We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was with a party of veterans visiting the beaches.The hotel was very clean and the bed gave me a super kip.
A very nice cafe just next door and most conveniant to visit the castle,shops and marina.staff were very helpful

Room Tip: get a room not overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    198
    31
    3
    1
See reviews for
76
157
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here in April 2014. We had a very comfortable room overlooking the square. Very comfortable bed and great shower. The staff were friendly and helpful and as other reviewers said, Briac was helpful and knowledgeable about the area and restaurants. Great base for visiting the Normandy landing sites.

Room Tip: Visit Honfleur
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dermot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over Easter. Was a great central point to stay at for travelling around Normandy. Was with 4 others and we took a twin room and triple room. Furnishings were really good, comfortable bed and the rooms were very tidy. Staff were helpful for places to eat. Was a great stay especially around Easter as the restaurants etc were open on most of the public holidays. Just beware parking will cost you up to 9 Euro a day unless it's a public holiday when you can park on the street for free.

Room Tip: Just beware it's not free parking. There is also homeless people that gather at the park acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulllinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed overnight on our way to Carentan. This is a small, but delightful little hotel; very European in design. Our double room was quite a good size by European standards. The furnishings were up to date and very comfortable. The windows opened out onto the square and the only issue I had was that they were not soundproof so I could hear young students enjoying their night below, well into the night! Had we stayed longer I would have just asked for a different room and I'm sure they would have obliged. Bathroom and linens were clean. Breakfast was continental and plentiful. You can easily walk most places you want to go and I found the English speaking staff very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor or away from the front square if you are sensitive to noises at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie0791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location in the center of Caen - easy to walk to shops and restaurants. Stayed in a superior room overlooking the plaza and the soundproofing was good enough to keep the noise out. Typical european city hotel - small building, beds not very comfortable, small rooms/bathrroms and limited breakfast. Front desk staff was attentive and helpful - no issues helping guests in english. Made day trips to D-Day beaches and memorials as well as to Mont Saint Michel. There is a private underground car park just opposite the entrance of the hotel on the plaza. Overall we thought this was a good, functional and convenient base to explore this part of Normandy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A small european style hotel in the heart of Caen. You can walk, bus and tram everywhere. Great spots to shop, have a petite wine or an expresso. The real gem of this spot is Briac David, master of the front desk and part-time gourmet who sent us to a couple of wonderful restaurants in the old part of town. He is also a historian and has knowledge of all of the WWII activity in the Cael and wonderful pictures on the big screen. The boyyom line...super clean rooms, great parking at a discount, nice breakfast and Mr. Briac

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Kyriad is well located for everywhere you need for eating out and shopping. The rooms are small but very clean and adequate. The secure Car Parking is discounted - worth it for the peace of mind. The staff are really welcoming and friendly. This made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dib039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.5 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#4 of 41 in Caen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#10 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Caen Centre

Property: Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Address: 1 Place de la Republique, 14000 Caen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caen
#2 Business Hotel in Caen
#4 Family Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Caen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Caen Centre
Kyriad Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing