We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel is very comfortable in a perfect location and terrific staff. Easy parking in underground carpark oposite. Room was everything we wanted at a very reasonable price considering how central the hotel is. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    199
    31
    3
    1
See reviews for
78
159
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spofford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Following two days of touring the Normandy Beaches and Mont Saint-Michel we returned to Caen to drop off our rental car and rest before our long day of travel that would end in Reykjavik, Iceland. I booked this hotel in advance without much expectation that it would be the highlight of our trip. I am happy to say the Kyriad was just what we needed. Clean room and bathroom, a comfortable bed, nice safe location near plenty of places to eat and drink, a laundry just two blocks away (we really needed this!), and a helpful staff. They serve breakfast ($) but foolishly we skipped it then could not find any place open early Sunday morning. Caen itself seemed like a city that could use some PR. It has a great deal to offer and I wish we had more time to explore it. Worth it!

Room Tip: A room at least one floor above the street gives nice views and reduced street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevesaint
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We only stayed their one night but the room large, clean and we had a nice view over the square. Restaurants nearby and parking available across the street.

We slept well and have no complaints about anything.

Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevesaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Kyriad hotel at city centre in Caen was our base for sightseeing around Normandy. It was clean and staffed by very friendly and multilingual employees. The room was small but comfortable. It was not luxury but more functional in nature. The only issue we had was the elevator broke on our day of check out and the staff helped carry our luggage down the stairs. Breakfast was provided and there was discounted parking in the garage across the street. It was walking distance to the castle and numerous resturaunts. We had a rental car and visited Omaha beach, the American cemetery, Pointe Du Hoc, St. Mer Eglise, and Mont St. Michelle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank I10driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halle, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the centre of Caen, near shops, restaurants and historic sites.
Parking across the street.
Good and friendly service, they recommended some restaurants (check out Boeuf & Cow) and even made reservations (Le petit B - delicious)
Room was neat, bathroom was fine. Special taste in chairs.. ;-)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here en route to the 70th D-Day commemorations, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. But the owner Ophelia and her husband are outstanding in their friendliness and helpfulness - nothing was too much trouble! They solved a problem we had, which took considerable time and effort, for which we were and are grateful! Ophelia - thank you very much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband took three D-Day veterans to visit the beach landing areas and stayed at this hotel. The staff, lead by the owner Briac, were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble for them and, whenever one of the vets took ill, the night receptionist called the doctor and took charge of the situation in a most professional way.
The rooms are very clean and the location in the middle of Caen is excellent. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#4 of 41 in Caen
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#5 of 41 in Caen
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#8 of 41 in Caen
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Caen Centre

Property: Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Address: 1 Place de la Republique, 14000 Caen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caen
#2 Business Hotel in Caen
#4 Family Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Caen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Caen Centre
Kyriad Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing