is a first rate hostess and runs her B&B like a 5-star hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victoria room. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This B&B is far more like a old styled hotel than a contemporary B&B, which gives it a certain charm. It is well located near the centre of Bayeux within walking distance of most attractions and an easy drive to the D-Day beaches and Memorials. The decor is antique but that also means some of it was a little tired. Our room and en suite was very spacious. It was nice to open the windows but the constant high pitched noise of the motor scooters (which are all over Bayeux) was annoying. Florence put on a splendid breakfast although it was disappointing to not be offered any options. In the end, the various little faults (such as those mentioned and others like arriving back at 10:00pm with no lights to guide us to our upstairs room) meant we could not give this hotel full marks. 

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Parents G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband, daughter and i stayed for three nights with florence recently. We had the large room on third floor, it was perfect. Beautifully decorated, 2 big rooms, plenty of space for 3-5 people. The hotel was clean, and homey. You had room to relax and drink a cup of tea or wine. Now the room was great but the best part of this stay was the breakfast every morning. Florence was an unbelievable cook and made mouth watering pastries, cakes, yogurt, tarts, bread etc every morning. It was all delicious and maybe the best we had in france. There was plenty of juice, coffee, tea and food. You shared breakfast in a large dining room which was very nice. You got to meet other guests and share travel tips. Location is very handy, within walking distance to main area of Bayeux. Across the street from main plaza where on saturday there is a farmers market.
Close to several restaurants. We ate across the street twice, and had nice dinners. Bayeux is good base for dday tours and make sure you see the tapestry and have some carmels. The cream sauces on all the food is great. This area is known for calvados brandy, carmel candy, and creamy sauces. Enjoy all. You can do all in 2-3 days. FYI: my 12 year old was bored here after being in paris but loved the b&b. One last note: wifi never worked while we were there. We asked florence about it but she did not seem to undestand or could not fix it. She has limited english.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gia611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Florence speaks French a mile a minute. Thank goodness my DH is bilingual. She provided us with a fabulous room and a baby cot. The bed was the most comfortable one we had all our time in France, and the breakfast was the most amazing one our whole time in France. The location is great. She had very good recommendations for restaurants. Laundry is only 1 block away if you need it. The weekly market is right across the street. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: My parents had a room overlooking the back garden that was very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We had a family room from two nights on our way back from brittany and were very pleased. The hotel is very easy to find just follow signs centre ville and you end up on rue du marche outside. The house is very well kept with the children loving the cat ornaments, lovely garden and staircases. The room was very large with a comfortable bathroom and furnished with lots of curiosities. Breakfast was beautiful, the children were well looked after by Florence with hot chocolate, croissants, freshly made cake, brioche and fresh fruit. It is also in the centre of bayeux so easy to walk to main sites, shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Sainte Croix

Property: Hotel de Sainte Croix
Address: 12 rue du Marche | Place Saint-Patrice, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your holidays or for a week end in Bayeux, open the door of this XVIIIth century private hotel and you will be charmed by this building which brings together the charm of the sophistication of yesterday with today's comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Sainte Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing