We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Deauville
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old World Grandeur”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Royal Barriere for 1 night in early September. The hotel is rather impressive as you drive up, it has an old world style and grandeur that is unfortunately disappearing these days. The reception staff were friendly, very efficient, and spoke excellent English, and likely several other languages. You must try to speak some French, as it is the most gracious thing to do.

The reception hall is very grand indeed, lots of red and gold, and fresh flowers. The ceiling height is dizzying, and you get a sense that you've gone back in time to a more genteel society.

The room was very large with very high ceilings, large windows that opened, fabric walls, and superbly comfortable beds! Decor was not modern, but I am glad it wasn't. I loved the separate room for the toilet away from the bathroom, it is practical, though a very small sink would be nice to wash hands. A sink the size they use in the trains would be perfect. There is a majesty about the place that you fall into without realizing. Wish I brought my clubs! Next time.

Breakfasts were amazing, choice was unparalleled, overlooking the golf course while the early morning mist was moving across the manicured greens was magical!

Wish my stay would have been longer, will have to return.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ljbrennala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent-Roussin, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear bjbrennala,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay. I was delighted to read that you had a great time with us.

I have passed to my front desk manager your comment regarding the friendliness of her staff, thank you for mentioning it, as it is one of our biggest assets.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Sincerly

Laurent Roussin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    348
    177
    60
    27
See reviews for
205
606
27
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Upon arrival I was overwhelmed by hotel’s spirit. And special smell they create in the lobby using some nice perfumery added to that impression a lot! ))
The room was nice with lots of space for storage. As I was there only for a night I could not use it in full, but it was nice to know that I could’ve unpack and store there all my dresses as I really wished I had some with me!! )) The sea view also was a very nice touch. As my visit was very beginning of November, I did not pay any attention if there was an AC system or not. As I’ve seen in some other reviews, probably, there was not, but during my visit it did not bother me at all. I’d preferred to open the window and get fresh air in for a good sleep.
I’ve read some comments about separate toilet and bath but I really liked it. The bathroom was spacious and toilet being apart in a separate box allocated near the shower was nothing wrong with me.
As I understood from several Lucien Barriere hotels I’ve visited, it is a common feature to have doors connecting several rooms. You have a chance to lock the room from inside so no one can interfere (usually they are locked! ))), but also there is a chance that you can book several interconnecting rooms if you wish. And it sets you into dream being Susan Sarandon with a real suit and several rooms! ))
In the evening we had dinner set up for our group and it was superb. I am trying to be a foodie and visit special places if and where I can and I was very nicely surprised by quality of hotel restaurant.
Also I’ve enjoyed breakfast. Again it had an atmosphere, the view and the food! )) Nice choice of everything you might need, fresh, tasty, nice service.
I plan to return to have a nice weekend with my husband, to visit SPA which is 1 min walk, especially Algotherm close to hotel which I did not have a chance to visit.
I assume hotel has different rooms with different views. But I suggest having a sea view, to have dinner at hotel, to have full breakfast and move to SPA and then out for a walk. And then understanding of what is calm and happiness is shall come for sure, I strongly believe! ))
About hotel being “outdated” – may be all rooms are a bit different, depending on guests “wildness” in the past as I’ve paid special attention to tiniest details and did not find any discrepancies. So I wish to return soon and flow with the wind and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get the room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WinnerMoscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent-Roussin, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Winner Moscow_Russia,

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and even more pleased that that you plan to come back for another one.

I would like to point out again that not all our room have the same layout and decoration, some have separated bathroom and toilet some have not, some are interconnected some are not, do not hesitate to give us your preferences when you do your reservation.

I look forward to welcome you again in Deauville.

Sincerly

Laurent Roussin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed there for cour nights attendinga conference . From reception untill i left found the staff very friendly [Anna handling my booking in was a star ] my room was great and only small issue for me was the rather expensive bar service .

Room Tip: If you can as high up as possible and a sea view for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BennievdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent-Roussin, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear BennievdW,

I was pleased to read that that you enjoy your stay at the Royal Barrière, thank you kindly for your great feedback.
I have noticed our bar prices !
Your satisfaction is our greatest reward.

Sincerely,

Laurent Roussin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We went from Paris to Deauville to have a place closer to the Normandy beaches, Bayeux and Mont Saint Michel.

Our 4th floor room was large, immaculate and had a balcony overlooking the casino. The walls were covered in fabric and the bed was extremely comfortable. The weather was great so we just opened the balcony doors for ventilation. There was a very nice box of custom chocolates by the bed when we arrived.

We had breakfast each morning at the hotel. It was excellent, a great way to start the day.

What did not work especially well was the bathroom. The toilet is located in a small closet off the entrance hallway. This would be fine except that the sink is located inside the bathroom and thus unavailable when the bathroom is in use. Given a room so well designed this was a strange oversight.

It's an easy walk from the hotel to the beach and the town.

The first floor of this hotel is beautiful and reminds one of the better hotels in the US. Also, language is not a problem and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapitalReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent-Roussin, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear CapitalReporter,

Thank you for your comment, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay among us. I was glad to read you appreciated your room and our breakfast service.
Regarding the bathroom it is true that some of our rooms have a separate toilet with no sink in it, this is due to the long history of the hotel and the many refurbishments over the years. We also have rooms with toilets inside the bathroom, do not hesitate to ask for them for future reservations.

I will be delighted to welcome you again at the Royal.

Sincerly

Laurent Roussin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel was clearly very elegant in its time, and its public spaces are majestic. However, having a very large room with significant storage space did not offset the dated decor, absence of air conditioning and a very awkward bathroom. The bathroom crammed the toilet and shower in a separate adjoining room to the lavatory room, but there was a significant step up to the room with the toilet. This was a risk to those having to use the bathroom at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent-Roussin, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Peter L

Thank you for your feedback.
While it is true that most of u rooms are a bit dated by today standards, we have already done 6 "test -rooms" in preparation for our full renovation programme.
Not all the hotel is equipped with AC, only our suits are, but we do have some mobile AC unit and fans that are available through the housekeeping had you asked they would have been provided.
Regarding the bathroom set up I am sorry you found it an inconvenient, I must say that you are the first guest to comment on that. We have other type of bathroom, do not hesitate to request it when you book a room with us.

I hope to welcome you again in Deauville to try some of our new rooms.

Sincerly,

Laurent Roussin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is quite elegant and is definitely considered "shiek".
Our room was an oceanfront room which was very nice and very big. It didn't have AC (and we could have used it during our stay) which was noticeable only because there was very little breeze and it was quite warm.
The dining room was elegant as was the rest of the hotel!
A very nice hotel and one that we would definitely come back to if the opportunity presents itself!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddschur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent-Roussin, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear ddschur,

I was pleased to read that that you enjoy your stay at the Royal Barrière, thank you kindly for your great feedback.
Your satisfaction is our greatest reward.
And I will pleased to welcome you again in Deauville.

Sincerly,

Laurent Roussin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here during an idyllic April week and the hotel is one of our fondest memories of a fantastic trip. The service was outstanding, the breakfast was amazing, the setting is gorgeous. We loved Deauville and the area, especially Honfleur. A memorable and happy visit!

Room Tip: We loved our beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reader27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent-Roussin, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear reader27,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am particularly proud that you signalled the high quality of service and "luxury attitude" provided by our staff as this is to us the most important part of our work.
I am very happy that you enjoyed all aspect of your stay and I will be delighted to welcome you again at the Royal.

Sincerly,

Laurent Roussin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deauville
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville
1.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
0.7 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Augeval Hotel
Augeval Hotel
#4 of 27 in Deauville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Deauville Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville
Address: Boulevard Cornuche, 14804, Deauville, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Deauville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deauville
#3 Family Hotel in Deauville
#3 Business Hotel in Deauville
#4 Spa Hotel in Deauville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Deauville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestically overlooking the beach in Deauville, the Hôtel Royal Barrière is an enchanting palace, a wonderful little gem for exceptional stays. Impeccable hospitality, refined decor, subdued ambience, gourmet restaurant... everything here revolves around luxury, peace & quiet and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Barriere Deauville
Royal Barriere Hotel Deauville
Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing