We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twelve Months On - Back Again”
Review of Le Bellevue

Le Bellevue
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Bellevue
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Caen
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I posted a review in August 2011, having used this hotel twice before, and for the third time in as many years we used it again as an overnight stop before our journey down through France. Basically, my review would be the same as 12 months ago - convenient, reasonably prices, certainly not luxurious but comfortable and the family room was ideal for us. We didn't use the small kitchenette and I can't imagine that these would be often used, and the bathroom and shower are cramped but perfectly usable. The optional breakfast (6.50 euros) was good value and delicious and the Manager (Proprietor?) was helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noctonlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Nice place, clean, friendly staff. On the bus routes, and has a grocery store across the street. Just a note that if you don't have a car, its a little out of the way. Would I stay again? yes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed here a few nights as a jumping off place to visit the D-Day area and beaches. The apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable. Unexpectedly it included a well equipped kitchen. It was conveniently located to stores, restaurants and highways in a nice nieghborhood. The front desk was very helpful. Breakfast was delivered to our room every morning as there is not a common area. You are able to order what you would like to drink and select the time of delivery. There was also a private parking lot with free parking.

Room Tip: It appeared that the rooms were all upstairs and we did not see an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammycameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight after crossing to Caen from Portsmouth, 5 adults, 3 children & a baby. The three rooms were all different and quite far apart as this place is a bit labyrinthine, but all were clean & comfy. Bathrooms all tiny but functional, all had little kitchenettes & there is a supermarket opposite if you wished to self cater. Breakfast delivered in room - standard continental fare 7euros.
No good if you can't do stairs unless you request ground floor room but ideal as a stopover. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed in the studio apartment on the second floor. It was clean and had excellent kitchen facilities,the kitchenette even had a door so that the cooking smell stayed mainly in the kitchen.There is no lift so we had to carry our bags up 2 flights of narrow stairs. There is ample off street parking and the staff were very helpful. It is a good base for touring Bayeux and the Invasion Beaches.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel21170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

we've stayed here twice in the last 12 months. Both times it has been after crossing the Channel before a long drive down through France. We've used a family room and it's been clean and comfortable. Staff have been friendly and the breakfasts excellent. It's studio type accomodation so ideal for families. The rooms are slightly dated and I certainly wouldn't call them luxurious but this hotel has been excellent for what we needed it for

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noctonlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We stayed here for one night after driving up from Southern France as a prelude to a ferry trip back to the UK. I was travelling with my wife and our 3 small children aged 5, 3 and 1 respectively. Our initial impressions were that is was exactly as expected, i.e. a small urban hotel. Once inside we had a family room which had a double bed and two single pull out beds for the children. A travel cot was supplied for our 1 year old and all were made up with clean comfortable sheets and blankets. The decor is somewhat dated in the corridors etc but the rooms themselves were good. Facilities were all in good working order and well thought out. The kitchenette contained fridge, hob, oven, microwave and a reasonable range of cutlery and crockery was provided.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in a similar situation as well as for a longer stay as a base for the Caen area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mothy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
2.9 mi away
Pauseome
Pauseome
#22 of 40 in Caen
94 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Savoy Caen
2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#29 of 40 in Caen
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Crocus
Hotel Crocus
#27 of 40 in Caen
168 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Carline
Hotel Carline
#13 of 40 in Caen
223 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bellevue

Address: 89 avenue Henry Cheron, 14000 Caen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Caen
Price Range: £42 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Bellevue 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bellevue Caen
Le Bellevue Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing