We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”
Review of Logis La Regence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Logis La Regence
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We fancied a change of scenery so decided to nip over the Channel for a couple of days, we arrived at La Regence on Thursday (as foot passengers). We were given a warm welcome and shown to our room (No. 7). 3rd floor, no lift, good for your calves! The room was delightful, spotlessly clean with a super view. We had dinner at La Regence on Thursday evening (would recommend booking) and lunch too the next day - the food is really very good. The breakfast was a little disappointing, the buffet had clearly been enthusiastically visited by the businessmen staying and had not been replenished. Our stay was not inexpensive, but, in my view you get what you pay for. We will most certainly return but on the next visit will definitely take the car!

Room Tip: It is worth a climb for the view! However, the rooms at the front are on a busy road - if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    86
    31
    22
    10
See reviews for
34
141
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This time we took a room at the back of the hotel and it was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. As always the staff are excellent and especially the young waiter Maol, so attentive and enthusiastic about his job! Our meal was very good, typical French cuisine, wines very reaonably priced, couldn't ask for more. The half board included dinner and a great breakfast. This hotel has a lovely atmosphere, old style comfort, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachedwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is wonderful.
Our room had a big air bubble bath tab and isolated shower room. both room and bath room were very clean.
Jet bath made our exhausted body by travel walking relax.
What is more, we were very happy for their frinedly service and attaitude.
And this hotel has wonderfull restaulant, meal of this restaurant was very delicious.
Room, service, staff and food, we satisfied for all and think price is resonable.

Room Tip: room n°1, sea side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la-regence-cherbourg, Propriétaire at Logis La Regence, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you so much for your opinion. Best regards. Agnès
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was our meal to celebrate completing our cycling trip around Normandy. We had an amazing time, tasted delicious food and met some fantastic locals during our trip. This experience was our only negative. We each ordered moules frites and a 50cl carafe of white wine. Upon waiting for our meal, the wine came and we poured the bottle between our 3 glasses. After a sip or 2 each, the wine was found to be room temperature and having paid about 12euros I decided to tell the waiter. This then got passed onto his boss who came over and very rudely asked what the problem was. I explained again and she grabbed all our glasses and the empty bottle. She then came back a minute or 2 later and put a bottle back on our table in an ice bucket. She had clearly put the wine from our glasses back in the empty bottle which we all found very unprofessional. She then took about 20 mins to bring over some mayonnaise for the chips. An extremely rude individual in an area of the world which we are so fond of. A big shame.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy_boy841227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton Lancs
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Picked this one out of the hat and wasn't it a lucky day small very comfortable hotel with very friendly and helpful staff (even the cleaner was cheerful) and fantastically situated opposite the fishing port with its back to the old town and shopping and a short stroll to the new Carrefour centre and to the Cite de la Mere( do go if in Cherbourg but allow a day).Our bedroom on the front of the hotel had a wonderful view and was comfortable and clean only one small gripe there were no hand towels .The breakfasts were excellent with boiled eggs,ham ,cheese,vienoiserie.bread butter and jam washed down with fruit juice and coffee.
The restaurant was excellent in the evening with as one would expect a bias towards seafood my wife said the assiette de crevettes was the best she had tasted she had it as a starter 3 times in a 5 night stay The fish quality was exceptional the cod was the nicest I have had for a long time Staff were very friendly and mostly attentive although one young lady did have to be reminded three times that I was still awaiting my wine( but they were busy)Would I reccommend this hotel most certainly the only drawback being that parking is on the paying public car park at the rear although this is only 20 centimes per hour from 9 am to 7 pm night time is free

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front with a view of the harbour and the fort number 4 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensionerBoltonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay, just splashed out on a meal here. The food was fine, just a little overpriced, but the service was excellent, with great kindness being shown (in English!) to our small children. Paid for the service, really...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Snugglehump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Really good value, unusual menu choices with great presentation and yummy food, wonderful seafood, delicious amuse bouche, kidneys, unusual sauces, great evening... And open on Sundays! Great location on the quay with lovely staff and such a warm cosy ambience

Room Tip: Get room overlooking water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betseybooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherbourg-Octeville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur
Hotel Ambassadeur
#4 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Louvre
Hotel le Louvre
#5 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chantereyne
Hotel Chantereyne
#3 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moderna Hotel
Moderna Hotel
#16 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis La Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis La Regence

Property: Logis La Regence
Address: 42 Quai Caligny, 50100, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Cherbourg-Octeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis La Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of old Cherbourg directly facing the port, the hotel restaurant La Regence offers easy access to the harbour, the train station and the cite de la mer. We are ideally located for cross-channel travelers and for all lovers of the cotentin region. The restaurant offers a warm and inviting atmosphere. Specialities are seafood and regional cuisine. The hotel Logis has comfortable rooms, 8 with view of the port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Logis La Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Regence Cherbourg Octeville
La Regence Hotel Cherbourg Octeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing