We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but too far away from city center-”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Deauville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms were ok- the staff courteous but the location is very isolated and too far from the action of the city center- cabs are scarce and the wait could be long .
The fitness center is a very small space not much equipment and no airflow.
The only saving grace is the dining room - the good was great !
The hotel should have a staff car to take guests in and out of the city center - they would have a lot more guests!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques_Horrent, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Jack D,
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us.
I am disppointed that you found the hotel too far from the city center.
I would recommend you for your next stay to try our other property in Deauville, wich is the Normandy Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Deauville.
SIncerely,

Jacques Horrent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for a couple of days recently and will definitely say this, the service is outstanding and the workers go out of their way to assist and help you although they are not as fluent in English as Americans might like. The golf course was a tremendous get away from it all and immaculately kept. The only knock if you say that is the burger cooking needs to be a little more on point. I recommend staying here if you just want to relax and enjoy it all. Check out my pics to show you exactly how good of a view you have from this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank man73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques_Horrent, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear man73,
Thank you very much for sharing this beautiful comment !
We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience during your stay at hotel du golf Barriere.
Sincerely,

Jacques Horrent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just back from an excellent golf trip to the Deauville Barriere du Golf. Nothing was too much trouble. The food is amazing, pool area lovely and the golf course is wonderful. Recently renovated, the reception and dining room are very impressive, although I think the two horses in reception would look sooo much better without the lampshades on their heads!!

Room Tip: Corridors spacious and quiet. Fantastic views over Deauville from front rooms, but the view over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques_Horrent, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Lynne C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of our property.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the renovation.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon !
Sincerely,

Jacques Horrent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is an impressive sight, externally and internally. The lobby is spacious and tasteful, as was our superior room overlooking the golf course and the sea / Le Harve beyond.
Check in was smooth and we eagerly awaited dinner which was included in our package for one of our two nights. There is a language barrier in the restaurant and there was a degree of awkwardness as we declined the lobster themed menu which was the only menu on the table. The fixed and a la carte menus were produced, minus prices on either mine or my friend's menu (pretentious!) so we chose from the limited fixed menu of 4 starters and 4 mains. We were also asked for our dessert choice at the time of ordering which is unusual. The food was variable in terms of taste, imagination and presentation. The cheese chariot consisted of 4 cheese options, all local which was way inferior to any cheese chariot I have had in similar establishments. The meal was very good in parts, disappointing in parts.
Breakfast was an impressive spread but there were no gluten free bakery items and the hot section was luke warm at best. I requested gluten free bread and it arrived 15 minutes later. It was the best gluten free bread I have ever tasted but it would have been nice to have had it as standard and not had to request and then wait for it to be warmed up.
We were on a relaxing holiday so wifi was not top of our agenda but after 24hrs, I wanted to use it and had to phone reception who advised I needed a code which took a while to be delivered to the room which then didn't work..... so I gave up. It's not how wifi should work in such a hotel.
Our two biggest gripes were on the first afternoon, having indulged in some of the renowned liquid produce of the area and after a long drive, we wanted a snooze before dinner. There is no aircon so the only means of fresh air is to have the windows open. Immediately below us on the lawn was 15-20 thesbian types who were chanting, singing, clapping, cheering and generally making a lot of repetitive noise from 5pm to 7pm continuously. I phoned reception after an hour or so to enquire what was going on and when was it likely to stop. I was met with 'i don't know and unfortunately they are guests of the hotel so..........' It was an unacceptable level and length of noise but the hotel reception were loathe to do anything about it as these people were staying in the hotel. The second gripe where service fell short of acceptable was when on the 2nd morning, our loo roll wasn't replenished. We requested more supplies when we got back in the afternoon and were told it would be brought straight up. 10 minutes later, the request was made again. 20 minutes after that, a personal visit was made to reception. Soon after that, loo roll arrived.
Some of the staff were delightful; the young waiters in the restaurant were attentive and engaging. The bar manager had exceptional attention to detail and was impressive with his professionalism. They were the exceptions. Other staff fell short on service and attitude and did not give the hotel the level of care it deserved.
The decor and quality facilities have raised this review to 'very good', the attitude of most of the staff and the disappointing food would have scored it an 'average' and an over priced one at that.
My friend and I were not there for the golf, we were using it as a base for touring. A taxi to the town was 20E which was steep but Deauville is an expensive place so prepare for everything being higher than other places in northern France.

Room Tip: Sea view room across the golf course but not 215 as it seems to be the one parties congregate beneat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottsGirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques_Horrent, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear NottsGirl,
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stays with us.
I was truly disappointed to learn that we feel short in exceeding your expectations in so many regards and I would like to extend my most heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences we caused to you.
Rest assured that your experience is not in keeping with the service levels we pride ourselves on.

Please feel free to call me directly at Hotel du Golf Barriere for your next visit as we would love the opportunity to restore your faith and trust in us.

Sincerely,

Jacques Horrent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is our second visit and it's gotten better. They have spent big and modernised the hotel. New carpets decor and touch card doors. The only downside it the rooms is no air conditioning so we slept with window open. Could get stuffy in summer. For France the breakfast is good! Don't expect British quality buffet and no toaster! Not sure how they justify room tariff of 400 euros a night! We booked with Brittany Ferries and had 1 nights hotel, 2 rounds of golf and cabins each way on ferry £300 each. Always try to get a deal. This said I'd be very happy to make it 3rd year running.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisThompson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques_Horrent, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Chris Thom...,
I'm glad to read that you enjoyed the refurbishment of the hotel and that we will certainly welcome you again for a third golf stay in Deauville.
I am sure that you will find again a nice deal with one of our tour operator partners...
Sincerely,

Jacques Horrent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. In quiet area, isolated but not far from town ...About 10 minute drive. It's a pricey place but if you have the money might as well spend it here. Restaurants and bars located on site and friendly staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank YankeeBoy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques_Horrent, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear YankeeBoy...,
I'd like to thank you for your nice comment about our staff. I will transmit them your message.
I hope we will see you again in Deauville.
Sincerely,

Jacques Horrent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have just returned from 4 days of golf with a friends and colleagues. The hotel has just been refurbished and to an exceptional standard. The hotel has a country club feel yet just a few minutes from Deauville. The rooms are spacious, excellent decor and soft furnishings and there has been no expense spared on the bathrooms. The restaurant food is also exceptional. The table d'hote menue is supurb, I would say michelin standard. Drink prices are very high but that applies everywhere in France. The service at reception, at the bar and in the restaurant are all top notch, imaculately presented and service with a smile. I would definately stay at this hotel again very soon. Loved every minute

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques_Horrent, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear lesw123,
Thank you for your nice comments on TripAdvisor.
It's a pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay and especially the restaurant and the service in general.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Deauville.
SIncerely,

Jacques Horrent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deauville
1.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville
1.7 mi away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
894 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
1,058 reviews
1.1 mi away
Augeval Hotel
Augeval Hotel
#4 of 27 in Deauville
826 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville

Address: Le Mont Canisy, 14803, Deauville, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Deauville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Deauville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Deauville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Deauville
#2 Family Hotel in Deauville
Price Range: £117 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the hills of Deauville surrounded by rich greencountryside, the Hotel du Golf Barriere is a genuine invitation to relax. In this majestic country mansion which resembles an ocean-liner, everything is focused on wellbeing : whether here for revitalising or to enjoy the golf courses, the settings never fail to delight. The hotel is chic and sporty, offering guests a chance to recharge their batteries in a haven of peace. More than a wonderful breathof fresh air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Barriere
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel Du Golf Deauville Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing