We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Congenial, and Clean”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Reviewed 30 September 2011

You can't get a more convenient location in the heart of Caen. An easy walk to the chateau, St. Pierre, the office de tourisme, and restaurants and shopping. It's on the light rail path which runs from the train station if you are traveling by train, or if you are traveling by car, there is free parking behind the hotel.

The manager is very friendly and helpful; the rooms are clean and adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

We were four friends who stayed here in 2 rooms, Nos 10 and 14, for 3 nights (actually these are 4 person rooms - double and two single beds in each). We were visiting the D-Day beaches etc and wanted a convenient centre. Once we'd negotiated the Caen peripherique we found the hotel easily enough and parked in the somewhat cramped hotel parking behind it, (3 places plus garage) but with direct access into the hotel from the back. There is a 2 person lift which was needed as we we were aged 70-86. The largish rooms are basic but clean, beds comfortable, old fashioned furniture, decorated in pastel colours. En-suite bathrooms (these had shower, no bath) were small but adequate. Both rooms were at the front, overlooking a main street and the St. Pierre church and chateau, but reasonably quiet nevertheless. Breakfast at €8 was OK - orange juice, coffee or chocolate (but presumably tea would also have been available), a croissant, half a baguette, and a selection of butter and jams, but I personally would have liked some cold meats as well (greedy pig). Nice little lounge with maps of D-Day beaches on the wall etc. The major advantage of the hotel is its situation in the centre of Caen and its easy walking distance from the shops, banks, the chateau and all the restaurants/brasseries/cafes on the nearby Quai Vendeuvre. The manager was very helpful and recommended the La Taverne restaurant next door on our last night (free aperitifs with the hotel's card!). An excellent choice for a city centre hotel if you don't want or need all the fripperies and luxuries.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaffer837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

Recently stayed at Hotel du Chateau in Caen. Very pleasant experience. Rate was very reasonable, excellent location-as the name inplies very close to the Caen Chateau. In the center of town, the tram stop is across the street. Room was nothing exceptional, but clean with all basic needs.

What did separate this hotel from others was the service. The manager went way out of his way to see that we were happy. In booking the room, my email was down for a while so I called the hotel directly to book the room, I offerd my credit card to reserve the room but the manager told me it was not necessary, he said he trusted me to show up. As we had 3 people in the room, we asked for another set of towels and within the hour we had another 3 sets. The breakfast room was full so the manger set up another room for us and personally brought in a complete petite dejeuner for us to enjoy.

His staff was very helpful in helping us find our way to the Caen Memorial. He extended our check out time when they found out our train did not leave till 14:00, then brought our bags out for us.

Highly recommended.

cya-Seattle

14  Thank cya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank minouchka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuinetteM, Propriétaire at Hotel du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos são um pouco apertados, assim como o box é bem estreito, mas é muito limpo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuinetteM, Propriétaire at Hotel du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carcarGijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuinetteM, Propriétaire at Hotel du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarloCortesi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuinetteM, Propriétaire at Hotel du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Francois d'O
Hotel Francois d'O
#13 of 41 in Caen
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#6 of 41 in Caen
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#4 of 41 in Caen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel De La Paix
Hotel De La Paix
#25 of 41 in Caen
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Univers
Hotel L'Univers
#23 of 41 in Caen
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Etienne
Hotel Saint-Etienne
#35 of 41 in Caen
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 5 avenue du 6 Juin, 14000 Caen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range: £46 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is in a great location, in the heart of downtown, at the bottom of the castle. Nice family hotel with space to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing