We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean rooms and decent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very Clean rooms and decent restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and got deal for (stay, Breakfast and Dinner). The front desk speak very good English and are very pleasing. This hotel is walkable from the Twisto Terminal and accessible easily from the Old Fort and Restaurant circles. The rooms were very clean with high speed Wifi. Parking is very limited and people use the nearby shopping mall for parking in the night. There is a good Spa and Fitness center right in the hotel.
Suprises and spoilers: No Elevators for the rooms, at some distance from the river side and city center.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pazham75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    112
    74
    20
    18
See reviews for
23
132
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

we stayed here for 4 days in December. The hotel was in a great location - but parking was very limited, we managed to park outside the hotel as it was not full - but in season I can imagine it being very difficult to impossible. Parking in the roads outside seemed also impossible even in December as it was so busy, and was metered so quite expensive.
Out price included breakfast which was very good. However we only ate at other times once as it was very over priced. I think we paid 12 euros for 2 chocolate drinks while in the town we paid 5 euros for two just as good.
Also had an argument with member of staff as to whether we had been given 2 tea bags - completely ridiculous - got an apology in the end as we hadn't been given any but you don't expect to be called a liar to your face - so take your own tea bags and avoid bridget the tea bag monitor.
we didn't use the spa.
I wouldn't go again especially in the summer because of the parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road which is most very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiffkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I liked this hotel. Service was good and rooms are actually very nice and newly redecorated in a quite stylish way. Rooms are small though (and the loo was the tiniest I've ever seen). I loved the breakfast. Staff was also nice. There was one thing that irritated me though: the wifi. It didn't work that well and to enter all personal details in order to log on is in my opinion a violation of privacy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svein H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I only stayed one night, the hotel is well situated with everything close at hand, the hotel room was clean with all that you expect and the bed was comfortably, the staff are polite and will do anything to help, That's the good points.
I ate in the restaurant and the food and wine was good but extremely overpriced.
Yes I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again but eat outside next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Reasonable Priced small typical hotel.
If your travelling to the area you cannot beat this hotel.
Clean, Quiet, Affordable.
Great food within walking distance.
Well laid out, and superbly clean.
Trip Advisor makes you use 200 characters to review but I just can't talk that much :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wockhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not value for money. Charged £6 for a beer in the bar. Not a very good selection for breakfast hence we ate out. Parking was not good and not sufficient for the amount of rooms. First come first serve. Was in a good location for the attractions. Limited places to eat on a sunday as their restaurant is closed. The room itself was large. We had to ask for a fan as there is no air conditioning. Had to close the shutters as our room looked out onto a rear court yard which had a light sensor/disco light on and off all night. Shower is over the bath and the bath is not mounted property and did not feel safe to stand in. Cleaner left us with dirty towels. Reception staff friendly. Stayed 2 nights

Room Tip: No views in any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is definitely not a 4 star hotel. It is a 3 star by North American standards. It is a nice property and good location, with an excellent restaurant. However, the rooms are only average. We did have a nice, spacious room on the 1st floor that had 2 windows that opened for a good cross breeze. However, there was no fan in the room, no air conditioning. They did bring fans to rooms when you complained. Others complained of the heat in their rooms.
There was also no Kleenix boxes in the room. They put 1 pack of kleenix that had 4 tissues in it only. Towels were small and thin. Pillows as well.
THe biggest complaint we had was that the computer offered for guest use, was ancient and not useful. It was so old that it had a tower with floppy disc. It was so slow, that I got frustrated and couldn't use it. That is not a 4 star hotel. The other problem is that receptionis not manned 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dem6806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Moderne
0.4 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure
Address: 29 rue Gemare, 14000 Caen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very heart of the city of William the Conqueror, you will be charmed by the warm atmosphere of this former priory. The hotel is well appointed place to discover Normandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Dauphin Hotel Caen
Best Western Hotel Caen
Best Western Caen
Caen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing