We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern, nice room, kitchenette”
Review of Adagio Caen Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adagio Caen Centre
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights and used this hotel as a home base to explore the region. Easy access to D-Day beaches, Bayeux, and Honfluer. We even did Mont St. Michel, and St. Malo from here in a day. We had a rental car and took advantage of the off-street parking.

The room was large and very modern and also very clean. The kitchen was nice to have and we made snacks and lunches several times. There is a market right outside the front door but it closes pretty early. There is a Carrfour not far across the river that stays open later.

Not having WiFi in the room is a drawback. The system for getting access to the free wifi in the lobby was a little dodgy to use on an iphone. It worked, but was quite slow.

The gym was a joke, not that I was expecting much. A single treadmill, a single stationary bike, a single rowing machine, and a weight bench with no weighs.

Kitchen had a dishwasher, microwave, dishes and cups. A nice bonus.

I would probably stay here again because it's 'safe'. Being a chain you can be pretty confident in what you're getting. Certainly lacked any sort of personality though.

Room Tip: No Wifi in the rooms. Interior rooms have no view but also no traffic noise so we left the windows...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Adagio Caen Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Loved the Adagio. Adequate for four adults. cooked our breakfast in the room and coul have cooked other meals is required. Grocery shop right around the corner. Nice view of the canal from the room.

Free parking and quite convenient.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the canal.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddMoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Found hotel through booking.com. Was a last minute choice but a good one.
Rooms are modern (except no wifi). Comfortable beds.
What prevents a 5 star rating?... We stayed 4 nights and got no room service. Stay up to 3 it's daily, stay 7 and it's daily but no housekeeping between!!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Twink_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I booked a studio for 2 at this property for our 5-night stay in late March. We were pleasantly surprised by its modernity, comfort and location. We arrived by rental car and decided to use the secure outdoor parking at the back for EUR5 a day; there is free street parking out front along the canal, but the trees were being trimmed that week and the parking was restricted, so we had little choice, but we’d have chosen the secure parking anyway, just because...
In this new building, our studio on the 5th (top) floor was cozy due to its compact size, but in all fairness, the large bed was super comfortable; we chose to have a bed rather than a sofa-bed, which would leave more room in the studio during the day; the linens were crisp and the pillows comfortable (2 on the bed + extra in the wardrobe); the kitchenette very well appointed with good-size but small fridge, microwave oven, 2-hob stove and plenty of dishes; the bathroom was large, with a heated towel rack, hairdryer and in the large shower, a compact, telescopic clothes rack for one’s hand-washed “unmentionables”; I hasten to add that the property has a fitness centre, breakfast room next to the lobby ($) and coffee/hot drink vending machine as well as a laundry room with one washer (EUR5) and one dryer (EUR3); no need for detergent as the washer, a Miele, automatically dispenses it!(of the low-suds eco-friendly kind). There is also free Internet throughout the property which, I was told, is being upgraded this month.
The studio’s window can be opened for fresh(er) air, though the suite is air-conditioned by self-control pad. The Adagio Caen Centre is in an “L” shape, with about half of the rooms/suites overlooking the canal, the other, a main street. Ours was overlooking the canal, and though there is acceptable noise from bridge traffic, the view was pretty and would be even nicer once the trees are in full leaf and the flags adorn the bridge.
Of the 11 properties we booked for our 3-week private pilgrimage to the Normandy Beaches, this was the most modern; short walking distance to 2 supermarkets and many other shops helped with our budget. The only negative was that there was no maid service included for our 5-night stay, only at a cost, though stays 1-3 nights offer free daily maid service; this didn’t seem fair, somehow; at least 1 service would have been nice…
The customer service at Reception was top-notch though and every effort to make our stay comfortable was appreciated. We would not hesitate to recommend this property to other travellers; I also understand that this Adagio property is part of a European chain, good to know for those travellers touring Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite overlooking the canal, they are quieter and with a better view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Orleans51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Customer,

The entire staff team at the Adagio Caen Centre was delighted to read your comment.
Your satisfaction is a great motivation for us to maintain the quality of our welcome/service.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again for your next stay at one of European destinations.

Looking forward to seeing you,

Jonathan GUILLOUX
General Manager Aparhotel Adagio Caen Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel, was pretty good. The room was nice, small, but nicely decorated. The parking lot was convenient, but does cost extra. The breakfast was okay, kinda expensive at 11e just for bread, cheese, and boiled eggs that you have to cook yourself. The location was pretty good, downtown area, close walk to the mall and other shopping streets.

The main issue I had with this hotel was the lack of wifi in rooms. There was wifi available in the lobby, but only cable internet in the room. This was an issue because both my and my fiance's laptop are modern enough that they don't have a cable plug in. We had to buy a router to get wifi in our room. Also having to insert a key to turn on the power in the room was inconvenient, but it seems to be a European thing and therefore not unique to this hotel. The bed was the worst part! Again it seems to be a European thing to push 2 single beds together and call it a double, but when those beds keep sliding apart it makes cuddling impossible.

Overall, pretty good. I probably would have rated this hotel higher but it was uncomfortable not having wifi in the room and having the bed separate constantly.

Room Tip: Bring a router so you can have wifi in your room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment, which has been carefully noted.

We would like first to apologize for the lack of WIFI in your apartment, it is currently only available in the lobby. Internet access in the apartments is through ethernet cables only at the moment. Note that we have taken the decision to install WIFI over the coming months, this issue will therefore be resolved soon!

We also noted your disappointment about the twin beds. Note that we also have double bed studios available. Next time you come and stay at the Aparthotel Adagio Caen Centre feel free to call us the day before you arrive, so that we can reserve a double bed studio for you. Unfortunately we did not get this information when you booked.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Adagio Caen Centre,

Kind regards,

Jonathan GUILLOUX
General Manager Aparthotel Adagio Caen Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in March, 2014 while on vacation to France. The room was a welcome change from the tiny rooms we had in Paris. The staff was quite friendly and helpful, and the ability to cook food was fantastic.
The nearest Twisto tram stop is about 2 blocks, and bus stops right outside the hotel, and the main SNCF station is about 3 blocks away.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is worth skipping, you can get much better food for less in town. The location...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik_A1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed here for 2 nights in January. The apartment hotel is almost brand new, it was very comfortable. Our 2 bedroom suite was a good size for European hotels. We folded the sofa bed away during the day and there was a good size dining table and chairs. We had a nice view of the river, and there was a mid size supermarket in the same building. The staff were very friendly, they even baked our frozen pizza in their oven for us! We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.5 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Caen Centre

Address: 1 quai Eugene Meslin, 14000 Caen, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range: £61 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Caen Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adagio Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing