We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel”
Review of Ivan Vautier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivan Vautier Hotel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel was a real pleasure after a really bad one! We had a junior suite with our adult son and it was clean and roomy, with 2 flat screen tv's. Very clean overall. The noise didn't bother us at all. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and sauna, big towels and robes included. One big drawback was that in our room we could not access internet. Big drawback. The restaurant looked good but very pricey.the staff recommended a great restaurant we could walk too. Also easy free parking.

,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivanvautier, Propriétaire at Ivan Vautier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kinds words about your stay.
Yes, the junior suite you stayed in is very comfortable for 3 adults.
We would like to apologize for the problem with internet access..

See you another time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Another lovely hotel. Parking, plenty of it and free. Hotel has a very homely atmosphere and staff very helpful. Fell in love with their pet cat who is in charge of everything. Our room was okay but could have been bigger. We were here three nights and only in the room for sleeping so served the purpose. Windows can be opened but noisy. Double glaze so very quite when shut.Very convenient town for the Caen War Museum which is a must. A very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back of this hotel, less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

At the end of a hot, tiring car journey, this was a great place to stop and relax.
The bedroom was beautifully designed and furnished, with high quality accessories
throughout. Clearly, the hotel is noted for its haute cuisine ( and prices to match), which was
not our priority that evening, so we ate elsewhere, and came back for a blissful night's sleep.
The hotel deserves a better location, being surrounded by busy main roads in a rather ordinary
suburb ; it took us a good 20 minutes to walk into town for a meal. I would love to have stayed there on a business expense account !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After getting married in Bordeaux, we decided on spending a couple nights somewhere in France on the way back to England and after looking at Ivan Vautier, decided that Caen would be an ideal place.

Ivan Vautier is an absolutely fantastic place to stay. For all the potential hotels I emailed to try and arrange some simple surprises to be in the room on arrival - a bottle of champagne and roses, IV were the fastest, most professional and most flexible (not to mention understanding of my infantile french!). My contact, Valerié, was brilliant and truly the whole staff were second to none.

Room: The room was lovely. We went for the Junior suite and it had everything that you wanted: a super king sized, exceptionally comfortable bed, excellent shower, roomy bathtub and a little seating area too. It's a French hotel room so don't expect vast spaces but still very roomy and perfect for two people!

Location: There's a private car park at the rear (making our car stuffed full of wedding dress, suits and gifts safe) and it's exceptionally easy to drive to. Yes, it isn't in downtown Caen but it's ridiculously easy to get into town. If you're not too posh you can get the #2 bus, for €1.35, right outside the hotel and that goes everywhere you need in the town! Alternatively, the hotel will book a taxi for you - €13 into town. Very professional company who's operators speak English if you need.

Amenities: there is a hotel bar and it's the only slight mark I have against IV. It's not a traditional "bar". It's more of a lounge area, which for us was perfect! As there's no "bartender" you simply ask the concierge if you can have a few drinks in the bar and they'll sort you out - even give you some nibbles from the Michelin Star restaurant (I never thought smoked eel could be anything other than vile, but it's bloody amazing!). As with anything in France, ask and you'll find the answer.

All in all, a brilliant hotel! A perfect and relaxing start to married life and who can complain of having breakfast delivered to your room every morning (once again, just ask!).

One note - there is a hotel cat! It's gorgeous and fantastically aloof but in case you're very allergic, it's something to think about! We loved it but refrained from stealing it!

Downsides? The website says the rooms are soundproofed...not quite. You can hear people outside the room but no one next door. And the AC is quite loud. So we got over that by having another bottle of wine :-p We will absolutely be returning!!!

Room Tip: Junior suite. Hands down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwc840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivanvautier, Propriétaire at Ivan Vautier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Sir,


We really thank you for your feedback and kind words.
it was a pleasure to welcome you.

We wish you a lot of love and happiness !

Looking forward to welcoming you another time !


IVAN VAUTIER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Location a bit away from city center. More than a walk. Very clean with updated room. Free wifi. Good parking. Friendly reception staff. Had dinner in their restaurant. It was very good, ordered the trust the chief option (four courses). A bit pricey. Not much of bar area to relax. Patio but weather did not allow use. Must say very quite for a hotel inside the city. All in all good choice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I booked 4 nights away for a romantic getaway..I am South African and my boyfriend is French .... The welcome was impeccable ... As I own a restaurant in France I decided I would also reserve a table in the restaurant ... We really could not fault this establishment at all the service was 5 * and there was nothing that the staff could do better for us we were made to feel very very comfortable "home from home" we realise that there are people that may not be content with everything that 5* may provide but this is certainly priced well and valued with every aspect .... The food was outstanding dinner, and breakfast... As my other half is deaf there was also no problems with our arrangement in seating they were very accommodating ... Anyone reading this comment ... You will NOT be disappointed at all .... Well done to Ivan and his team you have got it right !!!!! I will never forget our stay ... Big cuddles to Mimi too !!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and were not disappointed.
We did not have dinner in the hotel although we were being encouraged to - we took a taxi into the town and had a wonderful meal there. Back to the hotel, the rooms we had were large rooms very comfortable and clean, staff were courteous and helpful and will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigi52_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
1.7 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
1.6 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#6 of 41 in Caen
491 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivan Vautier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivan Vautier Hotel

Address: 3 avenue Henry Cheron, 14000 Caen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range: £97 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ivan Vautier Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandrine and Ivan Vautier are pleased to welcome you into their new design and contemporary universe, wich blends comfortable and modern style. In additionnal of its high standing cuisine, "IVAN VAUTIER" offers now a high quality of accomodation facilities.Located close to down town Caen, this warm and refined new place will make you feel welcome and will exceed your expectation in terms of design and coziness. The hotel "IVAN VAUTIER" features 19 comfortable spacious rooms soberly decorated with elegant and modern furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ivan Vautier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing