We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights was enough”
Review of Hotel L'Univers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel L'Univers
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Caen
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Excellent Location, right next to the Harbour and the Bar's and Restaurant's. Rooms are ok, but extremely basic. Small Kettle and tea and Coffee in room.
Breakfast was 7Euro's which was half a Buagette and a Crousiant..choice of spreads, from small cheese, Jam, Honey and Nutella. Staff were very polite and friendly. NO LIFT in this hotel, so be prepared to lug your luggage.
The restaurant Attached to the Hotel is Very nice food and reasonable. Not sure what the Hotel rating is, but I would give it a 2 star.
One bit of Advice, if you stay over a Saturday night, you will have to move your car, as Sunday the car park is a market.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magoo29272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

Over the past 10 years we have mainly stayed in 2 star hotels and L'Universe has to be one of the better ones.

From it's location overlooking the harbor to it's bright and sunny rooms with comfy beds crisp sheets and good size bathrooms it is very good value

We had a corner room which also has a single bed so perhaps it was bigger than the others.

Breakfast too is better than the usual fare of croissant, half a baguette and coffee as it also included juice, cereals, yogurts and fruit.

We extended our stay to 5 nights because it is so nice to finds such good digs for such reasonable price which enables us to enjoy more of the great foods on offer in the "eating street" just two blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzGronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I was in Caen on a study-/businesstrip, and I stayed at hotel L'Univers for two weeks. This is a simple hotel with no extras, but if you really get what you pay for; the location is very good, the rooms ok and clean, and the staff are very helpful and nice and welcoming people. I will really recomend it - espesially if you are traveling on a limited budget.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

As in many other cities in France, the service in the hotel makes you forgive them some other things. Nikolas advised us everything we need and even exceeded our expectations in his hospitality and willing to communicate in good English. Seems we had the smallest room (203 if I am not mistaken), but with biggest bathroom (we've rechecked on evacuation plan). Everything was veeery simple, but clean and cosy, the price is fair. The street wasn't too noisy, hence I slept well for 2 nights we spent there, that is very important. WiFi worked well. Breakfast was tasty.

Important for drivers - parking is NOT private and can't be reserved. It is in front of the hotel, but public and between 3 and 10 pm it can be really hard to find a place. But you should just "hunt" it for 5-10 minutes and most probably somebody will leave. There are other parkings in 5 minutes: open near marina and also underground under chateau, but I don't know the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khenaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were quite satisfied with Hotel L'Univers. Typically small room, of course, but the bathroom was bigger than I expected (still small, but not terribly so), and quite modern and clean. Good friendly and helpful service at the front desk. Excellent location downtown. Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The owner of this hotel is absolutely terrific. He goes out of his way to do anything he can to make your stay a positive experience. He recommends restaurants in the area and the location is centrally located to all attractions. Our only complaint was our room was over a Irish Pub & thus was very noisy until closing. The owner was more than happy to change our room. Also, please be aware that since this hotel is under new ownership, some of the rooms have been refurbished & others have not. Would definitely recommend that you request a refurbished room & one that is not over the "Pub". Also, keep in mind there are 4 floors and no elevator. All in all, we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikeeandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Our room clearly a recent refurb to a high standard. Hotel recently under new management (excellent English spoken) who are trying very hard. Breakfast is no-frills but perfectly adequate. Free parking overnight in the adjacent town square.
We had a room on the corner of the building which gave a lovely view down the harbourside. But - the hotel is sited over a fairly busy road crossing, so there is some traffic noise unless you keep the windows closed. The higher you go the better, probably. Hence only 3 stars for location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Courtonne
Hotel Courtonne
#23 of 40 in Caen
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Quatrans
Hotel des Quatrans
#21 of 40 in Caen
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#30 of 40 in Caen
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Crocus
Hotel Crocus
#28 of 40 in Caen
167 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Carline
Hotel Carline
#13 of 40 in Caen
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#9 of 40 in Caen
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Univers

Address: 12 quai Vendeuvre, 14000 Caen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Caen
Price Range: £44 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Univers 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing