We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful apartment, exceptional hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bayeux, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Cves
eureka mo
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment, exceptional hosts!”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the lovely apartment of Gite le Kennedy this month. The apartment was very comfortable and had everything you would need to feel at home. It is at the rear of Bernard and Joelle's lovely home and we had full use of the yard and a pretty patio.
Bernard, Joelle and Virginie were excellent hosts, who went above and beyond the call of duty for us. We were traveling by train and Bernard picked us up and returned us to the train station. When Bernard found out that we couldn't book a D-Day tour, he spent the morning showing us the beaches and museums and dropped us at the American Cemetery. He and Joelle also showed us their new vacation home at the beach that was under construction. They are lovely people and they made our stay in Bayeux very memorable!
I would recommend this rental for anyone-- but if you are going without a car, be aware that it is maybe a mile walk to the main tourist area.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Bernard , Joelle and Virginie
Liked least: Distance to walk to town.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chip_Tame...
Burgaw, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Traveling on our honeymoon, we wanted to spend a few days relaxing in the French Countryside of Normandy. This was the perfect location to visit Bayeux, the landing beaches, Mt. St. Michel and Cider/Cheese country.

The accommodations were absolutely beautiful with a view of the cathedral. It is a downstairs apartment fully equipped with a modern kitchen, bath, etc.. All the construction is brand new and fully equipped with everything we needed for an extended stay. There was a lovely garden with table and chairs for our use as well.

Our quarters were a 10 minute walk from the center of town (a good thing for us as we were looking for a night's sleep). We rented a car and our hosts were gracious enough to allow us to park within the gates to their home and immediately outside of our room. There is also a large grocery store within 5 minutes (by car) that served us well when we just wanted to relax for the evening with wine, cheese, sausage and breads.

On our last night, our hosts and their daughter invited into their home for drinks. They are a gracious and kind family. They went above an beyond by driving us to the train station the morning we had to leave.

If you want a quiet stay in Bayeux (or Normandy in general), you wont find a more comfortable, hospitable and affordable place to stay. We could not have been more pleased.

Thank you Joanne, Bernard and Virginie!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonKBa...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bayeux”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

WE found the Gite (apartment) in excellent condition and very clean. The kitchen was very well fitted out and lacked nothing. There were even tabs for the dishwasher. The bathroom was of the same standard and very well designed so that when my sister called in on her way thru to the chunnel from Brittany staying overnight she also had access and the sofa bed in the living room was vey comfortable...apparently.
There was access thru the french windows to a patio area with lights and also to the garden which was very private and secure with great views of Bayeux Cathedral...as promised.
Our hosts were extremely pleasant and welcoming and left us to our own devices even though they live upstairs. They helped us on a couple of occasions too.
The property is newly developed and they will be adding in a dvd player connected to the flat screen tv and leaving clear access instructions for the free wifi.
You can walk to Bayeux along the river and medieval walls in 15 minutes and Bayeux itself is a delight and there are 75 restaurants I am sure! There is a small French Restaurant around the corner. Moules in the day New Quisine in the evenings.
There are also big local supermarkets, Carrefour (5 mins by car) and Leclerc 10-15minutes. Leclerc is the better.
Access to all the Normandy features like Arrowmanches and the WW11 sites are easy and close by. But do see the tapestry!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to Bayeux, no driving necessary
Liked least: Weather...rained quite a lot.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISABEL RA...
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Muchas gracias para su opinión maravillosa. Era un verdadero placer de encontrarle. Ustedes son totalmente muy gentiles.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cahu c
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Un grand merci à vous ,heureux d'avoir des gens comme vous ,votre avis nous encourage a, faire toujours mieux.
Au plaisir .Joëlle,Virginie,Bernard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAAT D
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy
Liked least: Een sauna zou in de winterperiode zeker een meerwaarde betekenen.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia160...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing