We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, practical, option when visiting Normandy”
Review of Adagio Caen Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adagio Caen Centre
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good, practical, option when visiting Normandy”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here with my wife and young child. My Aunty and Uncle also stayed in seperate room. Parking was simple - right outside the front door. Checkin was welcoming and friendly. Rooms as practical and functional.

The only downsides to out stay were related to Caen and not the hotel. Caen seems to shut down on Monday's and if you're trying to find a resturaunt you might struggle. In the end, after a long walk, we bought a chinese takeaway. The other minor issue was that there was a prostitute working the stree right outside our window. It was actually interesting for a while but did make me think twice about going outside in the dark. I would have been fine but with a wallet lacking cash I was like a child in a toy shop with no money 8-)

Room Tip: ask for a river view otherwise you may be facing a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    209
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
135
180
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a little bit different from our norm. The Adagio is a block of apartments and we booked a studio apartment. This meant we got a large room with two good sized beds together with a small kitchen, equipped with a 2 hob ring, kettle, microwave and fridge. This was perfect for preparing our own breakfast, especially as there is an Ocean underneath the block and a Carrefour nearby.

Cooking an evening meal might have been a little more challenging but certainly achievable although Caen does have an excellent selection of restaurants.

The bathroom is set aside and is large, neat and functional. The whole set up works well and the location is excellent within a short walk of the bus and train station and with the city just across the river.

The only down is that I took the opportunity to get a pair of jeans cleaned by the laundry service which was reasonably priced and did a good job but the front desk was reluctant to take them at first. Only a minor blip - Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Traveled here in June this year. The rooms are very nice. The bed easily folds up into the wall to create a living room. Big windows overlooking the canal. The staff was very helpful and kind. The room had an electric stove top, a microwave, mini ridge and everything else you need for a long or short stay. The bathroom was large and had a nice large shower. There is a grocery store just around the corner so you can get everything you need if you choose to cook. A mall a short walk down the street, plenty of restaurants as well. A great hotel in a great city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Had a bit of an issue with their online website but the hotel was great. Large, with a kitchen, helpful staff, inexpensive parking. Couldnt ask for more. Only thing to note is wifi only in the lobby but that seems to be a common thread around France.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_cosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great big rooms with comfortable sofa beds, easy to fold away during the day. The kitchen area worked well for preparing breakfast. Great large bathroom with a good shower! The hotel is modern, overlooking a quay and a short walk from the small harbour. Good parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We had a room overlooking the river. The rooms converted from bedroom to living room quickly. And the kitchenette gave you a cook top, microwave, fridge and dishwasher. There was a grocery store around the corner. Great location. A quick drive to the Beaches of Normandie. Walking distance to the Chateau Ducal and there were loads of great restaurant and shopping. One downside was Wifi only available in the lounge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de donner votre avis sur notre Aparthotel et votre séjour à Caen.
Mon équipe et moi-même sommes ravis que votre séjour ait été à la hauteur de vos attentes et nous espérons avoir le plaisir de accueillir de nouveau.

Cordialement,

Jonathan GUILLOUX
Directeur Aparhotel Adagio Caen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked two rooms for two nights at this hotel. Front office reception was terrible and they were less than accommodating for our daughter and her beau's room which had a faulty air conditioning system. Rather than switching rooms when they realized there was a problem the first night, the answer was to give them an extra comforter! And a free breakfast the following morning that was not good. They simply refused to take a look to try to fix it. On the second night, the air was even worse in this room- and finally, reception staff moved them yo a fourth floor room that was better. Also the bathroom shower door had been pushed off tracks by housekeeping and towels littered over the bathroom. Our room was not cleaned properly either. Dirty pillows. Most importantly, the downstairs rooms have electric "iron curtains" that are actually safety barriers over the downstairs windows that face parking lot. Didn't make us feel terribly safe. The location was not great. Parking gate was broken. This was a pre- paid booking - our advice: don't do that with this hotel! We should have left it immediately.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLMboiseidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments.
First of all, I would like to apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
We attach a great deal of importance to correcting any errors that occur, with a view to enhancing our quality standards and customer satisfaction levels, and your remarks regarding our Housekeeping services have therefore been duly noted.
We shall make every effort to remedy these problems and ensure that your next stay with us proceeds smoothly.

Kind regards,

Jonathan GUILLOUX
General Manager Aparhotel Adagio Caen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.5 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
1.7 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Caen Centre

Property: Adagio Caen Centre
Address: 1 quai Eugene Meslin, 14000 Caen, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Caen Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adagio Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing