We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Deauville Centre
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Deauville
Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No air conditioning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Beware that the hotel has no air conditioning and there was a lot of noise in the street when we opened the balcony door. Hotel is quite simple, not a four star hotel. Very small rooms. No yatch or marina view, although location was quite good. The beds are very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldefillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    451
    152
    36
    8
See reviews for
147
544
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Good choice when traveling to Normandy. Mercure Deauville is well located, but you can still stroll without being hasselled by all the tourists that come to town.
Breakfast is served in a small but charming room in the first floor, well served, but a little overpriced.
We parked on the street, pointed by the overnight staff as the "parking", but I believe the hotel has a parking beneath it. Not offered, though.
We had a minor problem though - we payed for a balcony room, but when we arrived, at almos 1 am, and after driving for 5 hours from Calais, the room smelled like we have entered a smoking area, althout the whole floor was a non smoking one (just to make a point here - if you leave ash trays in rooms that are located on a non smoking floor... guess what will happen!). The same overnight staff said that there wasnt another balcony room and realocated us in another simpler room. I didnt want to fight over it and left it alone. But I wasnt please with it, though.

Room Tip: Try first the rooms if you care about cigar scents
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manoelabrienza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Location is very good: just 3 minutes by walk from the railway (and bus) station, 2 minutes to market and main square, 7 to casino and beach, shops nearby, etc. Superior rooms are big enough, with a huge balcony (view to the inner garden - big enough). Staff is friendly and effective. All in all very good hotel, esp. for French scale.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
641 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

It is rare for me to award less than 3 stars but in my opinion, this hotel had little to redeem itself.
First the positives. We were fortunate to find a free parking place almost outside the hotel on the road, the free wifi worked fine and as the room overlooked the park it was quiet.
Why only 2 stars? If you are thinking of views over a yacht clubs marina, water, lovely setting you are wrong. The hotel is situated on a busy road overlooking part of an old dock where there are some boats behind metal grating due to extensive road works.
It is approximately a 5 minutes walk to the bars in the centre but a long way from the beach and the boardwalk.
It wasn't cheap and I paid extra for a balcony but the room was very small and somewhat claustrophobic. There was no safe, the minimum of toiletries, only two sterilised milk sachets so the coffee was almost undrinkable and we didn't feel relaxed in the room.
The two male Receptionists were OK but not wholly impressive and were often at the front door smoking.
The drinks in the bar are expensive at 6 Euros for a glass of mediocre wine which was the smallest measure I have experienced.
All in all, Deauville is OK for an overnight stop but on the strength of my experience at this Mercure, I will be avoiding the chain in future - disappointing!

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this hotel and can't quite understand what some of the other reviewers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I don't mean we stole the towels either. Upon arrival we were given a room as requested, overlooking the port and with a balcony. In addition to this, we received a 'welcome gift' consisting of travel bag containing a bottle of cider, several snack bars and something else. What a welcome! The room was well appointed and in top decorative order. The bed was comfortable and the balcony contained table and chairs. Tea, coffee milk and small cakes were replenished each day. The biggest delight was the breakfast. I could write a book, but suffice it to say that it was the most comprehensive selection I have ever encountered, and still remains the benchmark. Yes- even bacon and egg - in France ! The location is ideal, being five minutes stroll to the centre or beach and ten minutes to the less expensive resort of Trouville across the river. Not much 'character, but stiil terrific value.

Room Tip: If your room is at the front, avoid the ground / first floor which can suffer from mosquitos. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed here recently before catching the Ferry home. The hotel is comfortable and the bedroom floors are carpeted which make it feel cosy. However, I found hair pins on the floor beside the bed and long black hairs in the bathroom presumably from a previous occupant.. Also lots of dust on the pipe work in the bathroom. The room was quite small but adequate for an overnight stay for 2 and benefited from a kettle which is useful to have when the weather is dreary as it was when we arrived. Car Parking is pricey at 19 Euros. Breakfast offers some variety but there was no one around in the kitchen to serve any drinks and we had to guess how to obtain hot water. At this time of the year Deauville was extremely quiet and for preference we would have liked Honfleur which offers a better choice of restaurants but we were unable to make a booking there.The facade of the hotel is interesting architecture

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bungle54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Pro: Plenty of free parking in the street, good location, very clean rooms, room feels luxurious, friendly staff, modern, fast wifi, close by to a very good restaurant Comptoir et la Table Con: Very expensive breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hfng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deauville hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Deauville Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Deauville Centre
Ibis Deauville Centre
#9 of 28 in Deauville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
Augeval Hotel
Augeval Hotel
#4 of 28 in Deauville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
3.2 mi away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Deauville Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Deauville Centre

Property: Mercure Deauville Centre
Address: 2 rue Breney, 14800, Deauville, France (Formerly Mercure Deauville Hotel du Yacht Club)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Deauville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Deauville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Deauville
#6 Family Hotel in Deauville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Deauville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Deauville Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Deauville, two steps away from the casino and the CID, and opposite the marina, the Mercure Deauville Centre hotel gives you the opportunity to visit its beautiful 4-star building. Traditional architecture with timbered houses, family duplexes, contemporary design ... The soothing atmosphere and the quality services of this Mercure hotel will give you complete satisfaction, both for relaxation and work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Deauville Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Deauville Hotel Du Yacht
Mercure Deauville Centre Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing