We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great location”
Review of Hotel Ambassadeur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ambassadeur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent two nights here last week. Arrived from the ferry at 8pm (just 5 minutes drive) and was given corner room on the top floor with view over the marina. Very comfortable bed and slept extremeley well. Available public parking at the rear of the hotel - good tip is that if you leave before 9am the parking is free, otherwise just 40 cents an hour from 9am to 7pm.
Good recommendations for nearby restaurants and only a few monutes walk to the town centre shops.

Room Tip: Higher the better for a good view - see photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAMBASSADEUR2014, Responsable réception at Hotel Ambassadeur, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay in Cherbourg and at the AMBASSADEUR HOTEL.
The hotel is under new management and is now undertaking the refurbishment of the rooms. We hope you will come to appreciate the new look and comfort of the rooms when you come in Cherbourg next time.
We will be delighted to welcome you again. Your opinion matters to us a great deal as we consider customer's satisfaction our priority.

Kind regards
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We found this hotel at the last minute during D-Day commemorations. The new owners are so very nice and helpful. Our room was average, but spotless! After speaking with the owner, we found out that she had recently purchased the hotel and is renovating it from the ground up. Our room had not been renovated yet. That's why I gave this an average rating. However, I have no doubt that once they finish the renovation, it will be an excellent tourist hotel. The location is great and the parking is easy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rochester_NYTrunkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAMBASSADEUR2014, Responsable réception at Hotel Ambassadeur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for your message and your encouragement.
We are pleased that you had a nice stay in Cherbourg and at the Ambassadeur Hotel. The reception, bar, lounge and breakfast areas are finished. A few rooms have also now been refurbished and the process of improving the hotel is ongoing. Your encouragement fills us with an immense happiness as we consider the satisfaction of our customers our best reward.

We hope to see you again in the near futur.

Kind regards
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked this hotel through Brittany Ferries and as we normally stay in chain hotels, or larger hotels I was a little bit worried about the size.
I need not have worried. The reception area was welcoming and smart, with a very small bar in the corner. The owner was on reception when we booked in- a lovely, friendly man who didn't laugh at all at my French, and who gave us a wonderful double room on the 4th floor, overlooking the harbour when asked. It had a superb view.
The room was in a good condition, clean and fresh, with good curtains, smart bedding (the old bedspread, blanket and sheet) a comfortable mattress, two good chairs and a table and chest of drawers. Simple, smart furniture.
The bathroom was fresh and clean. Sparkling white towels and bath/hair gel and soaps were provided. Would have been difficult to get into and out of the bath if you were older as the sides are so high!
On the second day, we had a new bed, as did all of the other rooms! Out went the blankets and sheets and in came some summer weight Duvets. Good choice! A nice firm mattress as well.
The only drawback with French hotels is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room- but you could order coffee at the bar for an extremely low price. This was a very good compromise for us.
Breakfast was really good. I was very impressed. Hard boiled eggs, and fresh fruit, which I love, cold meats and cheese, French bread to cut yourself, croissants, pain au chocolate, nice choice of coffee, fruit juice, Madeira cake, cereals, yoghurt and dried fruit.
There were some tables with a view of the harbour and the people walking by- all very entertaining.

The lady who owns the hotel took her turn on reception, and she was also very friendly and efficient.
There is a lift which is quite roomy, and some stairs to get to the room from reception. The stairs are quite steep and narrow and taper from the edge to the middle. This did not bother us, but if you were an older or disabled visitor, then this might have been a problem.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbowsue0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAMBASSADEUR2014, Responsable réception at Hotel Ambassadeur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a nice stay at the Ambassadeur Hotel. Mr. and Mrs Hamel, the new owners, are very keen to know about your advice and remarks in order to constantly improve the facilities. Customer's satisfaction is at the forefront of their preoccupation . We would like to let you know that we are going shortly to have tea and coffee in each room and that we have two rooms allocated for people with disabilities.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My parents have hust returned from your hotel. They said it had been the best they had stayed in over the last few years in Europe. They told us the owners were a lovely couple and they wished them luck in their new venture. Breakfast excellent . The reception and new bar area were extremely modern and looked good. The bedrooms are the next phase but were exceptionally clean and satisfactory for their stay.

The hotel was in an excellent location.

Thank you for making my parents welcome and making their holiday a memorable stay.

Good luck.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAMBASSADEUR2014, Responsable réception at Hotel Ambassadeur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you very much for your message on Tripadvisor and your encouragement. We are delighted that your parents had a lovely time in France and in the Ambassadeur Hotel. Mr and Mrs Hamel, the new owners, are keen to make everyone welcomed. Your parents' satisfaction fills them with immense pleasure.

We hope to see all of you again.
Kind regards
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We hadn't been here for a couple of years and it is having a make over. It will be good when it is finished. It is a little work in progress at the moment. Room 308 has a lovely harbour view. Carpets were being replaced. The car park Notre Dame is just behind. Comfy clean beds. Really close to wander round the town or harbour. Plenty of places to eat nearby

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAMBASSADEUR2014, Responsable réception at Hotel Ambassadeur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you very much for your message on Tripadvisor. Mr and Mrs Hamel are pleased to inform you that many improvements have been made since you stayed at the Ambassadeur Hotel: new beds, the reception has been entirely refurbished, tea and coffee will be shortly provided in all rooms...
Thank you for your encouragement and we look foreward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Hotel Ambassadeur is located on the harbor in Cherbourg, and offers excellent value for travelers not demanding luxury. Having just visited the D-Day landing sites in Normandy, which had been emotionally tiring for us, we found the Ambassadeur a clean and friendly place to unwind for two nights. The owners are Ludovic and Korina, a couple from Caen who had invested in this property recently, and had taken over its management only three weeks before our arrival. They have considerable prior experience in hotel management, and were gracious hosts. They are presently renovating the reception and breakfast areas, and soon will be installing new beds. Meanwhile, everything worked as it should have. I predict success!

Room Tip: Seaside rooms offer romantic views of the harbor at Cherbourg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSU-NHDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAMBASSADEUR2014, Responsable réception at Hotel Ambassadeur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you very much for your message and encouragement. Mr and Mrs Hamel, the new owners, are pleased to let you know that the reception area has been entirely refurbished with a lounge and bar area. The new beds have been placed in all rooms, which are in the process of being refurbished too.
Customer's satifaction is our best reward.
We are looking foreward to welcoming you again at the Ambassadeur Hotel. Thus, you could see for yourself the improvements.

Kind regards
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Situated on the waterfront, this hotel is very convenient for exploring Cherbourg. We had a spacious room with a view over the harbour, comfortable beds and a good fresh continental breakfast. Owner/manager couldn't be more helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAMBASSADEUR2014, Responsable réception at Hotel Ambassadeur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you very much for your message on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a good time in Cherbourg and at the Ambassadeur Hotel. Mr and Mrs Hamel, the new owners, are pleased to let you know that many new improvements have been made to the hotel. The reception area has been refurbished, new beds have been installed and the rooms are in the process of being refurbished too.
As you said, the hotel is very well located, in the town centre, close to the shops, historical buildings, museums and others facilities such as the train station and the ferry terminal.

We hope to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherbourg-Octeville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 23 in Cherbourg-Octeville
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chantereyne
Hotel Chantereyne
#2 of 23 in Cherbourg-Octeville
231 reviews
3 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Louvre
Hotel le Louvre
#6 of 23 in Cherbourg-Octeville
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De La Croix De Malte
Hotel De La Croix De Malte
#11 of 23 in Cherbourg-Octeville
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moderna Hotel
Moderna Hotel
#14 of 23 in Cherbourg-Octeville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassadeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassadeur

Address: 22 quai de Caligny, 50100 Cherbourg-Octeville, Cherbourg-en-Cotentin, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-en-Cotentin > Cherbourg-Octeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Cherbourg-Octeville
Price Range: £48 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassadeur 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambassadeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur Hotel Cherbourg Octeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing