We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, comfortable apartment walking distance...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bayeux, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lmarie1
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming, comfortable apartment walking distance to old Bayeux city center”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We loved our 4 days at Gite le Kennedy. All of the previous reviews are spot-on. I want to add that the apartment had a DVD player and 2 DVD's that made our visit even more memorable. They were The Longest Day and Saving Private Ryan, two films about D-Day. I hadn't seen them previously, and in fact was in Bayeux principally to see the tapestry; however, after watching the films, we had to go to the beaches to experience and learn more about this important historic place. The apartment's garden is lovely, and there is a clothesline, too. With a washing machine in the house, it's convenient for the visitors to do a load of wash right there.
Thank you, Bernard and Virginie. I want to add that when we had one day of rain, we were able to have a cozy day "at home" in our stylish, spacious, and restful Normandy apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, the apartment itself and its amenities, the helpful owner(s)
Liked least: Trying to find the place, though we did indeed find it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastique!!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

If you're thinking of visiting Bayeux you wont go far wrong by booking Gite Le kennedy.
Situated in a very quiet cul de sac 5 - 10 mins walk from the centre of Bayeux the location is fantastic. Also a great base for all the WW2 beaches, cemeteries and museums.
Inside there is everything you could ask for and more, the owners have literally thought of everything.
I can't recommend this place highly enough and would like to thank Bernard, Joelle and Virginie for making our stay so good.
Will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdub2745
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Awesome place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My buddies and I really enjoyed staying here on our holiday to the Normandy area. The cottage is super close to the "downtown" area of Bayeux and the cathedral. Virginie (the owner's daughter) picked us up from the train station and provided us with some great recommendations around the area. If you're looking for a great place to stay, look no further ... this is it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunderbu...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“We would definitely recommend this property.”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Gite le Kennedy is lovely accommodation. It was very clean, the kitchen is very well equipped and there is a large off road parking area. The pull-out bed was very comfortable and very easy to make. The owners are really nice and very helpful, without being intrusive. There were plenty of maps and tourist information in the property. Bayeux centre, and local supermarkets are only 5-10 minutes walk away via road or a path by the canal and all the attractions and larger supermarkets are walkable. We would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your nice review and your visit David, Janet and Debbie. Hope you'll come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatScot...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay in Bayeux!”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I can't recommend this place highly enough! My aunt, uncle and I stayed for three nights, to do some casual sightseeing and unwind after a hectic few weeks of travelling.

We arrived by train and didn't get a rental car. The taxi from the station to the apartment was €7, once there the apartment is on a very quiet little street but is an easy 10 min walk into central Bayeux (Tapestry museums, cathedral, shops, tour departure points). I was travelling with older family members (one of whom had a walking stick) and we found it a breeze. The apartment really feels like home and is kitted out with everything you could possibly need (washing machine, AMAZING kitchen, wifi, etc). The pull-out sofa in the lounge was more comfortable than my actual bed at home! Everything is as the photos indicate. Great little garden to enjoy and the nicest hosts- we even got a little package of cookies/ sweets to welcome us.

Thanks Virginie, Joëlle and Bernard- it was great to meet you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, homeliness, hosts.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0tus1969
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Week in Bayeux”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked the beautiful apartment at Le Kennedy with Bernard after reading the wonderful reviews on Triip Adviser.

From start to finish from booking to departure we were delighted with the communication, assistance and hospitality afforded to us be Bernard and family. We travelled by car and ferry from Scotland to visit the Normandy area as it was a special time for our family, and both Bernard and Virginne were most helpful with their travel advice and local knowledge.

My father landed on D Day in 1944 on Sword Beach and we explored all of the coast as a family during our holiday.

The apartment was beautiful, comfortable and spotlessly clean on our arrival. We were made most welcome by Bernard and his daughter Virginne, and had the use of their beautiful garden during our stay.

The house is central to Bayeux and 10 minutes walk from the main shops.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this house to anyone visiting the Normandy area as we had a wonderful week there which we will remember for a very long time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly welcome of Bernard and Virginne
Liked least: No issues with anything during our stay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Many thanks John !! Our pleasure to read that !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda H
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place to Stay While in Bayeux or the Normandy Area.”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Gite Le Kennedy. The apartment is as beautiful or even more beautiful than the photos. The hosts are so very sweet, we enjoyed sharing a bottle of wine with Bernard. Bernard is taking English classes, in fact his English is much better than my French. As listed in the first review, it is a short walk to the City Center of Bayeux. You can walk along the beautiful river L'Aure. Grocery and wonderful pastry shops close by. We drove to St. Michel, about 1.5 hours. Hired a private guide to tour Normandy for the day. They allow full use of the property, yard and off street car park. The accommodations are very comfortable and quiet. A beautiful patio to sit on after a long day of touring. We hope to return to Bayeux and Gite Le Kennedy someday. Also, plan to tell all of our family and friends, this is the place to stay in Normandy. I could go on and on about how wonderful this property is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Host, locaton, peacefulness of lodging, everything was even better than pictured.
Liked least: Leaving this beautiful apartment & area of France
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;