We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You are joking!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberation Museum (Musee de la Liberation)

Liberation Museum (Musee de la Liberation)
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum examines the significance of the Battle of Normandy.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You are joking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Slogged up the hill only to find that the bloke on the desk closes for luch at 11.20! Yes, we went in and disturbed him reading the paper, he looked most put out and told us they were clsed for lunch from 12 till 2 but as it was already 11.20 we couldn't go in or even use the toilets which were locked!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank pepperdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    60
    22
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Disgusted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This museum set in the fort of Cherbourg high above the town is very hard to find, road signs are poor or go no-where and then when you eventually do drive up the right hill, there is parking for about 5 cars and that's it! No bus parking so I have no idea how groups go there, nor why they'd want to.
As I was on a research mission for a book about World War 2, I thought this would be an informative museum.
I found too little of it was bi-lingual, therefore much of it was difficult to understand even with my rudimentary French. I was insulted by some of the story presented, as I could understand it. There seemed to be an extremely insulting cartoon about Winston Churchill, very little on the actual liberators of France ie. the Allies - The Brits, Americans, Canadians, Australians, Kiwi forces, etc etc. etc. and an awful lot of Charles de Gaulle who the French seem to be under the misapprehension as being the real liberator of France! Fact: de Gaulle fled France and spent the war living in luxury in the Ritz while their Allies and members of the resistance died trying to free his country. Fact: de Gaulle "the great liberator" didn't set foot on French soil for about 10 days after D-Day - long after there would be any risk of him being shot. How very brave...
By the time we got to Cherbourg we were thoroughly fed up with most of the people of Normandy we were exposed to. They mistook us for English and were so arrogant and downright rude. Quite frankly, they should be kissing the feet of every English speaking person who goes to their country because if it hadn't been for the sacrifice of so many allied soldiers in TWO wars, they'd all be speaking German. They need to be reminded of that fact. Fortunately further south, the French seemed to be more enlightened, but the attitude of many Normandians and this travesty of a museum that mocked Churchill and praised de Gaulle, left a very sour taste in our mouths. I've never been more disappointed with a so called, "attraction" in my life.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the climb for the views as well as the museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Well worth a visit despite the challenging walk up to the top of the hill from the city below (take a taxi next time?). Tells the story of the military battles that took place in and around Cherbourg as well as the privations undergone by local people. Splendid views from the hill top location over the town and harbour. A little knowledge of French would be helpful for English visitors.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Satisfactory.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice Museum with some very interesting photos and artifacts but limited english info details which really took from the exhibit. Also a video which was supposed to work was broken and only the audio was available. Great views of the city of Cherbourg but the road up to the Museum is terrible- no safety barriers and so narrow, I nearly had a heart attack. On a side note the tunnels are seperate from the Museum and while the Museum opens at 9 the tunnels only open at about half two.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgalway_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Learn more about the D-Day Landings in this outstanding museum and enjoy the spectacular view of Cherbourg from its terrace.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John_D1096378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liberation Museum (Musee de la Liberation) also viewed

Tourlaville, Cherbourg-Octeville
Cherbourg-Octeville, Manche
 
Cherbourg-Octeville, Manche
Cherbourg-Octeville, Manche
 

Been to Liberation Museum (Musee de la Liberation)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing