We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bayeux experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Sainte Croix
Ranked #7 of 30 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Az.
Level Contributor
219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bayeux experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This B&B is very quaint and near to everything. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious with a wide chose of different foods. You won't go hungry. The B&B hostess was very caring and helpful. Her knowledge of the area was a great help on dining and seeing the sights. Don't miss this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    32
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
151
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent three days in Bayeaux, and were perfectly happy with this very charming bed and breakfast. We had a large room on the second floor with a huge bathroom. Our hostess Florence could not have been more accomodating - she helped directing us to a local laundromat, several restaurants, and even called to our next hotel for us.
Breakfast was more than anyone could eat, although a bit of protein (perhaps some deviled egg) would have made it perfect.
We loved Bayeux, and could have stayed longer. Definitely a better choice than Caen for our Normandy base.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 199DeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

In planning our recent European adventure we did extended research, however one never really knows what to expect until arrival. We traveled all day by rail to Bayeux, (thru Paris) from Switzerland, and upon our late arrival to the St. Croix we experienced a delightful surprise. Our hostess, Florence had arranged for a taxi from the train station and was waiting for us when we arrived. She could tell we were travel weary and just gave us our key (for the Josephine Suite on the second floor) and asked what time we would be having breakfast. From the moment we arrived we felt at home ..

This is an old building as you would expect for a bed and breakfast, but absolutely charming - right down to the old fashioned skeleton keys used for access to the room as well as late night entries at the front door. What a room, it was fabulous to say the least. After traveling for several weeks in small European rooms, the room and bathroom to say the least were spacious, clean and just reeked of history right down to the squeaky floors. Our room faced the street and there was no problem with street noise and we never heard peep from adjacent rooms. It was within easy walking distance of town, and if you didn't care to walk Florence would call for a taxi to take you to your destination. There were also two self-serve coin laundries within minutes of the hotel.

Florence, our hostess was wonderful, from the moment we were greeted at the front door to the time we sadly had to leave. She was always there to help at a moment’s notice. Breakfast was served downstairs in an elegant dining room with all the charm one could possibly want, and was waiting for us at precisely the time we requested each morning. As far as the breakfast fare, each day was different and could include pastries, crepes, freshly baked breads, (just to name a few) and hot and cold beverages, all prepared and presented by Florence with all the charm you would expect of a French Chateau.

This is an absolutely great place and location, and not at all pricey. We truly recommend it to anyone who is considering a trip to Normandie ... NOT TO BE OVERLOOKED.

Room Tip: Josephine Suite, 2nd Floor is large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimnJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a double room on 3rd floor (no lift) which was roomy and cheerful. It also had a nice little patio that overlooked the backyard and the private bathroom with walk in shower was very large. Compared to our teeny-tiny shoebox hotel room in London we had just stayed in, this place was a palace! Florence was very nice and had a wonderful spread of fresh bread, yogurt, croissant, jams and cakes (lots of carbs!) and good coffee/tea in the mornings. It was a straightforward walk to the B&B from the train station with our wheeled carry on luggage which took about 25 min. WiFi worked great in our rooms. Lots of restaurants, ATM, & laundromat close by (save 2euro coins for wash). The town of Bayeux is so pretty and we enjoyed our stay! We did a Normandy D-day tour and also a Mont Saint-Michel tour through the Hotel Churchill shuttle bus. Wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Hotel de Sainte Croix is a charming 18th century shuttered French town house off a large town square in Bayeux; the square features a Farmer's Market Saturday's and parking the remainder of the week. The B&B is full of character. Our room on the first floor was spacious and light filled with a galley kitchen, modern shower, en suite, and a view to the square.

Each day Florence prepares a tasty breakfast with lovely baked goods; she is gracious, helpful, well-informed and full of useful tips.

The B and B is within easy walking distance of the centre of Bayeux with its lovely cathedral, the Tapestry, D-Day museum and a great range of restaurants (ask Florence.) Convenient too for trips to Caen, St. Malo, Le Mont St Michel, the D day beaches, Pegasus Bridge and the host of museums and other D day attractions. A great stay in a sweet small town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msnform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This B and B lived up in every way to the glowing praises previously received on TripAdvisor. Our room was on the second floor and was both spacious and charming, with modern shower and en suite and a nice outlook across the square. The whole building is 18th century, a lovely shuttered French town house full of character and with a lovely wooden staircase, though its character meant that the building felt less 'modern' inside than some. The Breakfast Room was equally charming with antique effects and furniture in keeping with the character of the house.

Florence was a charming and helpful (and well-informed) hostess. She prepared the most wonderful and tasty breakfasts, different each day, with some excellent cooking and gave us some useful tips on interesting things for us to do during our stay.

The B and B is within easy walking distance of the centre of Bayeux with its lovely cathedral, the Tapestry, the other historic and more recent features of the town and a great range of restaurants to choose from. It is convenient too for Caen, St. Malo, Le Mont St Michel, the D day beaches, Pegasus Bridge and the host of museums and other attractions to commemorate D day. Coupled with some lovely friendly local shops, and a Carrefour nearby, we could easily have spent a lot longer here than the four days we had.

It would be difficult to overstate the attractiveness of this B and B - we found it truly excellent. We would however agree with the problem of not being able to have the windows open at night because of the noise of the motor scooters and other vehicles passing by, but in part that may be because we are not used to night noise in our own home environment. Otherwise it would be hard to fault the B and B for the cost and we would highly recommend the Hotel St Croix.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan649010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This B&B was such a lucky find. I traveled to the Normandy beaches with my dad and we planned to "wing it" as far as lodgings. It was just after dusk and we were getting a little concerned. We stopped in front of Hotel de Sainte Croix to check it out. It is located in a sort of town square near a great restaurant. Two English speakers were entering at the time and gave it a good review, so we rang up to Florence. She was a wonderfully gracious hostess, giving us the necessary local information and some tips based on what we wanted to do and how much time we had. I remembered my French by practicing with her, but she also seemed to understand some English. I believe we stayed two nights. The room was charming and spacious, and perfectly clean and organized. Breakfast was held at a family style table with other guests and was ample and delicious. She rented us a GPS for about 25 Euro, which was fairly easy to use (and when it wasn't, it brought us lots of laughs.) My dad and I made this trip in 2009. Florence asked if I'd write a review on Trip Advisor. I agreed, then misplaced her card and I couldn't remember the name of her B&B. I just now came across it. Our experience was so top-notch that I still wanted to write this review. Don't hesitate to stay with her. She is a first rate hostess and runs her B&B like a 5-star hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victoria room. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Sainte Croix

Property: Hotel de Sainte Croix
Address: 12 rue du Marche | Place Saint-Patrice, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your holidays or for a week end in Bayeux, open the door of this XVIIIth century private hotel and you will be charmed by this building which brings together the charm of the sophistication of yesterday with today's comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Sainte Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing