We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Hotel Napoleon
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Napoleon
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff. Stayed here on arrival in France and because of our first stay booked it one week later before departing on ferry. Great location walking distance for bars restaurants shops. Plenty parking outside for minimal charges. Staff very friendly and helpful booked a taxi for us and looked after our luggage after we booked out. Rooms clean and bigger than i thought they would be after reading some reviews. Its about a 10 minute walk from where the free ferry bus drops you off. Price was £49 / €55 for one night double room. You would pay well over £100 for a hotel of similar standard in London

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian130966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for a short break in Cherbourg (travelled as a foot passengers on the ferry). Rooms small and basic but clean - there's no lift so 2nd and 3rd floors might be an issue for some. Owners very friendly and helpful, and a great location with several restaurants and a microbrewery bar within yards. We were on the front but the windows shut out noise very effectively (although left it a bit hot). Breakfast good too.

Room Tip: No lift. Rear is quiter but not as nice to look out of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week whilst exploring the area. The owners are so warm and friendly, gave good advice and were so helpful. Room small but adequate, was in a room at front of hotel and a bit noisey but only on Friday and Saturday evening. Good location, lovely restaurants all within walking distance. Very good parking nearby, ideally positioned in the town for wandering. Owners doing an excellent job on hotel would definitely stay here again. Very good value for money at only 55 euro per night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0and
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Lovely quaint hotel situated in the centre of the town, close to the shops and the many bars and restaurants. A 500yard walk to the marina and harbour. A basic hotel with a warm welcome from the friendly owner. Breakfast can be purchased for 8 euros per person.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel the windows were double glazed and we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipsy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for one night. The rooms are basic but the location is good. The family were very nice and helpful and the breakfast was very good. If you are staying at the front of the hotel keep your windows closed as it gets noisey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I booked this hotel after reading reviews here. It was the best decision, after a not so good experience in Paris and a very cheap Ibis Budget in Caen, we arrived at Cherbourg hoping for a nice, cosy place.
We found a very central location, a great host, a clean and confortable room and a good night sleep.
The price is very good for what they offer, the place is chaming and the host is professional, but friendly at the same time, she recommended good placed to eat and she made our stay better.
I would definetely go back and I recommend it to anyone wanting to visit this beautiful port that bears so many memories.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AduPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Excellent small hotel in central location with restaurants and parking . Easily booked by email with quick response. Room small but fine for a one night stay and very clean. Welcoming staff and excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherbourg-Octeville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur
Hotel Ambassadeur
#4 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chantereyne
Hotel Chantereyne
#2 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Louvre
Hotel le Louvre
#6 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
228 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moderna Hotel
Moderna Hotel
#16 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: 14 Place Republique, 50100, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Cherbourg-Octeville
Price Range: £44 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Napoleon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing