We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as i expected”
Review of Moderna Hotel

Moderna Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moderna Hotel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not as bad as i expected”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

on arrival in cherbourg via train i got a taxi easily - the hotel is as easy walk if you know the way, on arriving at the hotel, the chap didn't have a booking for me for that night, when i produced by paperwork he managed to find a room - on the 1st floor, no view, white bedding and the room is accessorised with orange, plastic lamps, plastic bin, orange cushions on the bed, no comfy chairs to sit on, small integral bathroom with very small shower cubicle, no hairdryer, i had to ask for one and no safe. i had to ask for the wifi code which was free and worked fine. breakfast on 1st morning i was on my own,jug of coffee was brought to me, plate of rolls etc on the table as well as yogurts , everything fresh. i did ask for a bottle of water one evening as there is nothing open around the the hotel but was told they had none but would have some tomorrow! Its location is good and plenty of cafe/bars/restaurants open during the day, you can walk to the train 10 mins and the centre is 5 mins. All things considered Cherbourg is a ferry terminal, i dont. think you would choose to go their on holiday so therefore there are no big chains of hotels so these small hotels really should 'up their game'

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinklestar2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    29
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
22
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Hotel is located in the City Centre. Parking possible nearby. Our room was at the top (3rd Floor, no lift, narrow staircase.) The room was pretty big. Everything inside very old. Bath OK. Hat an awful night because our bed was a wreck. Service ok, the Chef a little grumpy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room it the basement or 1st Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick-Hotwaterbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Location was good ,everything was near. Rooms clear and breakfast good. The owner was friendly, he knows about Cherbourg. The parking near hotel. There was a lot of magazines you can sit and read them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We did not have high expectations of this 2 star hotel. The reception was friendly and welcoming. There are no lifts, and we were on the top floor, my husband recovering from a broken leg, tried to make fewer journeys up three flights of stairs. The room was a tight fit, with a double bed and two singles, but it was clean but smelt a bit damp. Probably the carpets or closed bathroom. Once we opened the windows it was better. The beds were comfortable with duvets and good pillows. The bathroom had a shower which was big enough and good shower heads with a good water flow. The street in front of the hotel is very narrow and parking is difficult nearby, but there is free parking at the Notre Dame parking lot a block away from the hotel. Do not park in the open area by the Marina on a Sunday morning as they have a market there and will tow your car away.
The breakfast was a standard, baguette and croissants and coffee for £7,50 per person. Not a bad experience, but we have experienced better 2 star hotels, therefore only an average rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Conveniently located. Nice staff. Clean rooms. Family room for 4 had two double beds and was comfortable. Firm beds. Good value hotel. Breakfast was extra. No issues with cleanliness nor bugs for 2 families staying in 3 of their rooms.

Room Tip: Walk to nearby restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saverdun
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The chap at reception was friendly and talkative, but the room and bathroom were tiny. We had a family room, with a double and a single bed, and it was a real squeeze with three people in the same room. Breakfast was a standard continental croissant, bread and coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timboidicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Our family was bitten alive in our beds - either bed bugs or fleas. My 5 year old daughter had close to 50 bites on her. When we told the manager in the morning he was very dismissive and didn't seem to care, blaming it on another holiday makers suitcaes. This was the last night of our holiday before coming home on the ferry. After a wonderful two weeks, to have that spoilt by a unhygenic hotel, was a real shame. DO NOT STAY at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherbourg-Octeville hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur
Hotel Ambassadeur
#4 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chantereyne
Hotel Chantereyne
#3 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Louvre
Hotel le Louvre
#5 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renaissance
Hotel Renaissance
#11 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderna Hotel

Property: Moderna Hotel
Address: 28 Rue De La Marine, 50100, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Cherbourg-Octeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moderna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moderna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing