We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very spacious room with spacious bathroom, waterfall style shower, working AC!, comfortable beds, new/modern furnishings, clean, comfortable, great location in the city without too much noise, pretty good breakfast buffet. I really don't have much bad to say about this place, it was the best hotel we stayed at in France!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for one night here and paid a little extra to have a Privilege room. This was well worth it as we had a docking station for our i-phones, a quiet location withing the hotel and a Nespresso machine as well as tea making facilities. Loved being able to make a decent coffee at the press of a button (though do make sure you fill the container with fresh water as it may have been standing for a while) The parking was secure although we did have to pay 10 Euros for over night. Good standard of room, pleasant staff. Did not stay for breakfast as we wanted to get on the road quite early and also we thought 16 Euros each was a bit expensive!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masonmou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Large room,very comfortable. Front Desk staff was extremely helpful with directions, restaurants, etc. Easy cab ride to the train station. Breakfast was WONDERFUL both in terms of quality and selection. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book the premier rooms; they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice room, lovely bathroom with a walk in shower (no bath if that bothers you). Comfy bed and linen, tastefully decorated and the aircon worked very well in the summer heat.
Lots of nice restaurants around the marina all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. I only ate in Le Grillion next door which was nice and great value.
Only a couple of slight glitches. They mention that there's a good selection of international channels on the tv. OK if you speak French as everything is subtitled apart from BBC World News.
The wi-fi was free but painfully slow. I speed tested it at under 0.25Mb/s so I ended up using my own phone as a hotspot as I have a worldwide free data plan.
The towels in the bathroom were quite small and not very good quality. Not much bigger than hand towels.
Breakfast buffet was nice though with a good selection of hot and cold food and nice coffee. The hotel and Caen did not seem to be very busy for mid July though. I was the only person having breakfast the first day although I did go down after 0900 both days.
The hotel has parking for €10 per day but I just parked on the street as it was free. I managed to park right outside although there are some bays marked payent but even these are free between 1900 and 0900 although there is a Sunday market so you will get towed if you park overnight on Saturday.
I might stay here again but the Ibis right next door is much cheaper although I guess not such nice rooms.
I did have reservations about using Caen as a base to explore Normandy but it was fine. Did not have enough time to explore the city as I was really there to see the D-Day stuff but the Abbeye looked impressive

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RonaldoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments
I will pass them on to our teams.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank MomentsNotice
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Ideally situated in Caen, with clean rooms and helpful staff fluent in English, this was perfect for weary travellers. We chose a standard room and it was spacious and suitable. Be careful with the shower, they can leak. I suspect the drains can't clear away water to keep up with the shower.

All in all I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the low down on the parking. If they don't give you a code, you will be trappe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devious_Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was a good hotel, with a friendly and helpful staff. Our room was a "Privilege Room," and it was comfortable and spacious, with a king sized bed. The hotel's location was good, within walking distance of many nice restaurants. Our only complaint was that the shower in the bathroom did not drain properly, and every time we used it, water spilled out onto the bathroom floor. When we asked about it, we were told that problem was due to faulty construction of the floor of the shower. Don't know if this problem exists in all the rooms, but during our three night stay, this became a major annoyance. If not for this, we would have rated the hotel "4 stars."

Room Tip: Find out if the shower has a drain problem before booking a particular room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dvdcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de nous écrire à la suite de votre séjour à l'hôtel Mercure Caen Centre.

Vous avez gardé un souvenir mitigé de votre séjour dû au disfonctionnement de l'évacuation de votre douche. Sachez que des travaux ont été effectués dans cette chambre pour remédier à ce problème. Nous sommes désolés que cela ai perturbé votre séjour et nous vous présentons nos sincères excuses pour ce désagrément.

Nous espérons qu’en dépit de ces contrariétés, nous pourrons continuer, à la faveur des améliorations apportées, à vous compter parmi les clients de notre établissement.

Sincères Salutations.

Jean-Yves GUTH
Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#6 of 41 in Caen
496 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Address: 1 rue de Courtonne | Bp 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caen
#6 Business Hotel in Caen
Price Range: £78 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Normandy in the city of William the Conqueror: the Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, located in the city center, has 126 luxury rooms, renovated in 2009, including 24 Privilege Rooms and 4 suites, all with air conditioning. Our Atrium and 6458 sq. ft (600 m²) of modular conference rooms can be booked for receptions and seminars. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Centre Port De Plaisance Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing