We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place to eat”
Review of Barbara

Barbara
Reserve with
Barbara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 112 Restaurants in Deauville
Price range: US$26 - US$33
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible place to eat”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Service is ok but the food is terrible and expensive for what it is. The restaurant is located opposite the Normandy Barriere hotel and this is the reason why the view is the only positive aspect.
The pizza are ok and the crepes are disgusting. I definitely do not recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Syriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    90
    119
    116
    160
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better places to eat.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I don't often right negative reviews as I'm of the view if you haven't got something nice to say than it's not worth sharing. However, having ordered the calamari (my wife) and prawns misto (me) I'd have to say I've rarely eaten worse. If you go to the trouble of having a restaurant you ought to make the effort to serve restaurant quality food. It was truly horrible! Looked like frozen food from a supermarket refrigerator then deep fried in old oil. I'm hoping it was just a bad day but I'm thinking that's a little optimistic. Sorry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert123255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wouldn't recommend it”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It was just OK, although the steak au poiuvre very tasty. Atmosphere is "great location and we know it" chic

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Crepes to die for”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Following melon porto, then steak (well done) the flambé crepes are fantastic, plus a pitcher of wine - lovely!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cold food, nice waitress”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Food was a long time in coming and was cold when it arrived. They weren't especially busy so not sure why.
There are far better nearby

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbara also viewed

Deauville, Calvados
Deauville, Calvados
 
Deauville, Calvados
Deauville, Calvados
 

Been to Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing