We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and cramped”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Premium Hotel La Villa Gardenia
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Deauville
Poole Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Dirty and cramped”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Good location. BUT dirty, noisy and barely functioning. Look elsewhere. The carpets in the halls are disgusting . Noise travels all over. The linen was not properly cleaned. Wifi is charged and very slow. Cheap and awful. It needs a real revamp. We had an apartment, small cramped and one of us was bitten alive on the sofa. I would not recommend it . except for its location that is good. The town is great the apartments definitely not!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    124
    85
    51
    22
See reviews for
186
108
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Good location but you really should invest some on basic hardware such as bed, blanket, towel. Frige was not working probably even after repaired by engineer. No wifi in the room which is big weakness for nowadays.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Deauville hotels

Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We,ve just visited in June and found the apartment looking tired. Although there had been a few new scatter cushions added in nicer fabric,the whole place needs a good refurbish.
The dishwasher did not clean properly.
Both my son and myself cut ourselves very badly from loose tiles on the floor of the swimming pool.
The cleaners had their break in the neighbouring apartment to ours and were constantly smoking which resulted in a blue haze in the corridor and residual smell in our apartment.
I could find no evidence at all of any smoke alarms.
For the price we paid we can get better value somewhere nicer next year.
Very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We have stayed here 2 yrs running and have booked again for 2012.
The apartments are basic but clean. The location is 5 star and compensates for any other shortfalls.
The staff are very polite and the facilities very good.A Definate thumbs up if you don,t mind 3 star accommodation.
Watch the balcony if you have little ones,it,s easy to trip up on the step.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

A good place to stay, very central, near the beach and town centre. We stayed in the sea view apartment, supposed to sleep 6 but would be cramped with more than 4. Enjoyed the stay there and my 1 year old son enjoyed the pool. Agree that there is not much preparation space in the kitchen - we ended up having to move the "nespresso" machine to make some room and no kettle (a cup of tea took around 15 mins to make with boiling the water on the stove!). Overall a great choice though. Deauville was a bit more classy than we were expecting - a coffee at 5 Euro on the main square! There was a local pizzeria just off the square behind the Normandy Barriere Hotel where you could buy anything off the menu to take away - great Pizza!

Room Tip: Sea view is worth paying more for
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Fantastic position, spotless, helpful staff. Bed very comfortable. only thing that could be improved is lighting in the kitchen and a kettle would be nice instead of two coffee machines!
We had double bed with side sea view and a balcony across both dining room and bedroom.
Small table and chairs on balcony would also be nice. We had room 328 on 3rd floor. Would stay again. Good value

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Having read the reviews on this site and others before travelling, I was a little apprehensive as comments have been mixed. However, we were pleasantly surprised with our apartment. It was well-equipped with everything you could need for a short stay - tiny but well-organised kitchen area, flat screen tv, plenty of storage space etc. The master bedroom was particularly nice and had an ensuite shower and basin, which we had not expected. In addition, there were french windows from this room opening onto a balcony with side sea view (having opted not to pay the extra for a sea view, we imagined we might just get a street or car park view so were very pleased with this). My only concerns were that the apartment did feel a bit claustrophobic as there was only one main window to light the entire apartment, there was little sitting space (one sofa bed so not enough for a family of 4, let alone 6) and the second bedroom was more of a cabin than a bedroom - in order to fit in a travel cot (provided for free if you want one), we had to upend one of the beds and in addition, there is a window but it only opens onto the main hotel corridor so the room is very hot and an inquisitive child could actually let themselves out of the room during the night as the window cannot be locked from either the inside or outside...

If you book via their website, it implies you have to pay extra for cleaning but they provide a basic pack of cleaning materials and a hoover etc so as long as you leave the place relatively clean and tidy, you pay nothing extra (they do check the apartment before departure so you get your 300 euros deposit back). Towels are also provided (again, the website suggests you have to hire them). There is a car park but they cannot take any cars with roof racks or high loads on them but as there is free on-street parking outside the hotel and on the neighbouring streets, this isn't worth while paying 10 euros a day extra for in any case.

Overall, I would recommend this place, although best for those using it as a base to explore rather than somewhere to spend much time as it wasn't very large. However, you are within 3 minutes walk of restaurants and shops so you couldn't really be better placed within Deauville. We intend to return.

  • Liked — Location and nautical theming throughout the apartment!
  • Disliked — Lack of light and comfortable seating
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deauville hotels
1.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Residence du Golf
0.4 mi away
Ibis Deauville Centre
Ibis Deauville Centre
#9 of 27 in Deauville
1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Augeval Hotel
Augeval Hotel
#4 of 27 in Deauville
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Closerie Deauville Residence Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Hotel La Villa Gardenia

Property: Pierre & Vacances Premium Hotel La Villa Gardenia
Address: 28 rue Jean Mermoz, 14800, Deauville, France (Formerly Pierre & Vacances Premium Résidence La Villa Gardenia)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Deauville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Deauville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Hotel La Villa Gardenia 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 hours from Paris. In the heart of the historical centre of Deauville. Heated indoor swimming pool and hammam steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Hotel La Villa Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Premium Hotel La Villa Gardenia Deauville, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing