We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Appart'City Caen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Appart'City Caen
Epping Forest, Essex
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We needed an overnight stop after a ferry crossing arriving at 10 pm. We weren't expecting much, but we were impressed with what we found. Very easy to locate from the port and near a supermarket for petrol and supplies the next morning. We were 2 couples and a baby and the parents were upgraded to a large apartment (which could have accommodated all of us) and cot provided as requested. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfast included in the very reasonable room rate was excellent - simple but everything fresh and tasty. There is no reception in the late evening so it's essential to get a code for entry and retrieval of keys from a safe inside the hotel. Would recommend for an easy one night stopover

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eppingedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    62
    51
    40
    29
See reviews for
64
86
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I am really surprised by the many negative ratings here. We were travelling round Normandy earlier this month and booked a range of hotels online before leaving home including our 3 nights in Caen.
This hotel is very high up on our list as far as value for money is concerned. It was obviously a budget option and met all expectations. It was great having the little kitchen and especially the fridge.
We may have been lucky with the room itself. We were on the third floor and it was quiet although we were actually above the main entrance. We had a balcony which we used for having breakfast, sitting out a bit in the evening (Could have done without the smokers outside the door puffing their smoke up on to our balcony the first night) and also for drying our washing.
This was in the middle of our trip and it was great to have access to a washing machine and paying for a token at reception was no big deal - we were just grateful that it was possible and we didn't have to go looking for a laundrette in town.
I also don't understand why people get themselves in to the situation of not being able to get in to the accommodation they have booked. Surely reception opening hours are published on all websites/booking confirmations and if not, you simply ask in advance!!! We called from Honfleur as we realised we wouldn't make 8 p.m. as per our booking confirmation without a major rush and getting the code and instructions over the phone was perfect. By the time we arrived the car park was quite full and some of the spaces at the back were quite narrow and difficult to manoever in to but that is the only negative thing I can think of.
The receptionists were very helpful the next morning. In addition to the tokens for the washing machine they also sell tickets for public transport so the day we spent in Caen itself we bought a day ticktet (Think it was EUR 4.50 for a family ticket which was probably cheaper than parking) and we caught the tram which stops really close to the hotel and gets you in to town in about 15 minutes. There is also a bus which stops even closer but we didn't try it out.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smgMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I don't really understand a lot of the other reviews that slate this place. Its quite obvious when you book that they are apartments, and that it is not a hotel, therefore don't expect hotel service.

The arrival was simple enough, get a text with the entry code and key safe code. Get the envelope and key to the room and done. Lobby/entrance area clean and tidy, as were the hallways. Room was well equipped, linens provided plus extra duvets, cooker, fridge, sat tv and plenty of info available for things to do around Caen. We enjoyed our stay here very much, make what you want of things and don't be so picky, haters!

Cheap too, got 2 nights for around 70euros :D

Room Tip: Get a room with a view from the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sockjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This "hotel" is not an actual hotel. It appears to be an old dormitory. It is more like a hostel. No one cleans your room or replenishes your linens. When we asked for clean towels we were told that it would be 10 euros! There were cobwebs in each of the corners of the ceiling. The pictures of the room on the web do not look anything like our room. The desk clerks are snotty, charge for everything and there is no one on the desk from 12 - 3 each day. Every night there were several persons stranded outside the hotel because they did not have a code to get in the building and/or a key. Many left to find other hotels because the desk closes at 8. They advertise a laundry but you have to get tokens from the desk for the washer, dryer and soap. With the limited hours of the desk it was difficult to obtain them. When we went to use them the dryer was broken.
The only pros I have for this room is that it was very quiet and the blinds in the room kept it dark. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caen hotels

Caen
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I booked online around 9:30pm. Arrived around 10:30 pm. I had no way to get into the hotel until another guest let me in. I didn't know I needed a combo to get into the hotel. I didn't know the combo to open the lock box with keys. I didn't know what name my keys was under. I went thru 3 keys and several calls on someone else's phone to talk to someone so i could get a key that worked. Wasted 1 hour just trying to get into a room that had a hide-a-bed. The bed wasn't so bad. The room was clean, had a fridge. Didn't see the cable for internet until the sun came up on my way out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Price was great but not worth the savings. The room was the kind where you are afraid to touch anything or walk without shoes...and had a residual smoker's smell even though designated non-fumeur. I wish I had read Trip Advisor's low "50% recommended" rating before booking. It is fair. BE WARNED: if you arrive after 8 pm there is no reception and you must call elsewhere to get a code to open a safe with room keys....and there is no telephone provided for you!! So, if you are travelling from abroad without a phone, you will have a BIG problem!! Luckily a kind stranger offered me his. Also, the internet is unreliable. I am at McDo's next door to write this. I love a bargain hotel, but this was definitely not worth saving 12-15€ over other hotels. Maybe suitable for a twenty-something accustomed to hostels. This was nothing like the Appart'city in Strasbourg I once stayed in, which was really clean.

Room Tip: A room elsewhere is advisable :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gathernomoss_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, Alsace, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Located on the ring road provides easy access to the city center and other towns of Normandy. Free parking.

Poor apartment - not a superior one. Very small bedroom (like cell) and kitchen, equipped with the basics. Dirty sheets and towels - I had to complain to the front office to change them. Very dirty carpet. Not comfortable mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
2.4 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pauseome
Pauseome
#32 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carline
Hotel Carline
#16 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brit Hotel Caen Nord - Memorial
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Caen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Caen

Property: Appart'City Caen
Address: 1 ter rue Claude Bloch, 14000 Caen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Caen 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Appart'City Caen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appart City Cap Affaires Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing